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Acronyms and Abbreviations

ADRR Annual Driving Record Review

AFCO Annual Affidavit of Compliance

BDU Bus Driver Unit

BTW Biennial Behind The Wheel Driving Test

BWT Biennial Oral/Written Test

CE Article 19-A Certified Examiner

DCJS New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

DDO Defensive Driving Observation

DMV Department of Motor Vehicles

FBI Federal Bureau of Investigation

GVWR Gross Vehicle Weight Rating

MD Doctor of Medicine 

NP Nurse Practitioner

DO                    Doctor of Osteopathy

PA Physician’s Assistant

APN Advanced Practice Nurse

T&I Testing and Investigations (NYS DMV)

(NOTE: Unless otherwise specified, all ‘Date’ entries on all forms should be in the Month/Day/Year format.)
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ARTICLE 19-A BUS DRIVER APPLICATION

Form DS-870

* Required for every driver hired after July 1, 1985

* If driver has worked previously for the carrier and is being rehired, the carrier should file a DS-885,

Article 19-A Bus Driver Add/Drop Notice, instead of DS-870.

* Original must be sent to the Bus Driver Unit immediately upon hiring of the driver. The 

application must be received by BDU within 10 days of the driver’s hiring date.

Note - Carriers that are using the 19-A System electronically on-line do not have to mail the

original DS-870 to the Bus Driver Unit (BDU). The original should be retained in the driver’s

Article 19-A file with the 19-A system Driver Activation receipt attached to it.

* A legible copy must always remain in the driver's 19-A file.

* Should be the first document of the file.
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New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ARTICLE 19-A BUS DRIVER APPLICATION
(Complete all parts of this form. Please print or type. 

Send original to Bus Driver Unit, keep a copy in your driver 19-A file.)

DRIVER AFFIRMATION: To the best of my knowledge, the information I have given on this application is true.

Signature of Driver � ________________________________________________________     Date ________________________________

EMPLOYER CERTIFICATION: This application has been reviewed together with the driver abstract and medical examination (form DS-874 or

USDOT form 649-F or equivalent) and the applicant is hereby classified as a “conditional driver” as defined in Section 6.2(r) and in accordance

with the requirements of Sections 6.3 and 6.4 of the regulations of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Final approval of employment is subject

to the applicant meeting the requirements of Article 19-A of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law. All questions pertaining to this form and/or

the Article 19-A Program should be directed to: New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, Bus Driver Unit, 6 Empire State Plaza, Rm 220C,

Albany NY 12228, (518) 473-9455.

DS-870 (11/08)

ADDITIONAL DRIVER INFORMATION

Provide your employment, accident, and conviction history and answer the questions below. If necessary, attach additional pages.  
1. Have you qualified as a school bus driver under ARTICLE 19-A? �Yes  � No  If “yes”, give month and year of qualification __________

2. Are you a certified ARTICLE 19-A examiner? � Yes  � No 

If “yes”, give certificate number _________________________ and expiration date ___________________.

EMPLOYMENT (Start with your most recent employment, and include work
history for the past 3 years): 

ACCIDENTS  (Start with your most recent accident, and include accidents within the past 3 years): 

Employer Name and Address

What were the date(s) 

of your employment?

(From - To)

Date of Accident
Location

(City, State, Zip Code, County)

Was there personal injury or property damage?

If “YES”, indicate the dollar amount of damage to each
vehicle, and the number of people injured. What type of vehicle were you driving?

Your job title

CONVICTIONS  (Start with your most recent conviction, and include all criminal convictions): 

Date of Violation
Location

(City, State, Zip Code, County) Date of Conviction Of what charge were you convicted?
If a vehicle was involved, what type

of vehicle were you driving?

Signature of Employer/Agent � ________________________________________________     Date ________________________________

www.nysdmv.com

DRIVER INFORMATION
Driver’s Last Name

Street Address

Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different)

Street Address City State Zip Code

19-A Business ID NumberFederal ID Number

City State Zip Code

Class of Driver’s License Endorsements Restrictions Expiration DateClient/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

State

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)

County Telephone Number

Social Security Number

�Male     �Female

CARRIER INFORMATION

Name of Article 19-A Contact Person Title Is this employer/carrier a school bus carrier?         

�Yes � No

County Telephone Number

SAMPLE



INTERIM QUALIFICATION NOTICE

(School Bus Drivers Only)

* Sent to carrier after DMV fingerprints have been submitted and when the DCJS has cleared the 

individual and provided BDU with a criminal history response that includes no disqualifying 

convictions in New York State.

* Letter indicates ONLY HALF of the process of clearing the driver for criminal history has been

completed.

* Driver still has to be cleared by FBI to be considered unconditionally qualified.

Note:  Now that the fingerprints for school bus drivers are electronically scanned and the DCJS/FBI

responses are received in a matter of days and sometimes on the same day, carriers may not always

receive the Interim Qualification Notice.
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FINAL QUALIFICATION NOTICE

(School Bus Drivers Only)

* Sent to carrier after the FBI has completed its criminal history review and no disqualifying 

convictions have been identified.

* The driver has been cleared by the FBI and is considered qualified.



SAMPLE
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ABSTRACT OF DRIVING RECORD

* There are multiple ways to get a NYS DMV driver abstract. Complete information can be found

at http://nysdmv.com/abstract.htm#HOWTO. A few of these are:

⇒ If you need to access DMV abstracts frequently, you can open a Dial-In Search Account.

The Dial-In Account allows you to use your computer and a modem to access DMV

abstracts.

⇒ You can use form MV-15 to order abstracts by mail

⇒ You can obtain an abstract at a local DMV Office

⇒ May be obtained from insurance company or some other source - must show all required

information.

* Must be attached to the DS-872 Carrier's Annual Review of Employee's Driving Record Under 
Article 19-A.  Note - This does not apply to the pre-employment abstract.

* Must show 

⇒ PRINT DATE

⇒ Motorist's full name

⇒ Address

⇒ License Number

⇒ License Class (Including all Restrictions and Endorsements)

⇒ License Expiration Date

⇒ Current Status (Valid, Revoked, Suspended, etc.)

⇒ Convictions

⇒ New-Scofflaws

⇒ Scofflaws

⇒ Accidents

NOTE:  The Department reserves the right to verify any and all information contained on any 

Abstract of Driving Record.

7



8

SAMPLE



SAMPLE

9



SAMPLE

10



CARRIER'S ANNUAL REVIEW OF EMPLOYEE'S DRIVING

 RECORD UNDER ARTICLE 19-A

(Annual Driving Record Review)

Form DS-872

* Must be filled out completely.

* Interview must be conducted by carrier’s or school district’s authorized representative.  

* Interview must be conducted with current abstract (dated within 30 days, prior to interview).  

The interview cannot be conducted or dated prior to the print date of the abstract.

* Abstract must be attached to DS-872.

Driver Information must show: 

⇒ Driver's full name

⇒ Date of birth

⇒ Complete address

⇒ Client/license ID number

⇒ State of license

⇒ Class of driver license

⇒ Endorsements, restrictions, expiration date

Carrier Information

⇒ Carrier’s complete name and address

⇒ Federal ID Number

⇒ 19-A business ID number

⇒ Record of accident information

⇒ Record of convictions

Driver Certification must show:

⇒ Driver’s signature

⇒ Date signed by driver (does not have to be the date supervisor signs form)

Carrier Certification must show:

⇒ Printed name of carrier representative

⇒ Title of carrier representative

⇒ Signature of carrier representative

⇒ Date of interview

11
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I have compared the information given by the driver with the attached driver’s abstract of operating record. I have ensured that all
accident and conviction details not appearing on the driver’s abstract are listed on this form. I HAVE ATTACHED THE DRIVER’S
ABSTRACT(S),WHICH MUST BE DATED WITHIN 30 DAYS PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THIS INTERVIEW.

I interviewed this employee and certify that this driver meets the standards for safe driving, has been instructed in, and is in
compliance with, the provisions of Article 19-A, and is qualified to drive a bus.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

CARRIER’S ANNUAL REVIEW OF EMPLOYEE’S DRIVING RECORD 

UNDER ARTICLE 19-A

DS-872 (8/09)

Were you involved in ANY motor vehicle accident(s) during the past 12 months? � YES � NO If YES, complete Accident

Information section below:

ACCIDENT INFORMATION (if additional space is needed, use the back of this form)
Date

of

Accident

Location 

City, State, Zip Code, County

Briefly describe property damage, type of vehicle involved and

approximate dollar value of damage for each vehicle

Number of

People

Injured

Were there

any fatalities?

YES  or  NO

Were you convicted of ANY traffic violation(s) (other than parking) or any crime(s) during the past 12 months?  � YES �NO

If YES, complete Record of Convictions section below:

RECORD OF CONVICTIONS (if additional space is needed, use the back of this form)
Date of

Violation

Date of 

Conviction

Of What Charge 

Were You Convicted?

Type of 

Motor Vehicle Operated

� CMV

� Non-CMV

� CMV

� Non-CMV

� CMV

� Non-CMV

Court Location

City, State, Zip Code, County

DRIVER CERTIFICATION

CARRIER CERTIFICATION 

�__________________________________________________    _______________   
(Driver Signature) (Date)

�_______________________________________________________________________
(Authorized Signature of Carrier Representative)

_________________________
(Date of Interview)

www.nysdmv.com

(Print Name of Carrier Representative) (Title)

I certify that the information above is a true and complete list of traffic violations (other than parking violations) for which I have
been convicted or forfeited bond or collateral during the past 12 months, and accidents I was involved in during the past 12 months.
If no violations or accidents are listed above, I certify that I have not been convicted or forfeited bond or collateral on account of any
violation required to be listed during the past 12 months, or have been involved in any accidents during the past 12 months.

Driver’s Last Name

Street Address City State Zip Code

Class of Driver’s License Endorsements Restrictions Expiration DateClient/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

State

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)

DRIVER INFORMATION

Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different)

Street Address City State Zip Code

Federal ID Number 19-A Business ID Number

CARRIER INFORMATION

SAMPLE



REPORT ON ANNUAL DEFENSIVE DRIVING PERFORMANCE 

FOR DRIVER UNDER ARTICLE 19-A

(Defensive Driving Observation)

Form DS-873

Section 1 Driver Certification must show: 

⇒ Driver's full name

⇒ Date of birth

⇒ Complete address

⇒ Client/license ID number (from driver license)

⇒ State of license

⇒ Class of driver license

⇒ Endorsements

⇒ Restrictions

⇒ Expiration date

Section 2 Carrier Information must show:  

⇒ Name of carrier

⇒ Federal ID Number

⇒ 19-A business ID number

⇒ Address of carrier

Section 3 Vehicle Information must show:

⇒ Type of vehicle (bus, van, ambulette, etc.)

⇒ Adult seating capacity

⇒ GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

⇒ Plate number

⇒ State of registration

Section 4 Observation must show:

⇒ Inside or outside checked

⇒ Each of the 10 categories marked either "Satisfactory" or "Unsatisfactory"

⇒ Comment on any category marked as Unsatisfactory

Section 5 Driver Acknowledgment must show:

⇒ Driver signature

⇒ Date driver signed form

Section 6 Examiner’s Certification must show:  

⇒ Certified Examiner’s client/license ID number

⇒ Certified Examiner's Certificate number

⇒ Certified Examiner's Classification class, endorsements, restrictions, and expiration date

13
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I acknowledge discussion of my defensive driving performance with the examiner who observed and rated my performance.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

REPORT ON ANNUAL DEFENSIVE DRIVING
PERFORMANCE FOR DRIVER UNDER ARTICLE 19-A

www.nysdmv.com

DS-873 (8/09)

SECTION 1 - DRIVER INFORMATION
Driver’s Last Name

Street Address

Street Address City State Zip Code

City State Zip Code

Class of Driver’s License Endorsements Restrictions Expiration DateClient/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

State

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)

SECTION 2 - CARRIER INFORMATION

SECTION 4 - OBSERVATION  (may be conducted inside or outside the vehicle)    Observation Conducted:  � Inside   � Outside

SECTION 5 - DRIVER ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

__________________________________________________     _______________   
(Driver Signature) (Date)

Type of Vehicle Adult Seating Capacity

SECTION 3 - VEHICLE INFORMATION

GVWR Vehicle Plate Number State

Satisfactory        Unsatisfactory

1. Observation ........................................ � �
2. Traffic Lane Use

(include center line violation) ............ � �
3. Speed.................................................. � �
4. Properly Signals Intention .................. � �
5. Turning ................................................ � �
6. Vehicle Control .................................... � �

Satisfactory       Unsatisfactory

7. Obeys Traffic Signs, Signals 

and Road Hazard Signs...................... � �

8. Observes Proper Following Distance.. � �
9. Procedures for Receiving and

Discharging Passengers .................... � �

10. Traffic Interaction ................................ � �

INSTRUCTIONS TO CERTIFIED EXAMINER:
� Regular observation of a driver’s defensive driving performance must be conducted while the driver is operating the vehicle with passengers.

� This observation shall NOT be conducted on the same day as the biennial behind-the-wheel road test.

� Discuss performance with driver, complete rating, driver acknowledgement, and examiner certification.

Comments: (required if Unsatisfactory checked above) ____________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

�

Certified Examiner’s Name

Certificate Number Certification Class Expiration DateEndorsements Restrictions

Certified Examiner’s Signature

�

I certify that the above report is, to the best of my knowledge, true and correct,

that I personally observed the above driver’s defensive driving performance, and

that I currently hold a valid examiner certification as required in accordance with

Article 19-A of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law.

Client/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

SECTION 6 - EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION

Date of Observation

Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different) Federal ID Number 19-A Business ID Number

SAMPLE



EXAMINATION TO DETERMINE PHYSICAL CONDITION 

OF DRIVER UNDER ARTICLE 19-A

Form DS-874

Section 1 - DRIVER/CARRIER INFORMATION must show driver's:

⇒ Full name

⇒ Date of birth

⇒ Age

⇒ Sex

⇒ Address (street, city, state and Zip)

⇒ Client Identification number (CID - often 

referred to as ‘license number’) 

⇒ State (that issued current License) 

Section 2 - HEALTH HISTORY must show:

⇒ Either "Yes" or "No" checked for each item listed

⇒ If any are marked "Yes" provide details on the line provided (if more space is needed, 

use form DS-874C

⇒ List all medications used regularly or recently (if more space is needed, use form 

DS-874 C)

⇒ Driver’s Signature

⇒ Medical Examiner’s comments

Section 3 - VISION must show:

⇒ Visual Acuity  (Snellen – in each eye)

⇒ Field of vision in degrees for Left and Right eyes

⇒ Color Perception Test acceptable (“Yes” or “No”)

⇒ Corrective lens used to obtain Visual Acuity

reading (“Yes” or “No”)

⇒ Monocular Vision (“Yes” or “No”)

15

⇒ Class of Driver License

⇒ Endorsements on Driver License

⇒ Restrictions on Driver License

⇒ Expiration of Driver License

⇒ Carrier name or “Doing Business As”

(DBA name)

⇒ Legal Name of Carrier, if different

⇒ Carrier’s 19-A Business ID Number

⇒ Date of Examination

⇒ Name of eye doctor

⇒ Telephone number of eye doctor

⇒ (Medical) License Number and 

state of issue of eye doctor

⇒ Signature of eye doctor

19-A CARRIERS MAY USE EITHER THE CURRENT DMV FORM DS-874 
OR THE CURRENT FEDERAL FORM 649-F

To ensure the form used is current, and reflects any changes or updates to the 
requirements, it is strongly recommended that the most current form 

(either DMV or FMCSA) be downloaded at the time of the physical.
www.dmv.ny.gov   or www.fmcsa.dot.gov



Section 4 - BLOOD PRESSURE/PULSE RATE must show:

⇒ Blood pressure reading (taken twice)

⇒ Pulse Rate type (“Regular” or “Irregular”)

⇒ Pulse rate

⇒ Date of Examination

(At the top of page 2, there is a space for the driver’s name and Client ID/license number - 

this is helpful if the pages get separated.)

Section 5 - HEARING must show:

⇒ If hearing aid was used in test 

⇒ If hearing aid was required to meet the standard

⇒ Distance, in feet, from where forced whisper can first be heard (Right and Left ear)

⇒ Audiometer: Record hearing loss, in decibels, for Right and Left ear

Section 6 - LABORATORY AND OTHER TEST FINDINGS must show:

⇒ Urinalysis findings: specific gravity (Sp. Gr.), protein, blood, sugar

⇒ Other test results

Section 7 – PHYSICAL EXAMINATION must show:

⇒ Height (ins.)

⇒ Weight (lbs.)

⇒ Either “Yes” or “No” checked for each “Body System” listed

⇒ Medical Examiner’s comments

Section 8 - MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION must show:

⇒ Certification type: “New/Initial,” “Recertification,” or “Follow-Up”

⇒ Examiner’s determination of qualification

⇒ Restrictions and/or Follow-up

⇒ Examiner’s remarks

⇒ Examiner’s name (printed)

⇒ Examiner’s title

⇒ Examiner’s signature

⇒ Examiner’s address

⇒ Examiner’s license/certificate no.

⇒ Examiner’s license/certificate issuing state

⇒ Supervising Physician’s name (printed)

⇒ Supervising Physician’s signature

⇒ Supervising Physician’s license/certificate no.

⇒ Supervising Physician’s license/certificate issuing state

INCOMPLETE PHYSICALS ARE THE MOST COMMON REASON FOR DRIVER DISQUALIFICATION.

The Carrier is ultimately responsible to verify that the form is correctly filled out.

16
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PAGE 1 OF 2

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

MEDICAL EXAMINATION REPORT OF DRIVER UNDER ARTICLE 19-A

INSTRUCTIONS TO MEDICAL EXAMINER: The complete standards and instructions for conducting this examination are found in Section 6.10 of the Commissioner’s

Regulations, 15NYCRR6, and can be found at http://www.dmv.ny.gov/art19.htm. They are also available from the driver’s carrier named below or from the Bus Driver Unit. For

New/Initial Examinations and Recertification–review/complete ALL items on the form and sign where indicated on last page. For Follow-up Examinations–complete

ONLY those items which require follow-up information and/or evaluation from a prior examination.  Sign the form where indicated. If additional space is required for further

comments and information, use form DS-874C, and attach it to this form.

DRIVER/CARRIER INFORMATION (to be completed by the driver and/or driver’s carrier)

HEALTH HISTORY (to be completed by the driver and reviewed by the medical examiner)

Driver’s Last Name

Street Address

Client/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

State Class of Driver’s License Endorsements Restrictions Expiration Date

(Driver’s Signature) (Date)

City State Zip Code

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year) Age Sex

� Male � Female

I certify that the above information  and any other information on any accompanying DS-874C, if used, is complete and true. I understand that
inaccurate, false or missing information may invalidate this examination.

DS-874 (8/10)

For any YES answer, the driver should indicate the condition, onset date, diagnosis, treating medical examiner’s name and address, and any current
conditions or comments here: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Medical Examiner’s Comments:

�

1

2

Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different) 19-A Business ID Number

Yes  No Yes  No Yes  No

� � Any illness or injury in the last 5 years?

� � Head/Brain injuries, disorders or illnesses

� � Seizures, epilepsy

� � Eye disorders or impaired vision (except corrective lenses)

� � Ear disorders, loss of hearing or balance

� � Heart disease or heart attack; other cardiovascular condition

� � Heart surgery (valve replacement/bypass, angioplasty, pacemaker)

� � High blood pressure

� � Muscular disease

� � Shortness of breath 

� � Lung disease, emphysema, asthma, chronic bronchitis

� � Kidney disease, dialysis

� � Liver disease

� � Digestive problems

� � Diabetes or elevated blood sugar controlled  by

(check all that apply): � diet   � insulin   � other medication

� � Incident of hyperglycemic or hypoglycemic shock

� � Loss of, or altered consciousness

� � Fainting, dizziness

� � Nervous or psychiatric disorders, e.g., severe depression

� � Sleep disorders, pauses in breathing while asleep, daytime 

sleepiness, obstructive sleep apnea, loud snoring

� � Stroke or paralysis

� � Missing or impaired hand, arm, foot, leg, 

finger, toe 

� � Spinal injury or disease

� � Chronic low back pain

� � Regular, frequent alcohol use

� � Narcotic or habit forming drug use

� � Tuberculosis

� � Other ______________________________

___________________________________

___________________________________

www.dmv.ny.gov Date of Examination

List all medications (including over-the-counter medications) used regularly or recently.

VISION Standard:  At least 20/40 acuity (Snellen) in each eye with or without correction. At least 70 degrees peripheral in horizontal meridian

measured in each eye. The use of corrective lenses should be noted on the Medical Examiner's Certificate. 

TESTING (SECTIONS 3 THROUGH 8 TO BE COMPLETED BY THE MEDICAL EXAMINER)

3

Numerical readings must be provided.
Applicant can recognize and distinguish among traffic control signals and   

devices showing standard red, green, and amber colors.  �Yes  � No

Applicant meets visual acuity requirement only when wearing corrective

lenses.     �Yes  � No            Monocular Vision.  �Yes  � No

ACUITY UNCORRECTED  CORRECTED  FIELD OF VISION  

Right Eye 20/ 20/              Right Eye °
Left Eye 20/ 20/              Left Eye °
Both Eyes 20/ 20/

Date of Examination

(Signature of Examiner)License Number/State of Issue

Name of Ophthalmologist or Optometrist (print) Telephone Number

�

Complete next two lines only if vision testing is done by an ophthalmologist or optometrist.

1) Systolic/DiastolicBlood  Pressure
Readings

2) Systolic/Diastolic
Pulse Rate: Record Pulse Rate:______________   � Regular � Irregular

BLOOD PRESSURE/PULSE RATE   Standard:  If the blood pressure is consistently above 160/90 mm. Hg., further testing may be necessary to determine

whether the driver is qualified to operate a bus. Numerical reading must be recorded. Medical Examiner should take at least two readings to confirm BP.
4

�� Additional comments/medications on attached DS-874C

SAMPLE
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500Hz      1000 Hz    2000 Hz

Average: Average:

Urinalysis is required. Protein, blood or sugar in the urine may be an indication for further testing to rule out any

underlying medical problem. Other Testing (Describe and record):

Standard:  a) Must first perceive forced whispered voice > 5 ft., with or without hearing aid, or b) average hearing loss in better ear < 40 dB  

� Check if hearing aid used for tests.    � Check if hearing aid required to meet standard. 

a) Record distance in feet from individual at which forced 

whispered voice can first be heard.

Right ear                    \Feet Left ear                    \Feet

b) If audiometer is used, record hearing loss in decibels.(acc. to ANSI Z24.5-1951)

500Hz      1000 Hz    2000 Hz

Right Ear Left Ear

URINE SPECIMEN

SP. GR        PROTEIN      BLOOD     SUGAR

OR

DS-874 (8/10)

HEARING5

LABORATORY AND OTHER TEST FINDINGS -6

PAGE 2 OF 2

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION (to be completed by the medical examiner) -7

BODY SYSTEM      CHECK FOR:                                                           Yes* No   
1. General appearance Marked overweight, tremor, signs of alcoholism, 

problem drinking, or drug abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

2. Eyes     Pupillary equality, reaction to light accommodation, ocular 

motility, ocular muscle imbalance extraocular movement, 

nystagmus, exophthalmos. Ask about retinopathy, cataracts, 

aphakia, glaucoma, macular degeneration and refer to a 

specialist if appropriate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

3. Ears      Scarring of tympanic membrane, occlusion of external canal, 

perforated eardrums . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

4. Mouth and Throat   Irremediable deformities likely to interfere with breathing or 

swallowing. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

5. Heart   Murmurs, extra sounds, enlarged heart, pacemaker, 

implantable defibrillator. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

6. Lungs and chest, 

not including 

breast examination 

BODY SYSTEM     CHECK FOR:                                                     Yes* No
7. Abdomen and Viscera Enlarged liver, enlarged spleen, masses, bruits, hernia, 

significant abdominal wall muscle weakness . . . . . . . . . . . � �

8. Vascular System  Abnormal pulse and amplitude, carotid or arterial bruits,
varicose veins . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

9. Genito-urinary System Hernias. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

10. Extremities- Limb 

impaired. 

11. Spine, other Previous surgery, deformities, limitation of motion,

musculoskeletal tenderness . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

12. Neurological Impaired equilibrium, coordination or speech pattern; 

asymmetric deep tendon reflexes, sensory or positional 

abnormalities, abnormal patellar and Babinski reflexes, ataxia. � �

Abnormal chest wall expansion, abnormal respiratory rate, 

abnormal breath sounds including wheezes or alveolar rales,

impaired respiratory function, cyanosis. Abnormal findings 

on physical exam may require further testing such as 

pulmonary tests and/ or xray of chest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

Loss or impairment of leg, foot, toe, arm, hand, finger, 

perceptible limp, deformities, atrophy, weakness, 

paralysis, clubbing, edema, hypotonia. Insufficient 

grasp and prehension in upper limb to maintain steering 

wheel grip. Insufficient mobility and strength in lower 

limb to operate pedals properly. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

* MEDICAL EXAMINER’S COMMENTS:

The presence of a certain condition may not necessarily disqualify a driver, particularly if the condition is controlled adequately, is not likely to worsen or is readily amenable to

treatment. Even if a condition does not disqualify a driver, the medical examiner may consider deferring the driver temporarily.  Also, the driver should be advised to take the

necessary steps to correct the condition as soon as possible particularly if the condition, if neglected, could result in more serious illness that might affect driving. 

Check YES if there are any abnormalities. Check NO if the body system is normal.  Discuss any YES answers in detail in the space below, and indicate whether it would affect

the driver's ability to operate a commercial motor vehicle safely. Enter applicable item number before each comment. If organic disease is present, note that it has been

compensated for. 

Height __________ (in.)       Weight __________ (lbs.)

MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION:8 � New/Initial Certification � Recertification � Follow-Up 

� Qualified only when wearing corrective/contact lenses.

� Qualified - Certification required every six months for diabetic condition.

� Qualified only when wearing a hearing aid.

� Qualified only by use of prosthetic devices or equipment modifications.

Description/Type: _____________________________________________

� Qualified, other: _______________________________________________

I certify that I have examined (Print Driver’s Full Name)__________________________________________________________ in accordance with the Commissioner’s

Regulations and with knowledge of the driver’s duties. In accordance with Commissioner’s Regulation 6.10, I find:

� the person named above is physically or medically qualified.

� the person named above IS NOT physically or medically qualified because____________________________________________________________

� the person named above is physically or medically qualified with Restrictions and/or Follow-up as detailed below:

REMARKS:

Print name and check title of:

� Examining Physician

�Nurse Practitioner

� Physician Assistant*
�Advanced Practice Nurse*

(who is not a Nurse Practitioner)

Signature of Examiner:

Address of Examiner:

Date:

License or Certificate No./Issuing State

�}

Driver’s License/Client ID #_________________________Driver’s Name:  Last _________________________________________ First __________________________ MI _____

* If the examination is conducted by a Physician Assistant or an Advanced Practice Nurse, who is not a Nurse Practitioner, the Supervising Physician must certify as follows:

I certify that the individual who conducted the above examination was acting under my direction and supervision and, if applicable,  in accordance 

with a written practice or protocol agreement.

(Name of Supervising Physician)

Print

(Signature of Supervising Physician)

THE CARRIER MUST KEEP THE ORIGINAL EXAMINATION REPORT (NOT A PHOTOCOPY) IN THE EMPLOYEE’S 19-A FILE

ANY PHOTOCOPIES MUST IDENTIFY THE LOCATION OF THE ORIGINAL

License or Certificate No./Issuing State

�

�� Additional comments on attached DS-874C.

�� Additional comments on attached DS-874C.SAMPLE



SUPPLEMENT TO: Medical Examination of Driver Report Under Article 19-A

Form DS-874C

This form is to be used ONLY as a supplement to the Medical Examination form (DS-874), and 

should be attached to that form when completed.

This form (DS-874C) is not required to be used, but if additional space is needed by the examining

medical staff or the driver being examined, this is the proper form to be used.

If this form is used, the following items are required:

⇒ Driver’s Last Name

⇒ Driver’s First name

⇒ Driver’s Middle Initial (M.I.)

⇒ Driver’s Client ID #

⇒ Date

The following sections are used as needed:

HEALTH HISTORY

This is for additional driver and/or medical examiner comments and information continued from 

Section 2 on the Medical Examination form (DS-874).

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 

This is for additional comments and information continued from Section 7 on the Medical 

Examination form (DS-874).

MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION & REMARKS 

This is for additional remarks and information continued from Section 8 on the Medical 

Examination form (DS-874).

When used, the DS-874 C form MUST BE ATTACHED to the completed form DS-874, Medical 
Examination Report of Driver Under Article 19-A.

The DS-874C form, by itself, is NOT a valid Medical Report.
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New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

SUPPLEMENT TO: Medical Examination of Driver Report Under Article 19-A

This form is to be used ONLY as a supplement to the Medical Examination form (DS-874), and should be attached to that form

when completed. This form (DS-874C) is not required to be used, but if additional space is needed by the examining medical

staff or the driver being examined, this is the proper form to be used.

HEALTH HISTORY (additional driver and/or medical examiner comments and information)

DS-874C (4/10)

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION (additional comments)

MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION  & REMARKS (additional remarks)

When used, this form MUST BE ATTACHED to the completed form DS-874, Medical Examination Report of Driver Under Article 19-A. 

This form, by itself is NOT a valid Medical Report.
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Driver Last Name Driver First Name M.I. Client ID # Date
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Medical Examination Report 

FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER FITNESS DETERMINATION

Form 649-F

Can be used in place of the DS-874 “EXAMINATION TO DETERMINE PHYSICAL

CONDITION OF DRIVER UNDER ARTICLE 19-A” 

19-A CARRIERS MAY USE EITHER THE CURRENT DMV FORM DS-874 
OR THE CURRENT FEDERAL FORM 649-F

To ensure the form used is current, and reflects any changes or updates to the requirements, 
it is strongly recommended that the most current form (either DMV or FMCSA)

be downloaded at the time of the physical.
www.dmv.ny.gov   or www.fmcsa.dot.gov

The 649-F provides for the medical examiner to show the same information as required on the 
DS-874 (but in a different format).  The requirements are the same, with the exception of the Blood 
Pressure and Diabetes.

The 649-F is made up of 9 (8½” by 11”) pages, and includes 5 pages that describe the Physical 
Qualifications for Drivers.  The form used may be in either a two-side format, or a 9 page single-
sided format. However, the completed form for the driver’s file must be the original, not a photocopy.

NOTE:  The only page that may not be an original is the Medical Examiner’s Certificate.  The 
driver is required to carry the original to be produced upon demand by law enforcement or DOT.  
Therefore, a photocopy of this page only may be kept in the driver’s file.

PAGE 1:

Section 1 (Driver Information) must show driver’s:

⇒ Full name (Last, First, MI)

⇒ Social Security Number

⇒ Birth date (M/D/Y)

⇒ Age

⇒ Sex

⇒ New Certification/ Recertification/ Follow-up

⇒ Date of Exam

⇒ Street address

⇒ City / State / Zip Code

⇒ Work and home telephone number(s)

⇒ Driver License Number

⇒ License Class

⇒ State of issue

Section 2 (Health History) must show:

⇒ Either “Yes” or “No” checked for each item listed

⇒ If any are marked “Yes” explain in Remarks section on same page

Driver must sign and date form on this page, affirming that the information provided is accurate.
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PAGE 2:

Driver’s Name (Last, First, Middle) must be completed in the space provided at the top of the page.

TESTING (Sections 3 through 7 are completed by the Medical Examiner)

Section 3 (Vision) must show numerical readings for each eye:

⇒ Visual Acuity Uncorrected

⇒ Visual Acuity Corrected

⇒ Horizontal Field of Vision

The boxes must be checked stating 

⇒ Applicant can recognize and distinguish traffic control signals and devices showing standard 

red, green and amber colors,

⇒ Applicant meets visual acuity requirement only when wearing corrective lenses,

⇒ Monocular Vision.  NOTE:  19-A drivers are required to have 20/40 or better in each eye.  

Monocular vision would disqualify the driver medically from operating a 19-A vehicle.

If the Vision Testing is done by an ophthalmologist or optometrist, the identifying information must

be provided as directed on the form.

Section 4 (Hearing) must be completed as required on the form.  Please note that numerical 

readings are required – “OK” or “Normal” is not acceptable.

Section 5 (Blood Pressure / Pulse Rate) must include numerical readings as noted on the form.  

Blood pressure follow-ups required by the Medical Examiner must be performed and documented 

for the driver to remain medically qualified.

Section 6 (Laboratory and Other Test Findings) must be documented by numerical readings as 

noted on the form.

PAGE 3:

Driver’s Name (Last, First, Middle) must be completed in the space provided at the top of the page.

Driver’s Height (in inches) and Weight (in pounds) must be included.

Section 7 (Physical Examination) The Medical Examiner must check YES or NO for each Body 

System shown on the form.  Any Body System marked YES requires comments included in the 

COMMENTS section on the same page.

Certification Status must be marked, including all applicable restrictions and/or exemptions.

Medical Examiner’s information must be shown legibly on the form.  NOTE:  For Article 19-A

compliance, the requirements for who can perform and sign off on the physical are the same as 

with the DS-874.

If the exam is conducted by a medical examiner other than a licensed doctor of medicine or 

osteopathy, or a nurse practitioner, the medical must be approved by and signed by a supervising or

collaborating physician.

22



MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATE:

The original Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be carried by the driver when operating a 

commercial vehicle; therefore, this is the only page that can be a photocopy.  All other pages must 

be originals, with signatures in ink.

INCOMPLETE PHYSICALS ARE THE MOST COMMON REASON FOR DRIVER DISQUALIFICATION

The Carrier is ultimately responsible to verify that the form is correctly filled out before the 

form is added to the driver’s file.
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BIENNIAL BEHIND THE WHEEL ROAD TEST
UNDER ARTICLE 19-A VEHICLE AND TRAFFIC LAW

Form DS-875

The Biennial Behind The Wheel Road Test may not be conducted on the same day as the Annual Defensive
Driving Observation (DS-873).

The form must be complete and include:

Driver Information

⇒ Driver's full name

⇒ Date of birth

⇒ Complete address

⇒ Client/license ID number (from driver license)

⇒ Class of driver license (including all endorsements and restrictions)

⇒ Expiration date

⇒ Driver's signature

Carrier Information

⇒ Name of carrier

⇒ Federal ID number

⇒ 19-A business ID number

⇒ Address of carrier

Vehicle Information must show:

⇒ Type of vehicle (bus, van, ambulette, etc.)

⇒ Adult seating capacity

⇒ GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

⇒ Vehicle plate number

⇒ State of registration

Examiner’s ___________________

⇒ Scoring (total point value and indicate if driver is Disqualified)

⇒ Results

� Qualified

� Disqualified
⇒ Certified Examiner's comments

⇒ Certified Examiner's: 

� Name

� Client/license ID number 

� Certification number

� Certification class

� Endorsements and restrictions

� Expiration date

� Signature

� Date of test

� Comments on reverse, if any

33



34

CARRIER INFORMATION

5. SIMULATED PROCEDURES FOR RECEIVING/

DISCHARGING PASSENGERS

A. Failed to use caution at approaching/departing, 
receiving/discharging points DQ

B. Failed to properly activate warning lights/devices
(where applicable) DQ

C. Lacked knowledge of proper crossing procedures 

as required by NYS Education Department 
(where applicable) DQ

D. Failed to observe pedestrians/passengers or other 

hazards at receiving and discharge points DQ

4. PARKING AND BACKING

A. Failed to leave the vehicle to check rear before
backing (no observer) 10

B. Failed to observe (backing) DQ

C. Unable to park DQ

D. Failed to properly position the vehicle 5

E. Stopped too far away from, or hit, curb 5

F. Excessive maneuvers in parking 5

2. DEPARTING

A. Failed to signal 5

B. Failed to observe 10

C. Failed to use caution 10

3. EN-ROUTE

A. Failed to properly signal 5

B. Failed to observe 10

C. Failed to demonstrate proper judgment approaching/at
intersection; speed, turning, stopping, observing, etc. 10

D. Failed to make proper lane changes; signals ______, 
observes _______, procedure _______ 5

E. Failed to regularly check mirrors while driving 5

F. Failed to stop properly at RR crossing DQ

G. Failed to use proper clutch/engine control 5

H. Failed to use proper judgment in traffic 10

I. Failed to demonstrate proper following distance DQ

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ARTICLE 19-A BIENNIAL BEHIND THE WHEEL ROAD TEST
www.nysdmv.com

INSTRUCTIONS TO CERTIFIED EXAMINER

�� This test shall not be conducted on the same day as the annual defensive driving performance observation. The test should be taken without 

passengers in the vehicle. 

�� If the driver fails the test, he/she is disqualified from driving under Article 19-A. He/she may make a request to the carrier for a reexamination. 

�� Examiner will circle the point value of those items not properly performed. Driver is disqualified if 40 or more points are circled or, if a DISQUALIFICATION (DQ)

item is circled, or if any two 10-point items are circled.

1. PRE-TRIP TEST Point Value

A. Failed to check wheels, tires 5

B. Failed to check validation of required vehicle stickers 5

C. Failed to check lights 5

D. Failed to check windshield, wipers, horn, and steering 5

E. Failed to check emergency equipment: 
fire extinguisher, and emergency reflectors 5

F. Failed to check seats and restraints when equipped. 5

G. Failed to check passenger entry and emergency exits 5

H. Failed to check all gauges, heater, and defroster 5

I. Failed to check all mirrors and adjust as needed 5

J. Failed to perform static brake check 5

K. Failed to properly use seat belt 5

L. Failed to perform 50 ft. brake test 10

EN-ROUTE (Continued)                                                            Point Value

J. Failed to use proper speed - impedes traffic 5

K. Failed to use proper steering control 5

L. Failed to use proper braking 5

M. Failed to use proper acceleration 5

N. Failed to use proper speed for conditions DQ

O. Failed to anticipate and/or identify hazards 5

P. Failed to yield right-of-way DQ

Q. Failed to use proper lane/s 10

R. Failed to properly use transmission 5

S. Failed to observe traffic control devices DQ

SCORING:  Total Points Circled Above ______   Disqualification (DQ) Circled Above  � YES   � NO

Two 10-point items Circled Above    � YES   � NO

CERTIFIED EXAMINER’S COMMENTS: (write or type on reverse side)

RESULTS:� QUALIFIED

� DISQUALIFIED

Certified Examiner’s Name

Certificate Number Certification Class Expiration Date

DS-875 (3/09)

Endorsements Restrictions

Certified Examiner’s Signature

�

DRIVER INFORMATION
Driver’s Last Name

Street Address

Type of Vehicle Adult Seating Capacity GVWR Vehicle Plate Number State

City State

State

Zip Code

Class of Driver’s License Endorsements Restrictions Expiration DateClient/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

Client/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

Driver Signature

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)

VEHICLE INFORMATION

EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION

Date of Test 

Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different)

Street Address City State Zip Code

Federal ID Number 19-A Business ID Number

SAMPLE



ARTICLE 19-A BIENNIAL ORAL/WRITTEN TEST
Form DS-875Q

TEST MUST BE ADMINISTERED AND CORRECTED BY A CERTIFIED EXAMINER

Actual Written Test pages (with questions driver must answer) must be kept in the driver's file.

Each page must show:

⇒ Driver's name printed

⇒ Driver's signature

⇒ Date of test

⇒ Certified Examiner's initials
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DS-875Q (6/08)

INTRODUCTION:

� This examination is required under Section 6.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations. It will be 

conducted as an open-book test at the carrier’s place of business.

� You must answer 20 questions: 15 in Section A, and 5 in Section B.

� The certified examiner will tell you which questions you must answer from Section A and 

Section B. 

� Each question is worth 5 points. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 12 out of 15 

questions in Section A, and at least 4 out of 5 questions in Section B, for a total score of 80. If 

you fail, you are disqualified from driving under Article 19-A. You may ask your carrier to let

you take the examination again.

INSTRUCTIONS TO DRIVER:

1. Before beginning the exam, print and sign your name and enter the date at the top of each page 

of these question/answer sheets.

2. Listen carefully to the examiner, and circle the number of each of the questions you have

to answer. 

3. Read each of the questions you have to answer, and circle the selection (a, b, c or d) that you

think best answers the question.

4. While taking this examination, you are permitted to refer to Part 6 of the Commissioner’s

Regulations, the New York State Commercial Driver’s Manual, and the New York State 

Department of Motor Vehicles Driver’s Manual.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ARTICLE 19-A BIENNIAL ORAL/

WRITTEN EXAMINATION

PAGE 1 OF 14

SAMPLE
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1. The most important reason for being alert to a hazard is so:

a. Law enforcement personnel can be called.
b. You will have time to plan your escape if the hazard becomes an emergency.
c. You can help impaired drivers.
d. Accident reports will be accurate.

2. You are driving at 50 MPH. Driving conditions are ideal (dry pavement, good visibility). What is the least amount 
of space that you should keep in front of your vehicle to be safe?

a. 2 seconds
b. 3 seconds
c. 4 seconds
d. 5 seconds

3. You are driving a new bus with a manual transmission. What gear will you probably have to use on a long, 
steep downhill grade?

a. A higher gear than you would use to climb the hill.
b. None: Newer buses can coast down hills.
c. The same gear that you would use to climb the hill.
d. A lower gear than you would use to climb the hill.

4. You are driving a vehicle that could safely be driven at 55 MPH on an open road. But traffic is now heavy, moving 
at 35 MPH though the speed limit is 55. The safest speed for your vehicle is most likely:

a. 25 MPH
b. 35 MPH
c. 45 MPH
d. 55 MPH

5. While driving, you see a small (1 foot square) cardboard box ahead in your lane. You should:

a. Brake hard to avoid hitting it.
b. Hit it with your vehicle to knock it off the road.
c. Stop and direct traffic around it.
d. Steer around it without making a sudden or unsafe move.

6. Which of these statements is a good rule to follow when backing up your vehicle?

a. Use a helper whenever possible.
b. Rely on mirrors for all information on your path of travel.
c. Use the highest reverse gear while backing.
d. Back and turn toward the right side.

7. Immediately after a long, hot drive, you check air pressure in a tire and it is 5 lb. high. You should:

a. Let out 5 lb. of air from the tire.
b. Before the next trip, set the cold air pressure 5 lb. below the recommended level.
c. Recheck the pressure after the tire cools.
d. When you resume your trip, drive slower.

Driver Name (print) ________________________________________________________________________________

Driver Signature ________________________________________________     Date:____________________________

Certified Examiner Initial Here � 

PAGE 2 OF 14DS-875Q (6/08)

SECTION A

SAMPLE
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8. Which of these items is checked in a pre-trip inspection?

a. Whether all vehicle lights are working and are clean.
b. Wiper blades.
c. Emergency exits.
d. All of the above.

9. Where or when should you test the stopping action of your service brakes?

a. In a parking lot when the vehicle is not moving.
b. When moving at 5 MPH.
c. At a special Brake Testing Center only.
d. When the vehicle is going downhill without a load.

10. Which of these can cause a vehicle to skid?

a. Turning too sharply.
b. Overacceleration.
c. Not enough weight on the front axle.
d. All of the above.

11. What is counter steering?

a. Turning the wheel back in the other direction after steering to avoid a traffic emergency.
b. Turning the steering wheel counterclockwise.
c. Steering in the opposite direction from what other drivers expect you to do.
d. Using the steering axle brakes to prevent oversteering.

12. High beams should be:

a. Used when it is safe and legal to do so.
b. Dimmed at the time that you get within 100 feet of another vehicle.
c. Turned on when an oncoming driver does not dim his/her lights.
d. All of the above.

13. Which of these statements about marking a stopped vehicle is true?

a. If a hill or curve keeps drivers behind you from seeing the vehicle within 500 feet, the rear reflective triangle 
should be moved back down the road to give adequate warning.

b. The vehicle’s tail lights should be kept on to warn other drivers.
c. You do not need to put out reflective triangles unless the vehicle will be stopped for 30 minutes or more.
d. All of the above are true.

14. You are driving in the right lane of a four-lane, undivided road. You come over a hill and find a car stopped ahead 
in your lane. You do not have room to stop, and the hill blocks your view to the rear. The shoulder is clear. Which of
these is most likely the best action to take?

a. Steer to the right.
b. Use hard braking and brace for collision.
c. Steer into the left lane.
d. Steer into the oncoming lanes.

Driver Name (print) ________________________________________________________________________________

Driver Signature ________________________________________________     Date:____________________________

Certified Examiner Initial Here  � 

PAGE 3 OF 14 DS-875Q (6/08)
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15. You can see a marking on a vehicle ahead of you. The marking is a red triangle with an orange center. What does the
marking mean?

a. It is being driven by a student driver.
b. It may be a slow-moving vehicle.
c. The vehicle is hauling hazardous materials.
d. It is a law enforcement vehicle.

16. When driving through work zones, you should:

a. Drive slowly.
b. Use your brake lights to warn drivers behind you.
c. Turn on your flashers.
d. Do all of the above.

17. You should stop driving:

a. After 5 hours.
b. After 7 hours.
c. After 9 hours.
d. Whenever you become sleepy.

18. Which of these statements about drugs is true?

a. A driver can use any prescription drug while driving.
b. Use of drugs can lead to accidents and/or arrest.
c. Amphetamines (“pep pills” or “bennies”) can be used to help the driver stay alert.
d. All of the above.

19. Which of these statements about using turn signals is true?

a. You should use your turn signals to mark your vehicle when it is pulled off on the side of the road.
b. When turning, you should cancel the signal before you make the turn.
c. You do not need to use a signal when changing lanes in traffic on a four-lane highway.
d. When turning, you should signal early.

20. You must exit a highway using an off-ramp that curves downhill. You should:

a. Come to a full stop at the top of the ramp.
b. Wait until you are in the curve before downshifting.
c. Slow down to a safe speed before the curve.
d. Slow down to the posted speed limit for the off-ramp.

21. You are driving a heavy bus with a manual transmission. You have to stop the vehicle on the shoulder while driving 
on an uphill grade. Which of these is a good rule to follow when putting it back in motion up the grade?

a. Let the vehicle roll straight backwards a few feet before you engage the clutch.
b. Let the vehicle roll backwards a few feet before you engage the clutch, but turn the wheel so that the back moves 

away from the roadway.
c. Keep the clutch slipping while slowly accelerating.
d. Use the parking brake to hold the vehicle until the clutch engages.

Driver Name (print) ________________________________________________________________________________

Driver Signature ________________________________________________     Date:____________________________

Certified Examiner Initial Here  �

PAGE 4 OF 14DS-875Q (6/08)
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22. As the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) goes up, what happens?

a. Judgment and self-control are affected.
b. The drinker can sober up in less time.
c. The drinker more clearly sees how alcohol is affecting him/her.
d. The effects of alcohol decrease.

23. When looking ahead of your vehicle while driving, you should look:

a. To the right side of the road.
b. To the left side of the road.
c. Back and forth, near and far.
d. Straight ahead at all times.

24. When the roads are slippery, you should:

a. Make turns as carefully as possible.
b. Stop and test the traction while going up hills.
c. Decrease the distance that you look ahead of your vehicle.
d. Drive alongside other vehicles.

25. Which of these is a good thing to remember about using mirrors?

a. You should look at a mirror for several seconds at a time.
b. Convex mirrors make things look larger and closer than they really are.
c. There are “blind spots” that your mirror cannot show you.
d. You should check your mirrors twice before making a lane change.

26. Which of these is a good thing to do when driving at night?

a. Wear sun glasses.
b. Keep your instrument lights bright.
c. Keep your speed slow enough that you can stop within the range of your headlights.
d. Look directly at oncoming headlights only briefly.

27. Which of these is a sign of tire failure?

a. Vibration.
b. A loud “bang”.
c. Steering that feels heavy.
d. All of the above.

28. Your vehicle is in a traffic emergency and may collide with another vehicle if you do not take action. Which 
statement is true?

a. Leaving the road is always more risky than hitting another vehicle.
b. Unbuckle your safety belt before impact so you will not be trapped inside your vehicle.
c. You can almost always turn to miss an obstacle more quickly than you can stop.
d. Stopping is always the safest action in a traffic emergency.

29. What should you do when your vehicle hydroplanes?

a. Accelerate slightly.
b. Counter steer hard.
c. Release the accelerator.
d. Start stab-braking.

Driver Name (print) ________________________________________________________________________________

Driver Signature ________________________________________________     Date:____________________________

Certified Examiner Initial Here  �

PAGE 5 OF 14 DS-875Q (6/08)
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30. You are testing the stopping action of service brakes on a hydraulic system. Which of these can mean there is a 
problem?

a. The brake pedal “feels” unusual.
b. The vehicle pulls to one side when the brake pedal is pressed.
c. Stopping action is delayed.
d. All of the above.

31. To avoid a crash, you had to drive onto the right shoulder. You are now driving at 40 MPH on the shoulder. What 
should you do next to move back onto the roadway?

a. Keep moving at the present speed and steer very gently back onto the roadway.
b. If the shoulder is clear, stay on it until your vehicle comes to a stop.
c. Brake hard to slow the vehicle, then steer sharply onto the roadway.
d. Steer sharply onto the roadway, then brake hard as you counter steer.

32. While driving, ice builds up on your wipers and they no longer clean the windshield. You should:

a. Keep driving and spray the windshield with washer fluid.
b. Stop safely and fix the problem.
c. Keep driving and turn the wipers off.
d. Keep driving and turn your defroster on.

33. Which of these is the most important thing to remember about emergency braking?

a. If the wheels are skidding, you cannot control the vehicle.
b. Never do it without downshifting first.
c. It helps to keep the brake linings clean.
d. Disconnecting the steering axle brakes will help keep your vehicle in a straight line during emergency braking.

34. Which of these statements about cold-weather driving is true?

a. Exhaust system leaks are less dangerous in cold weather.
b. In snowstorms, wiper blades should be adjusted so they do not make direct contact with the windshield.
c. An engine cannot overheat when the weather is very cold.
d. Windshield washer antifreeze should be used.

35. The road you are driving on becomes very slippery due to glare ice. Which of these is a good thing to do in such a 
situation?

a. Stop driving as soon as you can safely do so.
b. Downshift to stop.
c. Apply the brakes often to keep the linings dry.
d. Keep varying your speed by accelerating and braking.

36. For your safety, when setting out reflective triangles, you should:

a. Turn off your flashers.
b. Carry the triangles at your side.
c. Hold the triangles between yourself and oncoming traffic.
d. Keep them out of sight while you walk to the spot where you want to place them.
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37. Which fires can you put out with water?

a. Tire fires.
b. Gasoline/Diesel fuel fires.
c. Electrical fires.
d. All of the above.

38. Hydroplaning:

a. Is more likely if tire pressure is low.
b. Only occurs when there is a lot of water.
c. Only occurs at speeds above 50 MPH.
d. Cannot occur when driving through a puddle.

39. You should avoid driving through deep puddles or flowing water. But if you must, which of these steps can help 
keep your brakes working?

a. Driving through quickly.
b. Gently applying pressure on the brakes while driving through the water.
c. Applying hard pressure on both the brake pedal and accelerator after coming out of the water.
d. Turning on your brake heaters.

40. You must park on the side of a level, straight, two-lane road. Where should you place the reflective triangles?

a. One within 10 feet of the front of the vehicle, one about 200 feet to the front, and one about 100 feet to the rear.
b. One within 10 feet of the rear of the vehicle, one about 100 feet to the rear, and one about 200 feet to the rear.
c. One within 10 feet to the rear of the vehicle, one about 100 feet to the rear, and one about 100 feet to the front of 

the vehicle.
d. One about 50 feet to the rear of the vehicle, one about 100 feet to the rear, and one about 100 feet to the front of 

the vehicle.

41. According to the Driver’s Manual, why should you limit the use of your horn?

a. It can startle other drivers.
b. On vehicles with air brakes, it can use air pressure that may be needed to stop.
c. The horn is not a good way to let others know you are there.
d. You should keep both hands tightly gripping the steering wheel at all times.

42. Which of these is a proper use of vehicle lights?

a. Turning on your headlights during the day when visibility is reduced due to rain or snow.
b. Flashing your brake lights to warn someone behind you that you are going to stop on the road.
c. Flashing your brake lights to warn someone behind you of a hazard that will require slowing down.
d. All of the above.

43. Your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is determined by which of the following:

a. Your weight.
b. The amount of alcohol you drink.
c. How fast you drink.
d. All of the above.
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44. What is the proper way to hold a steering wheel?

a. With both hands close together, near the bottom of the wheel.
b. With both hands, on opposite sides of the wheel.
c. With one hand.
d. With both hands close together, near the top of the steering wheel.

45. Which of these statements about speed management is true?

a. When the road is slippery, it will take longer to stop and it will be harder to turn without skidding.
b. On a wet road, you should reduce your speed by about one-third.
c. On packed snow, you should reduce your speed by one-half.
d. All of the above.

46. On which fires can you use the “A:B:C” fire extinguisher?

a. Electrical fires.
b. Burning liquids.
c. Burning cloth.
d. All of the above.

47. When should you wear seat belts?

a. Only when traveling on a highway.
b. Only when engaged in interstate commerce.
c. Any time you are in a moving vehicle.
d. Only in states where it is required by law.

48. Which of these is a good thing to remember when crossing or entering traffic with a heavy vehicle?

a. The heavier your load, the smaller the gap needed to cross traffic.
b. Because heavy vehicles are easy to see, you can count on other drivers to move out of your way or slow down for you.
c. Heavy vehicles need larger gaps in traffic than cars.
d. The best way to cross traffic is to pull the vehicle part of the way across the road and block one lane while 

waiting for the other lane to clear.

49. The Driver’s Manual suggests several things to do when you pass a vehicle. Which of these is not one of them?

a. Assume the other driver does not see you.
b. Lightly tap your horn.
c. At night, turn on your high beams before you start to pass, and leave them on until you have completely passed 

the vehicle.
d. Drive carefully to avoid a crash.

50. Which of these statements about drinking alcohol is true?

a. Not everyone who drinks is affected by alcohol.
b. Coffee and fresh air will help a drinker sober up.
c. A few beers have the same effect on driving as a few shots of whiskey or a few glasses of wine.
d. All of the above are true.
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51. You are driving a vehicle at 55 MPH on dry pavement. About how much total stopping distance will you need to 
bring it to a stop?

a. The length of a football field.
b. The length of the vehicle.
c. Twice the length of the vehicle.
d. Half the length of a football field.

52. Which of these statements about managing space is true?

a. Many accidents are caused by drivers keeping too much space in front of their vehicles.
b. Smaller vehicles require more space to stop than larger ones.
c. When the road is slippery, you need much more space to stop.
d. All of the above are true.

53. Every time you leave your vehicle, you should:

a. Turn the steering wheel as far to the left as you can.
b. Leave it in gear (if it has a manual transmission).
c. Apply the parking brake.
d. Do all of the above.

54. Brake “fade”:

a. Is a problem that only occurs with drum brakes.
b. Can be caused by the brakes getting very hot.
c. Can be corrected by letting up on the brakes for 1-2 seconds and then reapplying them.
d. All of the above.
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1. Which of these statements about managing space to the sides of your bus is true?

a. You should avoid traveling next to others when possible.
b. You should keep your bus to the right side of your lane.
c. The lane position of buses is not affected by wind.
d. All of the above are true.

2. Which of these should be considered a hazard?

a. An ice cream truck.
b. A driver signaling a turn.
c. A blind intersection.
d. All of the above.

3. If your bus has an emergency exit door, it must:

a. Be free to open for fresh air.
b. Be closed when operating the bus.
c. Always have a red door.
d. Meet all of the above.

4. Which of the following types of cargo can never be carried on a bus?

a. Small arms ammunition labeled ORM-D.
b. Emergency drug shipments.
c. Irritating materials or tear gas.
d. All of the above.

5. Under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Regulations, bus drivers who 
receive notice that their license, permit, or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been suspended, revoked or 
withdrawn, must notify the motor carrier that employs them:

a. Within 5 business days of the following day they received the notice.
b. Within one week of the following day they received the notice.
c. By the end of the business day following the day they received the notice.
d. Only if it involves a drinking or drug offense or a motor vehicle accident.

6. To stop for railroad tracks, a bus driver should stop _________ to _______ feet before the nearest track.

a. 5; 20
b. 10; 35
c. 15; 50
d. 20; 65

7. You are driving on a slippery road during the day. How much space does the Driver’s Manual say you should keep 
ahead of you?

a. Allow “much more space” than needed for ideal driving conditions.
b. Add “one second to the space needed in good driving conditions”.
c. Allow “one car length for every 10 mph”.
d. Allow “no more space” than you need under ideal conditions.
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8. Which of these statements about speed management and braking is true?

a. The total stopping distance of a bus is the distance it takes to stop once the brakes are applied.
b. The posted speed limit will always allow you to stop safely.
c. Stopping time increases one second for each 10 mph over 20 mph.
d. You need about four times as much stopping distance at 40 mph as at 20 mph.

9. Which of these statements about seeing ahead is true?

a. At highway speed, you should look not more than 1/8 mile ahead.
b. Good drivers keep their attention on one place for 12 to 15 seconds at a time.
c. Many drivers do not look far enough ahead.
d. All of the above.

10. Under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Regulations, bus drivers who 
are convicted of a traffic infraction must notify their employer of the conviction:

a. Only when the traffic infraction took place while driving a bus.
b. Only when the traffic infraction took place in NY State.
c. Only if the conviction results in a suspension or revocation of the driver’s license privileges.
d. When it occurs in any vehicle, in any jurisdiction.

11. You may sometimes haul small-arms ammunition or emergency hospital supplies on a bus. The total weight of all 
such hazardous material must not be more than _________ pounds.

a. 5
b. 50
c. 500
d. 5,000

12. When you inspect your bus, make sure that:

a. Every other handhold and railing is secure.
b. Emergency exit handles have been removed.
c. Rider signaling devices are working.
d. All of the above are true.

13. Many buses have curved (convex or “spot”) mirrors. These mirrors:

a. Do not need to be checked often because they show a larger area.
b. Are against the law in some states.
c. Make things seem smaller and farther away than they really are.
d. All of the above.

14. If a rider wants to bring a car battery or a can of gasoline aboard your bus, you should:

a. Put the car battery or gasoline in the cargo compartment.
b. Not allow the rider to do it.
c. Tell the rider to sit in the rear of the bus.
d. Collect an extra fare for this type of cargo.

Driver Name (print) ________________________________________________________________________________

Driver Signature ________________________________________________     Date:____________________________

Certified Examiner Initial Here  �

PAGE 11 OF 14  DS-875Q (6/08)

SAMPLE



47

15. Under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Regulations, bus drivers who 
are convicted of a traffic infraction must notify their employer of the conviction:

a. Within one week of the date of violation.
b. Within 5 working days of the date of conviction.
c. Within 5 calendar days of the date of violation.
d. None of the above is correct.

16. Which of these statements about hazards is true?

a. If you can see any part of another vehicle, assume the driver sees you.
b. A car with out-of-state license plates is a hazard because that state may not have inspection laws.
c. Movement inside a parked car could mean that a person is about to step out of it.
d. All of the above are true.

17. If there is no traffic light or attendant, stop for a drawbridge about ______ feet from the draw.

a. 5
b. 25
c. 50
d. 100

18. Which of these will result in the best control on curves?

a. Speed up slightly before curves, then keep speed constant through the curves.
b. Slow to a safe speed before entering curves, then coast through them.
c. Brake all the way through curves.
d. Slow to a safe speed before entering curves, then accelerate slightly through the curves.

19. A bus may carry baggage and freight only if secured so:

a. The driver can move freely and easily.
b. Riders are protected from falling or shifting packages.
c. Any rider can use any door or window in an emergency.
d. All of the above are true.

20. A driver who operates a vehicle under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and who fails to notify his/her 
employer of a suspension, revocation, or withdrawal of privileges to operate a motor vehicle within the prescribed 
time frame, is subject to:

a. A minimum of a 5 working day suspension.
b. A minimum of a 10 working day suspension.
c. A suspension of 1 day for each day the driver failed to notify the employer, up to a maximum of 5 days.
d. A maximum of a 5 working day suspension.

21. You are driving at night and you must dim your headlights from high to low. What should you do with your speed?

a. Drop 5 mph until your eyes adjust.
b. Nothing: How well you see should not affect speed.
c. Slow down.
d. Speed up.
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22. It is best to wear your seat belt:

a. Only if your bus holds more than 27 people.
b. At all times.
c. Unless you will not be driving over 35 mph.
d. Only on sand, gravel, or ice-covered roads.

23. You are driving a 40 foot bus at 30 mph. The road is dry and visibility is good. You should keep a safety space in 
front of your bus that is at least ______ seconds.

a. 8
b. 7
c. 4
d. 3

24. How many folding aisle seats are allowed in a bus that is not carrying farm workers?

a. 0
b. 4
c. 6
d. 8

25. According to Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Regulations (“Special Requirements for Bus Drivers”), no person shall 
consume an intoxicating liquor, regardless of it’s alcoholic content, within _____ hours before going on duty or 
having physical control of a bus:

a. 4
b. 6
c. 8
d. 10

26. When you discharge an unruly rider, you should choose a place that is:

a. Near a police station.
b. Isolated, so he won’t bother others.
c. As safe as possible.
d. Convenient for you.

27. When should you check your mirrors for a lane change?

a. After signaling the change.
b. Right after starting the lane change.
c. After completing the lane change.
d. All of the above.

28. Buses may have recapped or regrooved tires:

a. Anywhere except on the front wheels.
b. On any or all of the wheels.
c. Only when speeds will be less than 40 mph.
d. Only on the outside duals.
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29. Which of the following lists the three types of emergency equipment that you must have on your bus?

a. Reflectors, fire extinguisher, tire repair kit.
b. Hydraulic jack, fire extinguisher, signal flares.
c. Fire extinguisher, spare electric fuses (unless equipped with circuit breakers), reflectors.
d. First aid kit, spare electric fuses (unless equipped with circuit breakers), fire extinguisher.

30. According to Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Regulations “Special Requirements for Bus Drivers”, no person shall 
consume a drug or controlled substance within _____ hours before going on duty or having physical control of a bus:

a. 24
b. 12
c. 6
d. 4

31. Your bus is disabled. The bus, with riders aboard, may be towed or pushed to a safe spot to discharge the passengers 
only if:

a. The distance is less than 1 mile.
b. Getting off the bus sooner would be unsafe.
c. A peace officer or rescue crew is present.
d. Done by a 27,000 pound GVWR or larger tow truck.

32. You should not let riders stand:

a. Between the wheel wells.
b. In front of the standee line.
c. Within two feet of an emergency exit.
d. In a space reserved for persons with disabilities.

33. If you have riders aboard, you should never fuel your bus:

a. Without a fire bottle beside you.
b. In a closed building.
c. Without attaching the grounding cable.
d. With any of the windows open.
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ARTICLE 19-A ORAL/WRITTEN EXAMINATION RESULTS
Form DS-875Y

Type of examination and date of examination must be clearly indicated.

Driver Information must be complete with:

⇒ Driver's full name

⇒ Date of birth

⇒ Complete address

⇒ Client/license ID number

⇒ State of license

⇒ Class of driver license

⇒ Endorsements, restrictions

⇒ Expiration date

⇒ Driver's signature

Carrier Information must indicate:

⇒ Name

⇒ Federal ID number

⇒ 19-A business ID number

⇒ Address

Driver Test Results must indicate:

⇒ Passed

⇒ Failed

Examiner's Certification must be complete, showing:

⇒ Certified Examiner's full name

⇒ Client/license ID number (from driver’s license)

⇒ Certificate number

⇒ Certification class

⇒ Endorsements, restrictions, expiration date

⇒ Signature of Certified Examiner

⇒ Date of examination
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New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ARTICLE 19-A ORAL/WRITTEN EXAMINATION RESULTS

I certify that I have tested the above driver in compliance with Section 6.12 and/or Section 6.15 of Part 6 of the
Commissioner’s Regulations. The employer has been notified of the results.

DS-875Y (8/09)

www.nysdmv.com

Certified Examiner’s

Signature  

Date of Examination

TYPE OF EXAMINATION

� Oral     � Written   � Re-examination

DRIVER EXAMINATION RESULTS

EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION

� Passed � Failed - Driver Disqualified

INSTRUCTIONS TO CERTIFIED EXAMINER

After administering the exam, and using the answer key provided (Form DS-875Z, “Article 19-A Written Examination

Answer Sheet”), complete this form and attach it to the driver’s completed examination.

�

DRIVER INFORMATION
Driver’s Last Name

Street Address City State Zip Code

Class of Driver’s License Endorsements Restrictions Expiration DateClient/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

Driver Signature

State

First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)

CARRIER INFORMATION
Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different)

Street Address City State Zip Code

Federal ID Number 19-A Business ID Number 

Certified Examiner’s Name

Certificate Number Certification Class Expiration DateEndorsements Restrictions

Client/License ID Number

(from Driver License)

SAMPLE



ARTICLE 19-A BUS DRIVER ADD/DROP NOTICE
Form DS-885

This form is sent by the carrier to Bus Driver Unit anytime a driver leaves the carrier’s employment, is 

rehired or reinstated or is disqualified by the carrier.  It must be received by Bus Driver Unit within 

10 days of the date the driver left the carrier’s employ, is rehired or is disqualified. A copy of this form 

must be kept in the driver's file to explain any absences or lapses in procedures.

Note:  Carriers that are using the 19-A System electronically on-line do not have to mail the original

DS-885 to the BDU. The original or copy should be retained in the driver’s Article 19-A file, with the

19-A System Driver Disconnect Receipt attached. When disqualifying a driver for a test or examination

failure, the electronic carrier must send the DS-885 and attach a copy of the failed test/examination to

the BDU.

Form must show:

⇒ Carrier information typed or printed on the top

⇒ Company Name and DBA

⇒ Company Address

⇒ Federal Identification Number

⇒ 19-A Business ID Number

⇒ Name of Carrier Representative

⇒ Signature of Carrier Representative

⇒ Date form was sent (month/day/year)

To add or re-instate a driver, carrier must complete the Column A - ADDS section.

Driver information must include:

⇒ Driver's full name (as it appears on the license)

⇒ Client ID Number (from license)

⇒ Date of Birth

⇒ State of License

⇒ Effective Date Driver Rehired/Reinstated (month/day/year)

To drop a driver, carrier must complete Column B - DROPS section.

Driver information must include:

⇒ Driver's full name (as it appears on the license)

⇒ Client ID Number (from license)

⇒ Date of Birth

⇒ State of License

⇒ Effective Date Driver Dropped

⇒ Is driver disqualified by carrier?  Y/N

⇒ If disqualified, the reason for disqualification

⇒ If a driver is being dropped and disqualified by the carrier for the driver’s failure

of the biennial road test, oral/written test or medication examination, a copy of the

failed/test/examination must be attached.
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New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ARTICLE 19-A BUS DRIVER ADD/DROP NOTICE

� Complete CARRIER INFORMATION.

� Complete COLUMN A (ADDS)  for any bus driver who is being rehired or reinstated with your company.

� Complete COLUMN B (DROPS)  for any bus driver who has left service with your company for any reason, or who is on a leave of absence
that will prevent you from keeping that driver’s 19-A records up-to-date, or who you have disqualified.

PLEASE SUBMIT THE ORIGINAL COMPLETED COPY OF THIS FORM TO: New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, Bus Driver

Unit, 6 Empire State Plaza, Rm 220C, Albany, New York 12228. In addition, you are required to keep a copy of completed form DS-885 in

your drivers’ 19-A files. 

Please type or print the following information:

DS-885 (3/09)

DRIVER’S LAST NAME

EFFECTIVE DATE DRIVER REINSTATED

FIRST M.I. DRIVER’S LAST NAME FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH

EFFECTIVE DATE OF DROP

DRIVER DISQUALIFIED

� YES  

� NO

REASON FOR DISQUALIFICATION

STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH

EFFECTIVE DATE OF DROP

DRIVER DISQUALIFIED

� YES  

� NO

REASON FOR DISQUALIFICATION

STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH

EFFECTIVE DATE OF DROP

DRIVER DISQUALIFIED

� YES  

� NO

REASON FOR DISQUALIFICATION

STATE OF 

LICENSE

www.nysdmv.com

COLUMN A - ADDS

NOTE: If you are employing a bus driver for the first time, do not use 

this form; use form DS-870,the Article 19-A Bus Driver 

Application.

COLUMN B - DROPS
NOTE: If you are dropping a driver you disqualified because the driver 

failed the 19-A biennial road test, biennial oral/written test, or 

medical examination, you must check the “YES” box in the DRIVER

DISQUALIFIED field, indicate the reason for disqualification, and 

attach a copy of the failed test or failed medical examination.

Carrier/DBA Name Legal Name (if different)

Street Address

Name of Carrier Representative Signature of Carrier Representative

�
Date

City State Zip Code

Federal ID Number 19-A Business ID Number

CARRIER INFORMATION

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME

EFFECTIVE DATE DRIVER REINSTATED

FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME

EFFECTIVE DATE DRIVER REINSTATED

FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME

EFFECTIVE DATE DRIVER REINSTATED

FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME

EFFECTIVE DATE DRIVER REINSTATED

FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH STATE OF 

LICENSE

DRIVER’S LAST NAME

EFFECTIVE DATE DRIVER REINSTATED

FIRST M.I.

CLIENT ID NUMBER  (from driver license) DATE OF BIRTH STATE OF 

LICENSE

THE BUS DRIVER UNIT MUST RECEIVE THIS FORM WITHIN 

10 DAYS OF THE EFFECTIVE DATE LISTED ABOVE. 

SAMPLE


