Schedule and Take a Road Test
Effective February 7, 2022: If you're applying for a CDL for the first time or adding a Hazmat, Passenger, or School Bus endorsement for the first time, you must complete entry-level driver training (ELDT) prior to taking a CDL road test. Hazmat ELDT is required prior to taking the Hazardous Materials knowledge test. The training provider must be registered on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. Go to the Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT) FAQ for more information about the ELDT requirement.
Step 1: Prepare for Your Test
Before you take your road test, you will need to prepare by
- passing the written permit test and getting your New York State Learner Permit
- completing a 5-Hour Pre-licensing Course or a high school or college Driver Education Course
- getting an appropriate amount of supervised driving practice while obeying the learner permit restrictions on where and when you may drive
Step 2: Schedule a Test
If you are under the age of 18, you must wait at least 6 months from the date you received your learner permit to schedule your road test.
The road test scheduling system offers the earliest available dates and times at sites near the ZIP code you provide. Usually, the earliest date is within 3 to 5 weeks, but at peak testing periods during summer and school breaks it may be up to 10 weeks away. There are no waiting lists. Tests are almost always on weekdays (only rarely do we offer them on a Saturday).
You do not need to schedule your road test in the county or area of the state where you live. Find road test locations.
What you need to schedule
- a valid New York State Learner Permit (see a sample learner permit)
- an original, unexpired Pre-Licensing Course Certificate (MV-278) or a Student Certificate of Completion (MV-285) (see more information about the Pre-Licensing Course)
- If you completed the online pre-licensing course through an approved provider the course provider will report course completions to DMV automatically and you will not have to show a completion certificate when appearing for the road test. If you completed the pre-licensing course through a driving school's distance learning class you must provide the Pre-Licensing Course Certificate (MV-278) to the examiner when appearing for the test.
- the ZIP Code of the location where you would like to take the test
- at least 1 unused road test
You can also schedule, reschedule or cancel your test over the phone: 1-518-402-2100
Step 3: Take the Road Test
Tests can be canceled/rescheduled or relocated due to bad weather or road construction. Before you leave for your test, check the DMV cancellations, closings, and delays webpage or call 1-518-402-2100.
Arrive up to 15 minutes before the time of your test. If you are late, the license examiner may not be able to conduct your test and you will have to reschedule.
Possession of a firearm, rifle, or shotgun in or upon any New York State DMV road test site is prohibited by law unless otherwise authorized (Penal Law §§265.01-D, 265.01-E).
For a Class D (Passenger) Road Test
- a licensed and registered vehicle to perform the road test
- your photo learner permit
- your glasses or contacts, if your permit indicates you need corrective lenses
- your original Pre-licensing Course Certificate (MV-278) or Student Certificate of Completion (MV-285), copies are not acceptable
- a Certification of Supervised Driving (PDF) (MV-262), if you are under 18, completed by your parent or guardian - must be given to the license examiner each time you take a road test
- a driver age 21 or older who has a license valid to operate the test vehicle
- a vehicle to drive during the test that has a valid registration and inspection operates properly, and is in clean condition
- only the accompanying driver of the vehicle (no other passengers are allowed)
For a Class CDL (Commercial Driver License) Road Test
For details, see Get a CDL.
Note: Fully electric school buses cannot be used for skills testing.
For a Class M (Motorcycle) Road Test
In addition to the above driving test items, you should also bring
- a properly operating, registered, and inspected motorcycle
- a properly operating, registered, and inspected motor vehicle and a driver with a valid driver license to transport the license examiner during your road test
If the accompanying driver does not possess a valid license with a motorcycle endorsement, the motorcycle must either be brought by trailer or pickup truck to the road test post.
Print this checklist to help make sure you have everything you need for your road test.
Step 4: Get Your Results
After the road test, the examiner will give you instructions on how to receive your test results by visiting roadtestresults.nyrtsscheduler.com. Your results will be posted to the website after 6 p.m. on the day of your test.
If You Pass
An interim license that allows you to drive will be available to you online - keep the interim license with your photo learner permit. You will receive your photo driver license in the mail, in about 2 weeks. Drivers of all ages are subject to a probationary period for new drivers. If you are under age 18 and have a Class DJ, MJ, or DJ/MJ driver license, you must obey the restrictions for junior drivers (see Graduated Driver License (GDL) Law and restrictions on drivers under age 18).
If You Fail
If you fail a non-commercial license road test, your learner permit remains valid until the expiration date.
You can schedule another road test, but you must pay additional fees if you failed your first two road tests.
You must wait at least 7 days to take the test again.
To pay for additional tests, you must
- have a valid learner permit or driver license
- provide your DMV ID Number from your Learner Permit (Client ID Number) and your date of birth
- have no other road tests currently available
- pay the fee with a credit or debit card
Pay for additional road tests by phone: 1-518-402-2100
- 1. If you have an interim or temporary learner permit without a photo, you must also show a New York State photo driver license or a New York State non-driver ID Card. Photo documents from other states are not acceptable.
- 2. If you completed the online pre-licensing course through an approved provider the course provider will report course completions to DMV automatically and you will not have to show a completion certificate when appearing for the road test. If you completed the pre-licensing course through a driving school's distance learning class you must provide the Pre-Licensing Course Certificate (MV-278) to the examiner when appearing for the test.
- 3. The vehicle must have functional seat belts, headlights, windshield wipers, and other equipment, a front passenger area, and seatbelt free of trash, clutter or debris that might stain or damage the license examiner’s uniform, and a front passenger door that is able to be opened from the inside of the vehicle
- 4. The motorcycle must not have more than three wheels in contact with the ground