Pay driver responsibility assessment
Before You Start
Your name and address must be up-to-date with DMV.
You can pay a driver responsibility assessment online, by mail or at a DMV office.
What is a driver responsibility assessment?
The driver responsibility assessment is a fee you must pay to DMV over a three year period if you are convicted of certain traffic offenses in New York State or accumulate six or more points on your driving record within 18 months. This fee is in addition to any fines, penalties or surcharges that you must pay for a traffic conviction. The purpose of the assessment is to prevent the repeated behavior of problem drivers and to improve traffic safety. The quickest and easiest way to pay a driver responsibility assessment is online.
Who must pay a driver responsibility assessment?
Effective November 18, 2004, you must pay a driver responsibility assessment if
- you were convicted of an alcohol or drugged driving-related traffic offense while driving a motor vehicle, boat, or snowmobile in New York State
- you were found to have refused to take a chemical test for blood alcohol content in New York State
- you received 6 or more points on your NYS driver record within an 18 month period for convictions of traffic offenses committed in New York, Quebec or Ontario
You must pay the driver responsibility assessment whether you have a driver license issued by New York State, another jurisdiction or if you do not have a driver license.
How much do I have to pay for a driver responsibility assessment?
The amount depends on the type of violation or the total number of points on your driving record.
- If you are convicted of an alcohol or drugged driving-related offense or if you refuse to take a chemical test, the annual assessment is $250. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $750.
- If you receive 6 points on your driver record for violations committed during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $100. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $300. If you receive more than 6 points on your driver record during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $25 for each point in addition to the original six points. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $75 for each point in addition to the original 6 points.
If you must pay a driver responsibility assessment, DMV will send you a statement with the amount you owe. You must pay at least the minimum amount by the payment date or your driver license will be suspended. You can also pay the full assessment. 1
The amount you owe may increase if you are convicted of additional offenses after your statement is issued. 2
Can I pay the driver responsibility assessment online?
You must provide
- the last four digits of your Social Security Number
- your Client ID Number from your NYS driver license, learner permit or non-driver photo ID card (see where to find information on your driver license), or
- your full name, date of birth and gender
If your driver license is suspended because you did not pay an assessment, the suspension will be removed after your payment is processed. We will mail a duplicate license to you within three business days unless
- your driver license has expired
- you have a commercial driver license (CDL) 5
- you have a conditional or restricted license 6
- you have other suspensions, revocations or problems with your driver license
To check if a suspension has been removed or to get information about the status of your driver license, sign up for a MyDMV account and use our MyLicense Status, Renewal and Replacement service.
Can I pay the driver responsibility assessment by mail?
Yes, but it’s faster and easier to do it online. If you must pay by mail, send the minimum amount on your DRA statement before the payment date to:
DRA Processing Center
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2801.
You must enclose a check or money order payable to Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Starter checks, cash, or credit cards cannot be accepted. Do not include any other DMV fees or fines.
Can I pay the driver responsibility assessment at a DMV office?
Yes, but it’s faster and easier to pay online.
Can I pay the driver responsibility assessment by phone?
No, you cannot pay the driver responsibility assessment by phone.
What happens if I do not pay the driver responsibility assessment?
If you do not pay the driver responsibility assessment by the payment date on your statement, DMV will suspend your driver license, your learner permit, or your driving privileges.
What do the various dates mean on my statement?
- violation date - the date that the incident occurred (the date you received the ticket).
- conviction date - the date you were found guilty of the violation at a traffic court or DMV hearing.
- assessment date - the date that the DMV enters the violation on your record. The DMV uses the date of the original assessment to determine the annual statement dates and to check your driver record for new incidents.
- annual statement date - the date that the DMV issued your statement.
- payment date - the final date that you can pay a driver responsibility assessment to avoid a suspension of your driver license, learner permit, or driving privileges.
How does the DMV calculate the total number of my driver violation points?
To learn how DMV calculates your point total, see information about the New York State driver violation point system.
How can I find out how many points are on my driving record?
To check the number of points on your driving record, sign up for a MyDMV account and use our MyLicense service.
Can I reduce the amount of the driver responsibility assessment if I complete a DMV-approved Point and Insurance Reduction Program course?
No. Taking a Point and Insurance Reduction Program course does not eliminate the requirement to pay the assessment or reduce the amount.
- 1. Normally, you receive three annual statements. When you receive the first annual assessment statement, you can pay the annual assessment, or you can pay the total assessment for the three year period. When you receive the second annual assessment statement, you can pay the annual assessment or the total assessment for the two years that remain.
You can also pay the total balance of assessments that remains at any time. For example, you have a total assessment of $300, and you pay the minimum payment of $100 due from your first annual statement. You can pay the $200 balance at any time. You do not need to wait until you receive the second annual statement.
- 2. To pay your DRA balance in this situation, you must pay the amount of the additional assessments as well as the balance of the initial assessment. For example, your initial total assessment is $300. You must pay the $100 due on the first annual statement. Your balance is $200, but an additional total assessment of $150 is added to your DRA account after you paid the $100 annual assessment. You cannot pay the $200 balance on the initial assessment unless you also pay the $150 balance of the additional assessment. To pay your total DRA balance, you would have to pay $350.
You will be informed that there are additional assessments if you attempt to pay the balance of an initial assessment that does not include the additional assessments.
You are not required to pay the balance of assessments before you receive the annual statements. You can pay the annual assessment each year for three years until the balance is paid. If you do pay the balance, you will not receive future annual statements for assessments included in that balance.
The DMV accepts:
- American Express® Card
- Discover Card®/Novus®
- MasterCard® Debit card without personal identification number (PIN)
- VISA® Card
- Visa Debit Card without personal identification number (PIN)
- 4. You can confirm or change your address online, but you must create a MyDMV account first. If you need to change your name, you must go to a DMV office.
- 5. If you were suspended for failure to pay a driver responsibility assessment, you can pay the fee online, but you must go to a DMV office to get your commercial driver license back
- 6. If you were suspended for failure to pay a driver responsibility assessment, you can pay the fee online but you must go to a DMV office to get your full driver license back if you have you have a conditional or restricted license.