Lost, stolen, or destroyed plates
My vehicle plates were lost, stolen or destroyed. What can I do?
You must surrender the vehicle registration to the DMV.
If two vehicle plates are lost, stolen or destroyed (or one plate if the vehicle was issued only one plate, e.g. motorcycles), you need to notify the police, and ask the police to complete a police report. Bring police report to a DMV office to surrender the vehicle registration.
- if the plates were lost, stolen or destroyed in New York State, ask a NYS police agency to complete a 'Certification of Lost License, Permit or Plates' (MV-78B) (this form is only available from law enforcement - it is not available on the DMV website)
- if the plates were lost, stolen or destroyed outside of New York State, get a report printed on the letterhead of a police agency in the state where the incident happened
If you cannot get a police report, write a statement that includes your plate number and explains why you cannot surrender your New York State plates.
If one plate (from a set of two plates) is lost, stolen or destroyed, you don’t need to complete a police report. Bring the plate you have to a DMV office to surrender the registration. However, if you would like to replace your plates without paying a fee, you must submit a police report or an MV-78B indicating the plate was stolen or destroyed as a result of a crime.
How can I get new plates?
You may request a new set of plates at a DMV office. Bring these items with you:
the original plate(s) or the MV-78B/police report/statement
a completed Vehicle Registration/Title Application (MV-82)
proof of insurance 1
proof of your identity 2
The DMV will issue you a new registration and replacement plates. If the plate(s) were lost or destroyed, you will need to pay for the new plates, and a fee of $3.75 to issue a new registration. The fee for plates are
- $25 for a set of 2 plates
- $12.50 for a vehicle that is only issued one plate; e.g. motorcycles)
You don't need to pay a fee to replace stolen plates. However, you will need to provide a police report or an MV-78B indicating that the plates were stolen or destroyed as a result of a crime.
What can I do if my vehicle was stolen?
See information about stolen and recovered vehicles.
Your insurance company will:
1) give you 2 barcoded original NYS Insurance ID cards (see a sample) or provide you with access to your digital electronic NYS Insurance ID Card
2) send an electronic notice of insurance coverage to the DMV (your insurance agent or broker cannot file this notice)
Your NYS Insurance ID cards and the electronic notice together verify your coverage. We need both.
You must register your vehicle within 180 days of the effective date on your Insurance ID Card. Bring one copy or form of your Insurance ID Card with you. The DMV office will keep the paper card. Keep the other paper card with the vehicle as your proof of insurance. Anyone operating your vehicle must be able to provide proof of insurance.
Learn more about NYS Insurance Requirements.
- 2. Your proof of identity can be your NYS Driver License, Permit, or Non-Driver ID Card. For other acceptable proofs see Proofs of Identity for Registration and Title (ID-82).