INFORMATION FOR MOTORISTS WHO HAVE RECEIVED
AN ORDER OF SUSPENSION (FORM MV-510D)
FOR A DRUG-RELATED CONVICTION

dmv.ny.gov

Your driver license/permit or privilege to drive in New York State (NYS) is suspended because you
were convicted of a misdemeanor or felony under Articles 220 and 221 of the Penal Law.

If your driver license is issued by another state you do not have to turn it in, even though your
privilege to drive in NYS is suspended. You must not resume driving in NYS until you complete your
period of suspension. You may then contact a motor vehicle office to request restoration. You must not resume
driving in NYS until your driving privilege has been restored.

If your license/permit or driving privilege is already suspended or revoked at the time you are
sentenced, you must complete that suspension or revocation period before your 6-month
suspension for the drug offense will begin. If you have served any time in custody related to this offense, you
are entitled to receive credit for the time served. Bring proof of time served to the motor vehicle office when you apply
to have your full license/permit or driving privilege restored.

DMV will notify you by mail if you are eligible for a restricted use license/permit or privilege to
drive during the suspension period.

If you are eligible for a restricted use license or privilege to drive, bring your application to a
motor vehicle office after you receive your notice of eligibility. Please do not go to the motor vehicle
office to apply before you receive the eligibility notice.

You must turn in your NYS photo license/permit to a motor vehicle office before you will be
issued a restricted use license, if you did not already turn in your license/permit to the court (or if you
turned in a temporary license). If the court gave you Part I of form MV-510D, “Continuation of Driving
Privileges”, you must turn that form in to the motor vehicle office when you apply for a restricted use license.
There is a $75 administrative fee that you must pay to DMV when you apply for a restricted use license, and a
$12.50 photo document fee, in addition to any other applicable licensing fees.

In addition to serving the suspension period, you must pay a suspension termination fee before
your full license/permit or privilege can be restored. This fee is $50 if the effective date of the
suspension is on or after July 6, 2009. This fee can be paid by cash, credit card, certified check, money order or
personal check (clients who are restricted to paying with “certified funds” may not pay by personal check). A
credit card payment cannot be made by mail; payment of the suspension termination fee by credit card (Master
Card, Visa, American Express, or Discover) can be made only at a motor vehicle office or online at the DMV
website: dmv.ny.gov/pay-suspension-termination-fee.

For assistance in this matter, go to the Motor Vehicles office that is most convenient for you.
Phone numbers for Motor Vehicles offices can be found in the blue pages of your phone book,
or online at: dmv.ny.gov/contact-us/contact-us
If calling from outside New York State: (518) 473-5595
Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

TTY/TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf)

Within New York State: 1-800-368-1186
From outside New York State: (518) 473-9002
Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
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