Get an enhanced driver license (EDL) or REAL ID
What is a REAL ID?
A REAL ID is federally compliant DMV issued driver license, learner permit or non-driver ID which you will be required to have to board a domestic flight (within the U.S.) or enter certain federal building starting in May 2025, unless you have a valid passport.
There is no additional fee to get a REAL ID. All normal transaction fees still apply.
Enhanced Driver License (EDL)
What is an Enhanced Driver License (EDL)?
An Enhanced license (permit, or non-driver ID) is a New York State DMV issued document that you can use instead of a passport to return to the US by land or sea from Canada, Mexico and some countries in the Caribbean. New York's EDL is compliant with the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI). 1 It is not acceptable for air travel between these countries. We recommend you contact your travel agent, your cruise line or the specific countries of destination to verify your travel document requirements.
An Enhanced license, permit or non-driver ID is Federal REAL ID compliant and is accepted to board a domestic flight (within the US), enter military bases, and certain federal facilities.
Only US citizens who are residents of New York can apply for a New York State EDL.
The additional fee for an enhanced driver licensed (EDL) or enhanced non-driver ID card (ENDID) is $30.00 . The fee is added to the other fees for the driver license or non-driver ID transaction.
To determine the fee for converting from a regular driver license or ID card to an enhanced document, see Early renewal with conversion to an enhanced document.
Apply at a DMV office
You cannot apply online, by phone or by mail. If you never had a driver license before, you must first apply for an Enhanced learner permit. You can complete your eye test at the DMV.
What documents do I need to bring to the DMV?
Complete this guide to make sure you have the documents and proofs of identification you need.
You will get your EDL in 2 weeks
It takes about 2 weeks for your new EDL document to arrive in the mail.
To renew your REAL ID or Enhanced license, follow the same instructions as Renew Driver License. For an Enhanced license there will be an additional fee of $30.00 on top of the normal renewal price.
Learn more about enhanced, REAL ID and standard documents.
NOTE: It is a criminal misdemeanor to make a false statement or provide false proof of identity or date of birth when you apply for any DMV document. You can go to jail and pay large fines, and we can suspend or revoke your permit or driver license.
WHTI is a federal rule that regulates which documents U.S. citizens can use when they travel in the Western Hemisphere. You can read more about this initiative at the web site of the U.S. Customs and Border Control.