Note: Significant changes to the NYS Graduated License Law took effect on February 22, 2010. Read about these changes.
Are you under 18 years of age?
If the answer is yes, you need to know about the NYS Graduated Driver License Program.
If you have a junior driver license or you are learning to drive with a learner permit, then you are allowed limited driving privileges.
There are general rules for all drivers of any age with learner permits. There are also additional special rules if you have a junior learner permit or a junior driver license. The general and special rules restrict where in New York State you can drive, the time of day you can drive, and in what other situations you are allowed to drive.
It is important for you to understand exactly which driving privileges you have and which privileges you do not have. If you are convicted for a violation of the rules, your junior permit, license or privileges can be suspended or revoked for 60 days.
You can drive outside New York State with your learner permit junior learner permit or junior license if it is allowed by the laws of the other state. You must obey the junior permit and license restrictions that apply in that state. Check with the police or motor vehicle authorities in the state you will visit.
If you hold a learner permit, junior permit, or junior driver license from outside New York State, you must obey the restrictions based on the region of New York State in which you will be driving. You must obey the NYS restriction in addition to the restrictions imposed by your home state. Make sure your permit or license is valid to drive outside your home state before you drive in New York State. If you are under age 16, you cannot drive in New York State, even if you hold a permit or license issued by another state.
To learn about the Graduated License Program and the restrictions, use the menu on the right.