New York State and the DMV believe in transparency in government as reflected in our transparency plan (PDF). On this page, you will find links to important information about DMV's Strategic Plan and budget, New York statewide data resources, new transportation laws and new DMV projects to improve our customer service. If you have any opinions about transparency at DMV, we want to hear from you. You can email us at [email protected].

New at DMV

  • New Style of Inspection Certificates. In December 2022 certain vehicle inspection stations across the state began issuing new styles of inspection certificates as the DMV transitions to print-on-demand inspection certificates. Until the transition is complete, a valid inspection certificate may be pre-printed or printed on demand.
  • What’s New About Loud Mufflers? Not that much. Since at least 1925, it has been illegal under New York State Law for car, truck and motorcycle drivers to run “straight pipes” or use “cut outs,” and since 1960 the law has banned any change to an original muffler that results in noise louder than the original muffler. Drivers who break the law can be ticketed. Effective April 1, 2022, the law was changed to include installers and add penalties for improper motorcycle inspections. The new law bans the sale and installation of after-market mufflers and modifications that make a motor vehicle louder than the original manufacturer’s muffler, and the fine for doing so is up to $1,000 and/or jail time of up to 30 days. Inspection stations can lose their license if they fail three times in 18 months to properly inspect a motorcycle’s muffler.
  • College Credit for DMV Training. The DMV and SUNY Empire State have partnered to provide college credit to eligible employees. The credits can be used as general learning toward any undergraduate program at the college. To be eligible, a new or current employee must have completed all three components of DMV’s New Employee Training Program. Those who have done so can receive six college credits from SUNY Empire.

DMV Resources

Eligible New Yorkers are encouraged to apply for FCC’s Affordable Connectivity Program, an extension of the Emergency Broadband Fund, that provides discounts up to $30/month toward internet service. Visit for more information and to sign-up.

Statewide Government Data Resources


Commissioner's Corner

Listen to the DMV Commissioner talk about matters of public interest

The Commissioner on REAL ID

The Commissioner on DMV Transformation and the Strategic Plan

The Commissioner on the Innovation Center

The Commissioner on No More Lines at the DMV