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A MESSAGE FROM THE COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES

It is my hope that the Department’s efforts in implementing the Uniform Vehicle
Certificate of Title Act (the Title Law) have been, and will continue to be, beneficial to the
lending industry as well as the other publics we serve.

This booklet is intended to provide a brief explanation of the Title Law and its impact on,
and involvement with, lending institutions.

If you need more information, please contact any Department of Motor Vehicles District
office or the Title Bureau in Albany.
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WHAT LENDERS SHOULD KNOW

ABOUT THE

NEW YORK STATE TITLE PROGRAM



VEHICLES WHICH MUST BE TITLED

The following 1973 or later model vehicles must be titled:

� All manufactured homes that are model year 1995 or newer and that are at least 8 feet wide and 

40 feet long when transported, or at least 320 square feet when erected on a site.

� All vehicles owned by residents of New York State.

� All vehicles owned by out-of-state residents, corporations, etc., which are required by law to be 

registered in New York State.

� All vehicles owned by New York State or any political subdivision of the state.

� Vehicles which do not have a model year designation but which were manufactured on or after 

January 1, 1973.

VEHICLES WHICH DO NOT HAVE TO BE TITLED

The following categories of vehicles do NOT require titles:

� All 1972 and earlier model year vehicles.

� Vehicles manufactured or assembled prior to January 1, 1973 which do not have a designated 

model year.

� Vehicles owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale, or vehicles used by a manufacturer 

only for testing.

� Vehicles which are not required by law to be registered in this state, and which are owned by 

residents of other states.

� Vehicles owned by the United States government which are not registered in this state.

� Vehicles acquired by local authorities under the abandoned vehicle provisions of the Vehicle and 

Traffic Law, where such vehicles are being sold and not put into use by the local authority.

� Vehicles engaged in the interstate transportation of persons or property for which a currently valid 

Certificate of Title has been issued by another state.

� Vehicles registered as special purpose commercial vehicles: road rollers, tractor cranes, truck 

cranes, power shovels, road building machines, snowplows, road sweepers, spreaders, well drillers, 

well servicing rigs, feed processing machines, mobile car crushers, earth movers and fire vehicles.

� Any implement of husbandry.

� Vehicles for which no registration will be issued, such as minibikes, go-carts, bicycles, animal 

drawn conveyances, etc.

� Pole trailers.

� Trailers under 1,000 pounds net weight.

� Vehicles other than trailers which are not classified as motor vehicles in the Vehicle and Traffic 

Law, such as snowmobiles.

� All 1994 and older manufactured homes.
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BOATS WHICH MUST BE TITLED

� All 1987 and newer model year boats that are 14 feet in length or longer.

� Boats manufactured on or after August 1, 1986 if a model year was not designated, and that are 14 

feet in length or longer.

BOATS WHICH DO NOT HAVE TO BE TITLED

� All 1986 and earlier model year boats.

� Boats having a valid marine document issued by the United States or a foreign government.

� Boats registered in another state, providing such boats have not been in the State of 

New York for longer than 90 days at a time.

� Boats owned by residents of foreign countries.

� Boats owned by the United States, a state, or political subdivision.

� A lifeboat (cannot be dual purpose).

� Boats used exclusively for racing.

� Boats under 14 feet in length.

� Boats not equipped with a motor.

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

As required by the Title Law, the Department of Motor Vehicles issues a Certificate of Title (Form 

MV-999) for 1995 or newer manufactured homes that are at least 8 feet wide or 40 feet long when

transported or 320 square feet when erected on a site, 1973 or newer model vehicles, and 1987 or newer

model boats that are 14 feet in length or longer; when an Application for Registration and Title (MV-82);

Application for a Boat Registration and/or Title (MV-82B) or Application for Title (MV-82TON) is filed

with the necessary documents and fees. The title certificate is computer-generated in the name of the

owner of the manufactured home, vehicle or boat and is mailed directly to the owner from the Title Bureau

in Albany. The title is proof of ownership for 1973 and newer model vehicles, 1987 and newer model boats

and 1995 or newer model manufactured homes.

Information on the title includes the name and address of the owner, the title number, the odometer

reading, if applicable, at the time the vehicle was last transferred, the date issued, a detailed description of

the manufactured home, vehicle or boat, and the lienholder’s name and address, if any. As many as four

lienholders can be printed on the front of the certificate.

PERFECTING YOUR SECURITY INTEREST

When a lender properly records a lien on a vehicle,  boat or manufactured home, the lender’s (lienholder’s)

name and address are printed on the title. When the title is printed, a Notice of Recorded Lien (Form MV-901)

is mailed to the lending institution. According to law, the $5 lien recording fee must be paid by the
lienholder and cannot be charged to the borrower or the dealer.
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LIEN FILING CODE

In order to obtain a lien filing code, fax your request to (518) 486-6581, attention “Title Administration”.

Your request must be submitted on business letterhead and indicate the address where the Notice of

Recorded Lien (MV-901) should be mailed. The request must also include the name and direct line

telephone number of a contact person.

If you already have a lien filing code and you need to amend any of the information (ie. address, phone

number), send a fax with the updated information on business letterhead to (518) 486-6581, attention “Title

Administration”. Please include your lien filing code and a direct line telephone number in case it is necessary

for us to contact you. It is important to keep your records for lien filing codes up to date.

CHARGE ACCOUNTS

A lending institution can apply for an Escrow Charge Account for filing liens that are sent directly to the

Title Bureau. This eliminates the need to send separate $5 checks for each Notice of Lien (MV-900).

To apply for a charge account, call our Accounts Management Section at (518) 474-0692.

When your account is established, you will file liens using a Notice of Lien for a Charge Account

Customer (MV-900.1).

FOUR METHODS OF RECORDING A LIEN:

1. NOTIFY THE DEALER SELLING THE VEHICLE

When a New York State registered dealer sells a 1995 or newer manufactured home, a 1973 or 

newer vehicle or 1987 or newer model boat, the dealer will record your lien if properly notified.

Prepare a memo-type check for $5 more than the borrowed amount; identify both the borrower

and dealer on the check. Type or stamp the following statement on the back of the check: “The filing

fee required by Section 2125 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law is included in this check, and is being 

paid by the secured parties.” Your name, address and lien filing code should be on the check or be 

attached to it. Be sure the dealer has your correct lien filing code.

The dealer will enter your name, address and lien filing code in the lienholder portion of the 

Application for Registration and Title (MV-82) (MV-82TON) (MV-82B) which will be brought to 

the Motor Vehicles office with other necessary documents and required fees.

2. NOTIFY THE TITLE BUREAU DIRECTLY WHENEVER THE VEHICLE, BOAT OR
MANUFACTURED HOME IS NOT SOLD BY A REGISTERED NEW YORK 
STATE DEALER

To record your security interest for a vehicle, boat or manufactured home which was sold by a private

individual (a casual sale), or by an out-of-state dealer, complete a Notice of Lien (MV-900 or 

MV-900.1). These forms are shown on pages 7 and 8. Enter your name, address, lien filing code, the

owner’s name and address; the manufactured home, vehicle or boat description; the date of security

agreement, and both required signatures. Do not forward the proof of ownership for a vehicle or 

boat because the new owner will need it to register the vehicle or boat. Send your completed 

MV-900 and the $5 lien recording fee or MV-900.1 to the Title Bureau as soon as possible 

after the loan is made, and within 10 days after the date of registration, so the lien can be recorded 

before a title is issued.

Please do not use this method if the lien is recorded through a New York dealer. Also, please note that

the Department of Motor Vehicles does not record liens listed on MCOs or on the 
back of out-of-state titles.
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3. NOTIFY THE TITLE BUREAU DIRECTLY WHEN A VEHICLE, BOAT OR 
MANUFACTURED HOME IS USED AS  COLLATERAL WHEN BORROWING MONEY

If the vehicle, boat or manufactured home is already registered and titled in New York State, and 

the owner wants to borrow money using the manufactured home, vehicle or boat as collateral, the 

Notice of Lien (MV-900) or a completed MV-900.1, the $5 lien recording fee, PLUS the current 

title, should be sent to the Title Bureau. If the owner has lost the title, an MV-902 (Application for 

Duplicate Title) with proofs of  identification and $20 fee can be sent from the owner with your 

Notice of Lien and the $5 lien fee.

Once a lien is recorded, it remains on record until a notice of satisfaction and the title are given to the

Title Bureau. If a lien satisfaction  and title are sent to the Title Bureau prior to ownership transfer, 

there is a $20 processing charge. If a person wants to refinance a vehicle, boat or manufactured home

for which no satisfaction has been given, it is not necessary to again record your lien. Just keep the 

original Notice of Recorded Lien (MV-901) until the second contract is satisfied.

4.  NOTIFY DMV THROUGH THE ELECTRONIC LIEN TRANSFER PROGRAM

New York State's Electronic Lien Transfer Program provides an electronic method for the Department

of Motor Vehicles and lienholders to exchange lien data.  The lienholders electronically  notify the 

DMV of a lien for a vehicle.  On a nightly basis, DMV processes transactions and records the liens on

our files.  The next business morning, an electronic message is returned to the lienholder indicating that

the lien has been processed.  If the lien information is received prior to the vehicle being registered in 

NY, DMV will scan our files nightly for a matching record in order to record the lien.

The ELT Program eliminates the risk of lien oversight or inaccuracy since the lienholder is not relying

on a dealer to file the lien.  Electronic delivery of lien information results in a shorter turnaround time

for lien recording, and electronic notification of recorded lien allows lending institutions to store an

electronic lien record instead of a paper record.

Each lien holder participating in the program must establish a Title Escrow Account with NYS DMV.

This account will be debited a $5 lien-filing fee each time a lien is recorded on our records; that is, 

each time a matching VIN, YR, Make and owner's three of name is found.  The escrow account is 

not charged until the lien has been matched with a vehicle record.  Each month, a statement detailing

account activity that occurred during the previous month is mailed to the lienholder from NYS 

DMV's Office of Revenue Accounting.

In order to participate in the ELT program, a lender must first contact one of the vendors listed below.

Once they have decided on a vendor, they must submit to DMV the following paperwork:

� Form ELT-4, Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).

� Form ELT-2, Application for Electronic Lien Transfer Program.

� Form ELT-3, Title Escrow Account Application.

The applications and our ELT Business User Manual (ELT-1) can be obtained by visiting our website

at www.nysdmv.com. 

Vendors working with NYS:

FDI Consulting, Inc VINtek, Inc.

A triVIN Company 1735 Market Street

9750 Goethe Road Suite 900

Sacramento, CA 95827 Philadelphia, PA 19103

916-921-4390 ext. 118 215-563-3320

1-800-594-1470
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For further information please contact:

Rose Ann Harris

NYS DMV

Room 331

6 Empire State Plaza

Albany, New York 12228

TO INSURE PROPER RECORDING OF LIEN

To reduce the number of rejected Notices of Lien, please include all the mandatory data. The following list

specifies what information is essential on the MV-900 or MV-900.1:

1) year, make and vehicle identification number (or hull ID number for a boat)

2) lienholder’s complete name and address

3) borrower’s complete name and address

4) original lienholder’s signature

5) original borrower’s signature

6) the charge account number on both the notice and the receipt sections of the MV-900.1.

7) the lender’s complete name and address (as shown on the charge account) on both the notice

and receipt sections of the MV-900.1.

8) date of security agreement

NOTE: Remember to enclose a $5.00 check or money order from the lienholder, made out to the

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, for each MV-900.

All information (other than signature) must be typed. Use caution when entering Vehicle, Hull or

Manufactured Home ID number. Liens will not be recorded if information is illegible, incorrect or

incomplete. Your proper completion and timely submission (within 10 days of the date of vehicle sale) of the

MV-900/MV-900.1 will help ensure that your security interest is properly recorded before the title is issued.

For a 1995 or newer manufactured home, the lender must complete form MV-900 or MV-900.1. To
assure proper recording of the lien, the application for title and the Notice of Lien must be
submitted together.

TITLE/LIEN STATUS CHECK

You can use the on-line service on the DMV web site (www.nysdmv.com) to check title and lien status. To

check the status on-line, you must have the vehicle identification number (VIN), the model year of the

vehicle and the make of the vehicle. The status check will show:

� the title issue date,

� the number of liens,

� the names of any lienholders,

� the names of any lienholders “Pending” to be recorded on the title.

The status check does not provide other information about the vehicle or the vehicle owner.
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RELEASING YOUR LIEN

A Notice of Recorded Lien (MV-901), containing the name of the lienholder, is printed at the same time a

title certificate is printed. The MV-901 is mailed to the lienholder, who keeps it until the security interest

is terminated. Before the Notice is released, one of the three boxes must be checked, and the bottom

line dated and signed by one of your authorized personnel. “PAID” stamps are not acceptable. Photocopies

of the MV-901 are acceptable; however, the date and signature of the authorized person must be an

ORIGINAL OR A FACSIMILE.

BOX 1 - SATISFACTION

If the borrower fully pays the loan, the law requires the lender to release the Notice of Recorded Lien

IMMEDIATELY. The first box should be checked and the notice forwarded to the owner, who should hold

it with the title until ownership of the vehicle, boat or manufactured home is transferred.

BOX 2 - REPOSSESSION

The second box is used when a vehicle, boat or manufactured home is repossessed and sold to another

party. The Notice of Recorded Lien is given to the purchaser, along with a completed Affirmation of

Repossession and Bill of Sale (See: Titles for Repossessed Vehicles and Boats).

BOX 3 - ASSIGNMENT

The third box is checked when the security interest in the vehicle, boat or manufactured home is sold or

in any way reassigned, and the new lienholder wants to change the lienholder name printed on the Notice

of Recorded Lien and Certificate of Title. The Notice of Recorded Lien is signed and dated by the

lienholder printed on the recorded lien, and the name and address of the new lienholder are entered in the

appropriate space. This notice, together with the Certificate of Title from the owner and a $5 lien fee, is

sent to the Title Bureau in Albany.

USE OF LETTER TO REPLACE MV-901

When Form MV-901 (Notice of Recorded Lien) is not available for any reason, the lending institution

should provide a statement, on its letterhead, containing the following:

1. name and address of the borrower.

2. a complete description of the vehicle, boat or manufactured home, including year, make and 

identification number.

3. information to the effect that the loan was paid in full, including the date of loan satisfaction.

4. an original signature (ink or stamp) of an officer of the lending institution, and the officer’s job title.

5. if the lienholder is an individual, the statement must be notarized.

TRANSFER OF TITLE CONTAINING LIEN

The Vehicle and Traffic Law does not prohibit the owner from selling the vehicle, boat or manufactured

home, even if there is an unsatisfied lien against it. If a vehicle titled in New York State with a lienholder

recorded is sold or transferred without the lien release, the lending institution will receive a new Notice of

Recorded Lien listing the new owner. However, in this situation the seller (borrower) is not relieved of the

responsibility to repay the loan. The lienholder has recourse against the individual who signed the original

contract or, if that person has sold the vehicle, boat or manufactured home, the lienholder can repossess

the vehicle, boat or manufactured home from the owner.
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LIEN PRIORITY

The Department of Motor Vehicles acts only administratively with respect to security interest, recording

and filing liens and releases, and noting liens on Title Certificates. The Department does not determine

priority of interests between lienholders or the disposition of proceeds upon sale of a vehicle,

manufactured home or boat after foreclosure or repossession. Such matters are subject to determination in

civil judicial proceedings.

Therefore, because it is not the responsibility of the Department to determine priority of interests, liens are

not listed in priority sequence on the Title Certificate. The numbers on the title and Notice of Recorded

Lien are reference numbers for Title Bureau use.

REPLACEMENT MV-901s

A replacement MV-901 (Notice of Recorded Lien) can be obtained by submitting a written request and a

$10 fee to the Title Bureau in Albany.

TITLES FOR REPOSSESSED VEHICLES, BOATS AND MANUFACTURED HOMES

Manufactured Homes, Vehicles and Boats Titled in New York

When repossessing a vehicle, manufactured home or boat titled in New York, you are required by law to:

1. immediately following such repossession, personally appear at the police agency in the locality where

the repossession occurred, and notify the police agency of the repossession.

2. within 24 hours, notify the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of such repossession by completing 

Form MV-327 in duplicate, and delivering both copies, either in person or by first class-special 

delivery mail, with the registration plates and sticker, if applicable, to the Department of Motor 

Vehicles District Office serving the county in which the vehicle, manufactured home or boat owner 

resides.

3. Within 24 hours, notify the owner of the vehicle, manufactured home or boat of such repossession, 

either personally or by registered or certified mail, sent to such owner at the last-known address.

When you sell the vehicle, give the purchaser a completed Form MV-950, “Affirmation of Repossession

and Bill of Sale”, Form MV-901 “Notice of Recorded Lien”, and the previous owner’s title, if available.

Computer-generated facsimiles of the Form MV-950 are acceptable but must follow the DMV format

exactly. The completed affirmation must be an original; photocopies will not be accepted.

If you are selling the vehicle in a state other than New York and that state will not accept your repossession

papers, you can apply for a repossession title in your name by sending the following directly to the Title Bureau:

1. a completed MV-82TON (Application for Title) in your name.

2. the previous owner’s title, if available.

3. a completed Form MV-950 showing you as purchaser.

4. the MV-901 indicating that your lien has been satisfied.

5. a $50 title fee; $125 for a manufactured home title.

6. a lien release for any other lien listed.

NOTE: If there are any other open prior liens on the vehicle, and a lien release is not 
obtained, you MUST advise the purchaser of the outstanding lien(s) on the vehicle. 
These liens will be carried forward on the purchaser’s title when it is issued.
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Vehicles, Boats and Manufactured Homes Titled in a State Other Than New York

If you repossess a vehicle, manufactured home or boat that was titled in a state other than New York, you

should obtain a title from that state in your name or in the new owner’s name.

However, if the former owner’s title lists you as the sole lienholder, you can sell the vehicle by using an

Affirmation of Repossession, a Bill of Sale and the former owner’s title. The Affirmation should include

the following:

A. information concerning the contract, including the name and address of the borrower and the lender,

the date of the contract, the year, make and identification number of the vehicle, manufactured home

or boat, the last registration plate number and the state in which it was last registered.

B. a statement that the borrower was in default.

C. the date of repossession, and the name and address of the person from whom it was repossessed.

D. a statement that the repossessor complied with all applicable laws in the state in which the vehicle

was repossessed.

E. when applicable, a statement indicating the right of an auctioneer to sell or transfer the vehicle or 

boat.

F. a statement that proper notice was given to all parties who were entitled to such notice.

OBTAINING ABSTRACTS

To obtain an abstract of a vehicle’s, boat’s or manufactured home’s title and/or lien record, fill out the

Request For Driver and/or Vehicle Record Information (MV-15), available from the Data Sales Unit or

from any Motor Vehicles office, including most county offices. The Certified Document Center (formerly

The Public Services Bureau) will provide a certified abstract of the owner’s title and lien record upon

receipt of the MV-15 and a search fee, required by law, of $10 for each record. In the future you will be

able to obtain abstracts immediately at your local Motor Vehicles office. Please contact them for details.

Application for a certified abstract can be addressed to:

Div. of Data Preparation

NYS— Department of Motor Vehicles

6 Empire State Plaza

Albany NY 12228-0430

THE TITLE SERVICES SECTION

In an effort to promptly and properly resolve exceptions resulting from implementation of the Title Law,

the Title Services Section of the Title Bureau is staffed with employees with special expertise to cope with

these problems.
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Correspondence regarding the recording of liens, duplicate titles, correction of titles or title records,

etc., should be addressed to:

Div. of Document Production — Title Bureau

NYS — Department of Motor Vehicles

6 Empire State Plaza

Albany NY 12228-0330

Mail completed forms MV-900 or MV-900.1 with the lien filing fee and title (if applicable) to:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles

PO Box 2604

Albany NY 12220-0604

When appropriate, telephone calls can also be made to the Title Services Section. The phone number is

(518) 486-4714.

A $10 fee is required by law for a search of our files.
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FORM MV-900 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF LIEN

The Notice of Lien (Form MV-900) is completed by a bank, credit union, finance company or other lender
to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles that an individual or company has borrowed money to purchase
a specific vehicle, manufactured home or boat, or if a vehicle, manufactured home or boat is being used as
collateral. This form must be used when the lending institution wants to perfect its security interest in the
vehicle, manufactured home or boat which has been purchased from someone other than a registered New
York State dealer (a casual sale or an out-of-state dealer). The MV-900 is mailed directly to the Title Bureau
in Albany, together with the $5 lien filing fee, which cannot be charged to the borrower.

Individuals can access this form from our web site at www.dmv.ny.gov or obtain it from any Motor
Vehicles office. Lending institutions can print their own supply using the exact size (8 1/2 x 11”) and
format required by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or may access the form from our web site.
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�________________________________________________________________________ Date of Security Agreement_________________________

Has a NY Certificate of Title been issued to this borrower? � YES � NO     IF YES, ATTACH TITLE.

OWNER’S STATEMENT: I understand that the lienholder will send this notice to the DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. If a title was
previously issued in my name for this vehicle, boat, trailer or manufactured home, I gave it to the lienholder to be sent to DMV with this notice.
I understand that a new Certificate of Title, showing the lienholder’s name, will be mailed to me.

OWNER(S): SIGN HERE � _______________________________� ________________________________ Date _______________

If signing for a corporation, print your name and title: ______________________________________ ________________________________

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF LIEN

All information (other than signature) must be typed. Use caution when entering Vehicle, Hull or Manufactured Home ID number.
Liens will not be recorded if information is illegible, incorrect or incomplete.

�Check here if this is a new address.   

NOTE: Lien will be recorded only if the name(s) listed as the owner(s) is EXACTLY the same as the owner(s) recorded, or to be recorded, on
the Certificate of Title. If a Certificate of Title has not been issued to this borrower, print the name as it appears on the driver license.

MV-900 (1/11)

Identification Number

Year

This is a: � Vehicle                    � Boat                  � Trailer                     � Manufactured home

Make Body Type/Hull Registration/Plate No. of Borrower, if any

Owner’s Last Name First M.I.

Owner’s Last Name First M.I.

Street Address (including Apt. No.)

City State Zip Code

State Zip Code

Lien Filing Code (assigned by DMV:  enter only if a code has been assigned to you or your company)

Lienholder’s Name

Lienholder’s Name (continued)

Street Address

City

(Lienholder’s Signature—Must be an original signature or a facsimile stamp)

This notice authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to disclose (or otherwise make available) information about the lienholder obtained by

the department in connection with this record.

LIENHOLDER: Mail this form, the $5 fee paid by the lienholder payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and the owner’s title (if issued) to: 

TITLE BUREAU, NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES, PO BOX 2604, ALBANY NY 12220-0604

You can verify online if a lien was recorded or if a title certificate was issued. 

Go to the Lien/Title Certificate Status page at the DMV web site: www.dmv.ny.gov/titlestat/default.html

(Must be an original signature.  If a POA is used, 
a copy of the POA must be attached.)

(Name) (Title)

(Must be an original signature.  If a POA is used, 
a copy of the POA must be attached.)

www.dmv.ny.gov

VEHICLE/BOAT/MANUFACTURED HOME INFORMATION

OWNER INFORMATION

LIEN INFORMATION

SAMPLE



FORM MV-900.1 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF LIEN
CHARGE ACCOUNT CUSTOMER

The Notice of Lien - Charge Account Customer can be completed instead of Form MV-900 by a lending
institution with a Department of Motor Vehicles charge account.

- 11-

Lienholder’s Name (continued)

Lien Filing Code (assigned by DMV:  
enter only if a code has been assigned to you or your company)

�________________________________________________________________________ Date of Security Agreement_________________________

Has a NY Certificate of Title been issued to this borrower? � YES � NO     IF YES, ATTACH TITLE.

OWNER’S STATEMENT: I understand that the lienholder will send this notice to the DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. If a title was
previously issued in my name for this vehicle, boat, trailer or manufactured home, I gave it to the lienholder to be sent to DMV with this notice.
I understand that a new Certificate of Title, showing the lienholder’s name, will be mailed to me.

OWNER(S): SIGN HERE � _______________________________� ________________________________ Date _______________

If signing for a corporation, print your name and title: ______________________________________ ________________________________

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF LIEN - CHARGE ACCOUNT CUSTOMER

All information (other than signature) must be typed. Use caution when entering Vehicle, Hull or Manufactured Home ID number.
Liens will not be recorded if information is illegible, incorrect or incomplete.

NOTE: Lien will be recorded only if the name(s) listed as the owner(s) is EXACTLY the same as the owner(s) recorded, or to be recorded, on
the Certificate of Title. If a Certificate of Title has not been issued to this borrower, print the name as it appears on the driver license.

MV-900.1 (1/11)

Identification 
Number
Year

This is a:
� Vehicle          � Boat        � Trailer           � Manufactured home

Make Body Type/
Hull

Registration/Plate No.
of Borrower, if any

Owner’s Last Name First M.I.

Owner’s Last Name First M.I.

Street Address (including Apt. No.)

City State Zip Code

State Zip Code

Lienholder’s Name

Street Address

City

(Lienholder’s Signature—Must be an original signature or a facsimile stamp)

This notice authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to disclose (or otherwise make available) information about the lienholder obtained by

the department in connection with this record.

LIENHOLDER: Mail this form and the owner’s title (if issued) to: 

TITLE BUREAU, NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES PO BOX 2604, ALBANY, NY 12220-0604

(Must be an original signature.  If a POA is used, 
a copy of the POA must be attached.)

(Name) (Title)

(Must be an original signature.  If a POA is used, 
a copy of the POA must be attached.)

www.dmv.ny.gov

VEHICLE/BOAT/MANUFACTURED HOME INFORMATION

OWNER INFORMATION

�Check here if this is a new address   

LIEN INFORMATION

PLEASE TYPE LIEN FILING CODE, AND NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE ACCOUNT TO BE CHARGED:

Account Name

Street Address (including Apt. No.)

City or Town State Zip Code

Lien Filing Code: Vehicle Identification
Number (VIN):

DO NOT DETACH THIS RECEIPT

YOUR DMV CHARGE ACCOUNT NUMBER: _____________________

Your DMV Charge Account Number: _____________________

MV-900.1 (1/11)

You can verify online if a lien was recorded or if a title certificate was issued. 

Go to the Lien/Title Certificate Status page at the DMV web site: www.dmv.ny.gov/titlestat/default.html

SAMPLE



FORM MV-901 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF RECORDED LIEN

The MV-901 is a computer-printed form which is mailed to the lienholder when a title containing a lien is
mailed to the owner of the vehicle, boat or manufactured home.

When ownership of a vehicle, boat or manufactured home is transferred and the (old) lien has not been
satisfied by the former owner, a new MV-901 will be generated and will contain information pertaining to
the former owner.

A new MV-901 is also generated when a new or additional lienholder is recorded on a vehicle, boat or
manufactured home.

- 12 -

SAMPLE
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FORM MV-15 (REDUCED) (See DMV Website for all pages of form)

REQUEST FOR DRIVER AND/OR VEHICLE RECORD INFORMATION

This form is used to obtain information about any outstanding liens on a vehicle, as well as current owner
information.

� DRIVING RECORD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10

� VEHICLE REGISTRATION RECORD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10

� VEHICLE TITLE RECORD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10

� COMPLETE 19A ROSTER.  PROVIDE BUS CO. FEDERAL EMPL. ID. # $10 for each driver.

(SKIP PART B)

� DRIVER LICENSE APPLICATION Photocopy. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $11

� CONVICTION Photocopy (Write ticket no. or case no. in Part B below) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $11 each

� DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION ORDER Photocopy (Write order # in Part B below) . . . . . . . . . . . . . $11 each

� DRINKING DRIVER PROGRAM COMPLETION CERTIFICATE Photocopy (Write ticket # in Part B below) . . . . . . . . . . . . $11

� TICKET/SUMMONS Photocopy  (Write ticket no., date of violation and offense, if known, in Part B below) . . . . . . . . . . . . . $11 each

� VEHICLE REGISTRATION/TITLE APPLICATION Photocopy. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $11 each

� VEHICLE REGISTRATION SUSPENSION ORDER Photocopy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $11 each

� VEHICLE & TRAFFIC LAW BOOKS (How many? __________) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6.00 each

Plate 
Number

Vehicle Identification Number

(from vehicle registration)

Class of Vehicle (from registration) Year of Vehicle Make of Vehicle

Ticket, Case or Order Number 
(if known)

Date of 
Violation

Offense

Check below the type of records you are requesting.

Provide as much information as you know about the records you are requesting. Please print clearly.

Last Name

Mailing Address (Include Street & No.) Apt. # City State Zip Code

Previous New York State Address (if known) Apt. # City State Zip Code

9-digit Driver License ID Number or
Number from Non-Driver ID Card

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)

/         /
Sex

� M � F

MV-15 (12/10) Page 3 of 4

PAYMENT METHOD � DO NOT SEND CASH �

�Check        � Money Order        � Exempt       

PAYABLE TO COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES

� DMV account number (for account holders only)

To process this request, we need to identify you, the requester.

Attach a copy of your driver license, non-driver identification card issued by a state motor vehicle authority, or 6 points

of identification (see form ID-44 for acceptable proof of identity).

Print your name and return address below, and fill in the payment method.

Daytime Phone No. (optional):

STEP 2

PART A

PART B

SAMPLE



FORM MV-15 (REDUCED) (See DMV Website for all pages of form)

REQUEST FOR DRIVER AND/OR VEHICLE RECORD INFORMATION

- 14 -

I certify that I shall use the information provided by DMV only for the use described in Step 3 of this form, and that I
will comply fully with the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (18 USC Sec. 2721, et seq).  I also agree to defend,
hold harmless and indemnify DMV from all actions brought against DMV, or damages alleged against DMV, for my
negligent, improper or unauthorized use or dissemination of the information provided by the DMV.  

REMEMBER TO ATTACH A COPY OF YOUR ID. (See Step 2 of Instructions.)

Signature �� ____________________________________________________________________

Print Name ____________________________________________________________________

To knowingly make a false statement or conceal a material fact in this written statement is a criminal offense, punishable under
Penal Law Section 210.45.  In addition, anyone who makes false representation to obtain any personal information from an
individual’s Motor Vehicles record is subject to federal criminal fines under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA).

STEP 3

STEP 4

MV-15 (12/10)

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

REQUEST FOR DRIVING AND/OR VEHICLE RECORD INFORMATION

The Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection  Act (DPPA) regulates access to Motor Vehicles records. You must tell us why
you want the records you are requesting. Place your initials next to each permissible use you select.

_______ Use in any civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitral proceeding in any court or agency, including the service of process, 

investigation in anticipation of litigation, and the execution or enforcement of judgments and orders or pursuant to a 

court order.

_______ Use by an insurer or insurance support organization or self-insured entity in claims investigations, anti-fraud activities, 

rating or underwriting activities.

_______ Use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded vehicles.

_______ Use by an employer, its agent or insurer to obtain information relating to the holder of a commercial driver's license 

required under Chapter 313 of Title 49 of the U.S.C.

_______ Use in preventing fraud by, pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or security interest against an 

individual in order to verify or correct the accuracy of personal information submitted by the individual to a legitimate 

business or its agents, employees, or contractors.

_______ Use required under NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law, Article 19A - Special Requirements for Bus Drivers.

_______ Use required under NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law, Article 19B - Special Requirements for Commercial Motor Carriers.

_______ Use by any government agency in carrying out its functions.

_______ Use by any private person or entity acting on behalf of a federal, state, or local agency in carrying out its functions.

_______ Use in matters of motor vehicle or driver safety.

_______ Use in matters of motor vehicle theft.

_______ Use in matters of motor vehicle emissions.

_______ Use in matters of motor vehicle product alterations, recalls or advisories.

_______ Use in performance monitoring of motor vehicles, motor vehicle parts and dealers.

_______ Use in motor vehicle market research activities, including survey research.

_______ Use in removal of non-owner records from the original owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers.

_______ Use in the operation of private toll transportation facilities. 

_______ Use by any requester who has obtained the written consent of the motorist. 

_______ Use specifically authorized under NYS law, IF such use is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or public safety. 
Cite the specific NYS law here:  ______________________________________________ 

_______ Use in research activities and in producing statistical reports, as long as the personal information is not 
published, disclosed or used to contact individuals.

_______ License records without the motorist’s address. These records include either the client identification number or the 

driver’s name and date of birth, if such information has been provided by the requester.

Page 4 of 4

Date:

SAMPLE



(REDUCED)

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

This document is issued to all owners of 1973 and newer model vehicles, owners of 1987 and newer model

boats, and owners of  1995 and newer model manufactured homes. It is computer-printed on security paper

with a background featuring a large state seal and printed in blue and rose.

On the front, the number above the “Date Issued” is a random number - six numerals and one letter - which

is used by the department as a document security check. The number in the lower left corner on the back

of the form is the sequential document control number. The number just above the lienholder spaces on

the left side of the form on the front is a print sequence number.

The owner of the vehicle or boat must pay a $50 title fee. The owner of a manufactured home must pay a

$125 title fee. There is a $20 fee for a duplicate title. There is no charge for a corrected title (exception:  there

is a $20 fee to release a lien).

- 15 -

SAMPLE



FORM MV-999 - BACK
(REDUCED)

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

- 16 -

SAMPLE



FORM MV-950 (REDUCED)

AFFIRMATION OF REPOSSESSION AND BILL OF SALE

- 17 -

Federal and state laws require that the mileage of the vehicle described above be specified upon transfer of ownership.  Failure to do so, or
not telling the truth about mileage, may result in fines and/or imprisonment.

I, _______________________________________________________ state that the odometer now reads ______________________ miles

The vehicle described above was repossessed in _______________________ on ______________  from the borrower who was in default

of a security contract dated  _______________ .  On  ________________ , ______________________________________________ was  

authorized to sell the above vehicle (if applicable).

Section 425(1) of the Vehicle and Traffic Law requires that, when a motor vehicle or motorcycle is repossessed, proper notification must

be provided to the parties listed below, within 24 hours. 

(Month/Day/Year)

(State)

(Auctioneer)

PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN TO THE FOLLOWING PARTIES (list names and addresses ): Date Notified

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

AFFIRMATION OF REPOSSESSION AND BILL OF SALE
www.dmv.ny.gov

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

PLATE NUMBERYEAR MAKE MODEL

City

PURCHASER:

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Print Last Name, 
First, M.I.

Date of SalePrice 
Paid

ZIP CodeNumber and 
Street Address

State

Police Agency Name Address

AddressCommissioner of Motor Vehicles (enter Name
of Motor Vehicles office notified)

Borrower/Current Owner Name
(other than lienholder)

Address

Other Name Address

STATE LAST REG STATE LAST TITLED

Apt. No.

Under the penalties of perjury, I affirm that I have complied with Section 425(1) of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law (see page 2) and/or any
applicable laws in the state where the vehicle was repossessed, pertaining to the repossession of the vehicle described above. I further affirm that, if there are
any other open perfected liens on the vehicle, and a lien release is not obtained, I have advised the purchaser of the outstanding liens
on the vehicle.

(Lender’s Signature)
�

Lender Signature

�
Purchaser Signature

�

The odometer on the vehicle described above has (check the appropriate box): �� 5 digits �� 6 digits �� 7 digits, not including tenths. 

and (one of the following statements must be checked):

1.�� I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this odometer reading reflects the “ACTUAL MILEAGE” as seen on the odometer of 
the vehicle described above.

2.�� I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the above-disclosed odometer reading “EXCEEDS MECHANICAL LIMITS”. (The mileage 
is in excess of what the odometer is capable of recording.)

3.�� I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the above-disclosed odometer reading is “NOT THE ACTUAL MILEAGE. WARNING:  
ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.”

Lender – Print Name in Full (do not include tenths of a mile)

DAMAGE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

MV-950 (1/11) PAGE 1 OF 2

Business 
Name

Last Name, 
First, M.I.

Number and 
Street Address

City

Number and 
Street Address

Apt. No.

City State ZIP Code State ZIP Code

Apt. No.

INSTRUCTIONS �� Lenders must complete boxes                                        If Lender is selling vehicle, Purchaser information is required in boxes 

BORROWERLENDER

1 2 3 4

1

2

3

4

5 65

6

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION (includes motor vehicle or motorcycle, manufactured home* or boat* )  

�

(*NOTE:  This notification is not required when a manufactured home or boat is repossessed.)

IMPORTANT: Making a false statement, or failure to accurately disclose  the salvage status of a vehicle, may subject
you to substantial civil fines, in addition to any penalties authorized by the Penal Law.

Check one box–  I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this vehicle                                                              wrecked, destroyed or damaged to such
an extent that the total estimate, or actual cost, of parts and labor to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to the condition it was in before an accident, and
for legal operation on the road or highways, is more than 75% of the retail value of the vehicle at the time of loss. (Checking the “has been” box means
the vehicle must have an anti-theft examination before being registered, and that the title issued will have the statement “Rebuilt Salvage: NY” on it.) 

��has been ��has not been

5

SAMPLE



FORM MV-950 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE
BACK (REDUCED)

- 18 -

§    425. Repossession of motor vehicle or motorcycle; garageman’s lien; notice to police.    1. Any person, firm or

corporation, or agent, employee or representative thereof, repossessing or retaking a motor vehicle or motorcycle pursuant to

the provisions of article nine of the uniform commercial code, or other authority of law, or any contract or agreement, shall,

immediately following such repossession or retaking, personally appear at a station house or other office of the police

department, or agency or officer performing like functions, in the locality wherein such repossession or retaking occurred,

give notice to such department, agency or officer of such repossession or retaking and thereafter  and within twenty-four

hours personally deliver or mail by special delivery first class mail to the nearest motor vehicle district office, (a) notice of

such repossession or retaking in such form as the commissioner may require and (b) the number plates of such motor vehicle

or motorcycle.  Notice of such repossession or retaking, including the name and address of the person, firm or corporation

repossessing or retaking the same, shall also be given within twenty-four hours thereof to the owner of such motor vehicle or

motorcycle, either personally or by registered or certified mail directed to such owner at his last-known address.  Unless the

motor vehicle or motorcycle can be repossessed or retaken without breach of the peace, it shall be repossessed or retaken by

legal process, but nothing herein contained shall be construed to authorize a violation of the criminal law.

MV-950 (1/11) PAGE 2 OF 2

SAMPLE



FORM MV-327 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION OF A
MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE

www.dmv.ny.gov

INSTRUCTIONS: Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 425 requires the repossessor of a motor vehicle or motorcycle to do 
the following:

1. immediately following the repossession, personally appear at the police agency in the locality where the 
repossession occurred, and notify the police agency of the repossession;

2. within 24 hours, deliver either personally or by special delivery first class mail to any Motor Vehicle Issuing Office 
(not to the Title Bureau):

a. this completed notice of repossession; and
b. the license plates from the vehicle being repossessed (unless removed by registrant before the repossession).

(NOTE: A fee of $1.00 per set of plates may be required by some county offices.)

3. within 24 hours, notify the vehicle owner of the repossession (either personally, or by registered or certified mail
sent to the owner at the owner’s last-known address).

4. prepare this form, and present it and the license plates, if any, to any Motor Vehicle Issuing Office. The Motor Vehicle 
Issuing Office will return the Owner Copy and Repossessor Copy to the Repossessor. Once the repossessor receives 
the Repossessor and Owner copies of the MV-327, he must forward the owner copy immediately to the owner.

To Commissioner of Motor Vehicles:

This is to notify you that the vehicle described below has been repossessed, and that:

� the license plates from this vehicle are enclosed.

� the registrant removed the plates from the vehicle BEFORE the vehicle was repossessed.

NOTE: Failure to deliver the license plates to a Motor Vehicle Issuing Office within 24 hours is a violation of
Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 425, which is punishable by a fine of up to $150. If you are a dealer, 
however, failure to deliver the license plates to a Motor Vehicle Issuing Office within 24 hours may 
result in a fine of up to $1,000 and/or the suspension or revocation of your dealer’s license.

FOR DMV OFFICE USE ONLY

�The Department of Motor Vehicles was notified that the vehicle described above was repossessed.

�The license plates described above were not submitted with this form.

�The license plates described above were received:

� by mail � in person                               on _______________________________________

at the _________________________________________________________________ Motor Vehicles Office.

By _______________________________________________________

Year and Make of Vehicle

Vehicle Identification Number

Name and Address of Registrant Name & Address of Lienholder Authorizing Repossession

Name and Address of Repossessor

Locality Where Repossession Occurred

Name and Address of Owner

Name and Address of Police Agency Notified Signature of Representative From Lienholder or Repossessor

�

Body Type Color Date of Repossession

/                 /

Date Police Agency Notified

/                 /

Model State Last
Registered

Plate Number Month and Year of Expiration

/                

MV-327 (1/11) DMV COPY
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SAMPLE



Questions about the Title Law, and requests for additional copies of this booklet, should be addressed to:

TITLE BUREAU
NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
6 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA
ALBANY NY 12228-0330



NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor 

MV-909 (1/11)




