All vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection at a DMV-licensed inspection station
- every 12 months
- when the ownership of the vehicle is transferred
A valid inspection sticker must be displayed on your vehicle.
If your vehicle does not have a valid inspection
Where can I find more information about emissions and safety inspections?
See the New York Vehicle Inspection Program (NYVIP2) page. You can find additional information in these brochures
- New York State Vehicle Safety/Emissions Inspection Program For Cars and Light Trucks (C-50)
- A Consumer Guide to Readiness Monitor Failures as Part of the New York State Vehicle Inspection Program (C-114)
Where can I get my vehicle inspected?
At a DMV-licensed inspection station. Licensed stations display a yellow and black sign that reads, 'Official Inspection Station.' Motorcycle inspection stations display a blue and orange sign.
Find an inspection station near you.
What are the fees for the inspection?
Inspection fees can be found on the Inspection Groups and Fee Chart (VS-77).
What is checked during an inspection?
The DMV brochure, New York State Vehicle Safety/Emissions Inspection Program for Cars and Light Trucks (C-50) lists the equipment items checked during a safety inspection, and a description of the safety inspection.
I bought my vehicle from a dealer. Does the dealer do the inspection?
Yes. The dealer must have the vehicle inspected within 30 days of the date of sale and prior to delivery.
I bought my vehicle from a private seller (not a dealer). How much time do I have to get my vehicle inspected?
If you buy or get a vehicle from someone other than a dealer registered with the NYS DMV, you will receive an inspection extension that will last 10 days from the date of the registration.
An inspection issued to the previous registrant is not valid.
I will become a resident of New York State and will register my vehicle here. Do I need to get a New York State inspection as soon as I register?
No. Your out-of-state inspection remains valid until it expires, or for one year after the vehicle is registered in New York, whichever comes first. When your out-of-state inspection expires, you must get the vehicle inspected here.
If the previous inspection was performed in a jurisdiction that does not issue an inspection sticker, you must have your vehicle inspected in New York.
The inspection sticker came off my vehicle. What can I do?
You can attach it to the windshield again with clear tape or a small amount of clear adhesive. Remember that an inspection station must be able to remove the sticker during your next inspection.
If the sticker is not usable, you can have your vehicle re-inspected or you can order a replacement sticker using the form Request for Replacement Inspection Sticker (VS-118). Complete the form and mail it to the address on the form.
How do I replace an inspection sticker?
You can have your vehicle re-inspected or you can order a replacement sticker using the form Request for Replacement Inspection Sticker (VS-118). Complete the form and mail it to the address on the form.
What can I do if my New York State inspection expires while my vehicle is in another state?
Determine if an expired out-of-state inspection is a violation of law in that state. Ask the authorities if a New York State inspection extension sticker prevents a ticket for the violation. The extension allows you 10 days from the date the vehicle returns to New York State to get an inspection.
Allow 14 days for the DMV to process and mail your extension sticker. You will need it before you return your vehicle to New York.
To receive an inspection extension, send the following information
- your name and current out-of-state mailing address
- the year and make of your vehicle
- the vehicle plate number
- the inspection sticker number and expiration date
Mail the information to
NYS DMV Bureau of Consumer and Facility Services
P.O. Box 2700-ESP
Albany, NY 12220-0700
When you receive your extension sticker, do not put it on your windshield while your vehicle is out of state. Keep the sticker and the instructions in your vehicle to show to an out-of-state police officer. The sticker is not a guarantee that a police officer will not issue you a traffic ticket.
There will be no record of an inspection on New York State DMV records. You cannot renew the registration if there is no DMV record of an inspection within the past 12 months. If you must renew the registration before you get a New York State inspection, call 518-486-9786.
After you return your vehicle to New York State
- write the date the vehicle returned to New York on the extension sticker
- attach the sticker to your windshield
- get your vehicle inspected within 10 days
Got a few minutes to help us improve the website? Please complete this short study!
- 1. Inspection stations electronically send a record of all emissions inspections to the DMV. The DMV must have a record that your vehicle passed an emissions inspection during the previous year. Keep the receipt of your emissions inspection sticker to prove that your vehicle was inspected.
- 2. If the inspection sticker on your vehicle has expired in the past 60 days, you can receive a fine of $25 to $50. If the inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50 and $100. If there is no inspection sticker, the fine is between $50 and $100. A mandatory state surcharge of $88 ($93 in town and village courts) is added to the fine.
- 3. A parked vehicle with no inspection sticker, or with an expired inspection sticker, can receive a parking ticket.
- 4. Vehicles are exempt from the emissions inspection if they are
- less than two model years old (model year is greater than or equal to calendar year minus one)
- more than 25 model years old (model year is less than or equal to calendar year minus 25 )
- diesel-powered, except diesel-powered vehicles that are 1997 or newer and that have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVRW) less than 8,501 pounds
- issued historical plates
- subject to the heavy vehicle safety inspection