Register and title a vehicle
Before You Start
If you purchased a vehicle through a private sale (not from a dealer), you can use E-ZVisit to save time.
Complete your registration application online and print a barcoded form which we can quickly scan and process at a DMV office. You’ll need
- your NYS Driver License, Non-Driver ID or permit
- your NYS Insurance ID Card (FS-20) for the vehicle
- the vehicle’s NYS Certificate of Title
- a completed Sales Tax Form (DTF-802)
You or your business must register and title at a DMV office any vehicle you own or lease.
- the registration doesn’t need to be the in the name of the owner, or for only one person
- you must be at least 16 years old to register a vehicle 1
- your vehicle must comply with California emissions standards, unless it is exempt
- there is important information about laws pertaining to identification numbers on vehicle and motorcycles
- we give you the registration documents (this can include 1 or 2 plates) and an inspection extension when you register, and we mail you your new title certificate 2
- auto dealers can register and title your vehicle with the DMV for you, and they may be able to issue a temporary registration and vehicle plates (they can charge a fee for this service)
If you are a member of the Armed Forces, please see our Military & Veteran Resources page, and, thank you for your service!
Save time! E-ZVisit is the fastest way to register your vehicle
If you purchased a vehicle through a private sale (not from a dealer), you can use E-ZVisit to save time. Complete your registration application online and print a barcoded form which we can quickly scan and process at a DMV office.
What documents do I need to register my vehicle?
You will need
- a completed Vehicle Registration/Title Application (MV-82 )
- proof of ownership
- proof of New York State automobile liability insurance 3
- proof of identity and age 4
- payment for fees, use taxes and sales tax, or proof of sales tax payment or exemption (see sales tax information)
- proof of incorporation (if you are registering a vehicle for business or organization) 5
What are the fees to register a vehicle?
The registration fee for most types of vehicles depends on the weight of the vehicle. When you register a vehicle for the first time, the total fees normally include
- the sales tax
- a vehicle plate fee or registration transfer fee
- a title certificate fee
- (in most counties) a vehicle use tax
- either a 1 or 2 year registration fee, depending on the type of registration
You can use the Estimate registration fees service to determine how much you will need to pay to register.
What registration documents will I receive from the DMV?
We will send you the following documents together within 1 to 2 weeks from the day you register
- 1 or 2 vehicle plates (unless the registration was transferred from anther vehicle registered in New York)
- a registration sticker to put on the vehicle
- a registration document
- an inspection extension sticker (if you did not get the vehicle from a NYS automobile dealer) 6
If applicable, we will send you your new title certificate separately. Allow up to 90 days to receive it.
Where can I find more instructions for how to register and title my vehicle?
Read the Instructions Vehicle Registration / Titling Application (MV-82.1), and refer to the webpages listed on this page for specific information about registering various types of vehicles.
- 1. The only exceptions are ATV registrations.
- 2. You will not receive your new title certificate at the DMV office. The DMV mails it to the owner listed on the title certificate. Most new title certificates are processed and mailed in less than 90 days. Wait 90 days before you contact the DMV about a title certificate you did not receive.
- 3. The DMV requires auto liability insurance to register a vehicle in New York. When you get insurance, your insurance company will issue proof of insurance in two ways: 1) it will give you two barcoded original NYS Insurance Identification Cards (see a sample); and 2) it will send an electronic notice of insurance coverage to the DMV (your insurance agent or broker cannot file this notice). Your NYS Insurance Identification Cards and the electronic notice of insurance together verify your insurance coverage. We need both. You must register your vehicle at the DMV within 45 days of the effective date on your insurance ID card. Bring one copy of your Insurance Identification Cards with you. The DMV office will keep it. Keep the other card with the vehicle as your proof of insurance. Learn more about NYS Insurance Requirements.
- 4. You must be at least 16 years old to register a vehicle in New York (except for ATV registrations). A NYS Driver License, Learner Permit, or Non-Driver ID card that is current or not expired for more than 2 years can serve as proof of both identity and age. If you don’t have a NYS Driver License, Learner Permit, or Non-Driver ID, you can provide other kinds of proof. See the Proof of Identity for Registration and Title (ID-82) form for all the proofs that the DMV will accept. Note: If you were born in the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Staten Island or Queens, you can order a copy of your birth certificate from the New York City Office of Vital Records website: http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/services/vr.shtml
- 5. For information, see the Instructions for Vehicle Registration / Title Application (MV-82.1).
- 6. The inspection extension sticker allows you 10 days from the registration date to get the vehicle inspected in New York. Any New York State or out-of-state inspection issued to the previous registrant is not valid after the vehicle is registered to you. You must have the vehicle inspected.