Registration suspensions for failure to pay tolls
What is a suspension for failure to pay tolls?
Under Section 510(3)(d) of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law and Part 127 of the Commissioner’s Regulations, the Department of Motor Vehicles is suspending your registration for failing to pay tolls, fees or other charges related to 3 or more violations of the Tolling Authority’s toll collection regulations committed within a 5 year period, or for the failure to pay such tolls, fees or other charges in the amount of $200 or more within a 5 year period, or for the failure to pay such tolls, fees or other charges in the amount of $200 or more within a 5 year period, committed by the registrant of an affected commercial motor vehicle.
Operating a motor vehicle with a suspended registration is a misdemeanor, which may result in a fine, imprisionment or both.
Who issues toll violations?
A tolling authority, which includes the:
New York State Thruway Authority
Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA)
Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
How can I respond to a tolling authority about a non-payment of tolls?
You may contact the Customer Service Center and speak with a customer service specialist. Each tolling authority has a Customer Service Center and they can provide you information on your outstanding violation(s).
To dispute an allegation that you violated a toll regulation or failed to pay the toll, fees or other charges, please contact EZPass at 1-800-333-TOLL (8655).
Online – Visit the EZPass website for information about how to pay online. You can also check the status of a violation or attempt to resolve a violation.
DO NOT contact the New York State DMV to dispute whether you violated a toll regulation or failed to pay the toll, fees or other charges.
What is the purpose of a DMV hearing?
Before the suspension takes effect – You may request a hearing to deny that the tolling authority notified you of these violations.
The hearing is to determine whether the tolling authority notified you that you failed to pay tolls, fees or other charges related to 3 or more violations of the Authority’s toll collection regulations, all such violations committed within a 5-year period, or failed to pay $200 in tolls accumulated within 5 years, if the violations occurred in a commercial vehicle. At the hearing, you may NOT dispute whether you evaded a toll and/or failed to pay tolls, fees or other charges. You must raise those issues with the tolling authority outside of the hearing.
Once the registration suspension has become effective, you can no longer request a hearing
Must I appear for the hearing?
As the Notice of Registration Suspension indicates, you may request an in-person DMV hearing or you may request a hearing by affidavit (this is a hearing on paper). The Notice of Registration Suspension provides instructions on how to submit an affidavit to DMV. If you submit the affidavit, you will not have to appear at a DMV hearing.
At an in-person DMV hearing, you may be represented by an attorney.
If you request a DMV hearing and do not appear or submit your affidavit, your registration will be suspended immediately.