Alert: The Make a Reservation service is currently not available. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Medical Certification Requirements

Important Information About the New Federal Requirement for Commercial Drivers: National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

New Federal regulations require that every commercial learner permit holder (CLP) or dirver license (CDL) holder must certify to the type of commercial driving they currently perform (or expect to perform).

  • these requirements will affect all drivers who have, or apply for a commercial driver license (CDL)
  • a USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate will be required for some types of driving and must be submitted to DMV before your current certification expires
  • you will  lose your commercial driving privileges if you do not comply

The DMV will send CLP holders a notification if their medical certification status becomes "Not Certified." Once we send the notification, we will cancel the CLP if the CLP holder does not re-certify within 55 days.  We can send employers a notification of these status changes if they subscribe to the NYS License Event Notification Service (LENS). We will send passenger carriers enrolled in the 19-A system notifications of CLP cancellation events.

Certification and driving types

If you have a commercial driver license (CDL), Class A, B or C or CDL permit issued by the NYS DMV you must certify the type of driving you do anytime you perform a license transaction (other than an address change, or duplicate license). You will be required to choose only one driving type from the four federal driving types listed below.

You must also keep a current USDOT Medical Examiners Certificate on file with DMV if you self-certify to a Non-Excepted Driving type (NA or NI).

The four federal driving types

Non-Excepted Interstate (NI)

Commercial driving operation is permitted across state lines, and you are required to meet the Federal medical requirements.

Non-Excepted Intrastate (NA)

Commercial driving operation is restricted to New York State only, and you are required to meet the Federal medical requirements.

Excepted Interstate (EI)

Commercial driving operation is permitted across state lines for excepted operation only and you are exempt from the Federal medical requirements.

  • you must be age 18 or older (21 or older when noted for certain excepted operations)
  • you must have an A3 (Med Cert Exempt) restriction on your driver license
  • you must not have a K (CDL Intrastate Only) restriction on your driver license

Excepted Intrastate (EA)

Commercial driving operation is restricted to New York State, permitted for excepted operation only and you are exempt from the Federal medical requirements.

Drivers with a HAZMAT (H) or Hazmat/Tank (X) endorsement

You are only eligible for the HazMat or Hazmat/Tank Endorsement if you are age 21 or older and you meet the Federal medical requirements.

Medical variances and new "V" restriction

If your USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate indicates "must be accompanied by a Diabetic, Hearing, Seizure or Vision waiver exemption or an SPE Certificate," you have a Medical Variance.

Changes to the K and A3 restrictions

Changes to the A3 restriction

Changes to the K restriction

Important reminders

  • Verify that your address is current on DMV records. 
  • If you select NA or NI as your driving type, you must send in a photocopy of your USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate along with your completed and signed Self-Certification Notification letter. The photocopied USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate should be legible, complete and on one side of a standard 8½" x 11" sheet of paper.
  • Before the expiration date of the USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate on file, you must mail an updated copy of the USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate to:
    NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
    Medical Certification Unit
    PO Box 2601
    Albany, NY 12228-0601
  • If you have a Medical Variance, you must keep it current with the FMCSA.
  • The DMV will not remind you when your USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate or Medical Variance is about to expire.
  • Important: If you fail to maintain current, updated information with the DMV, you will lose your commercial driving privileges.

Useful links:

You can download and print a DMV brochure about Medical Certification.

For federal definitions of the four driving types, visit the FMCSA web site.