Information and forms (Article 19-A)
Why are there special requirements for motor carriers who employ bus drivers?
A tragic school bus and train accident near Congers, NY on March 24, 1972, was the impetus for legislation passed in 1974. This legislation amended the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law by creating Article 19-A (19-A), Special Requirements for Bus Drivers. 1
What are the requirements for motor carriers who employ bus drivers?
Bus drivers are not allowed to operate a bus for a motor carrier unless they are qualified according to Article 19-A and Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Rules and Regulations. Therefore, motor carriers must verify that drivers comply with 19-A requirements including
- completion of pre-employment and biennial medical examinations and any required follow-ups
- submission of pre-employment and annual driver license abstracts
- submission of fingerprints of school bus drivers for a DCJS & FBI criminal history review
- completion of annual defensive driving observations
- completion of biennial road tests
- completion of biennial oral/written tests 2
Motor carriers must review the driving records of their 19-A drivers annually and file an affidavit of 19-A compliance with the DMV no later than July 1 each year. Motor carriers must attest to compliance with the requirements.
Will DMV review my 19-A driver records?
Yes. DMV will review your records periodically and record any violations.
What if my 19-A records are not complete?
DMV may require you to attend an administrative hearing. You may be suspended and you may be required to pay civil penalties of $500 - $2,500 per violation. A repeat offender may be subject to civil penalties of up to $5,000 per violation.
Got a few minutes to help us improve the website? Please complete this short study!
- 1. The corresponding Commissioner’s Regulations for 19-A can be found in Part 6. Article 19-A has furthered highway safety by creating standards for the qualification of bus drivers. While not all bus carriers are subject to 19-A, some of the most common carriers that are regulated are those that have New York State Department of Transportation authority and those that transport school-aged children for academic purposes.
- 2. Individuals who have been certified by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) administer the examinations for the last three items on this list. These individuals are called Certified Examiners and are qualified through the Bus Driver Unit (BDU). They are required to keep a good driving record and take periodic refresher courses to maintain their certification.