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Complete page 1 and page 2 of this form and sign the Affirmation section. Please print clearly.

In order to be certified, you must have a valid commercial driver license with appropriate endorsements. You must be properly licensed

in the class in which you will be testing drivers.

If your commercial driver license was issued by a state other than New York, attach a recent certified driver license abstract from the 

state that issued your license.

You must have an acceptable driving record (no more than 6 points accumulated on your record within the preceding 18-month period).

Mail this completed, signed form and required documentation to the following address:

Bus Driver Unit
NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
6 Empire State Plaza  Room 136B
Albany, NY  12228

If your application meets initial qualification standards, you will be notified by mail to contact a Motor Vehicles Testing and Investigation
Unit to schedule a Certified Examiner qualifying interview that will include a written test, a vision test, and a road test. Do not contact the
Motor Vehicles Office until you receive that notice.

INSTRUCTIONS/INFORMATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION

E-mail AddressDaytime Telephone No. 

(              )

Certification Class Requested - Check Class of vehicle in which

you will be testing.

Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

Name of Current 19-A Carrier Employer

Freelance - Occasionally DMV will get requests for the names of Certified Examiners who

are available to do independent examiner work.

Do you want to be included on such a list? o Yes o Noo Class B o Class C
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Driver’s Last Name

Street Address

City State Zip Code

Endorsements Restrictions Expiration DateID Number from Driver License State

First Name Middle Initial Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

/          /
oMale         oFemale

l

l

l

l

License Class

Article 19-A Business ID Number

County

l



EXPERIENCE

I have a minimum of 2 years experience in driver training and the evaluation of the driving ability of others. (Provide information about

your employer(s) below. Attach a separate sheet if you need more space to document your experience.)

I have a minimum of 18 months experience in the last 3 years while employed by a 19-A carrier in the operation of the type of vehicle

in which I will be testing. (Provide information about your employer(s) below. Attach a separate sheet if you need more space to document

your experience.)

AND

I hereby make application to test drivers in accordance with the mandates of Article 19-A of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law. To the

best of my knowledge, the information provided is true and correct. I understand that any false statement I make on this application is

punishable as a misdemeanor under Section 392 of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law.

çApplicant’s Signature:    ________________________________________________________  _______    Date:  ____________________

I endorse this applicant to be a Certified Examiner for my company.

Current 19-A Employer Name (please print): __________________________________________________________________________ 

Current 19-A Employer’s Signature:   ____________________________________________________  Date: _____________________ç

EDUCATION

I have successfully completed a college-level course with a minimum of 4 credit hours in driver education instruction. 

(Attach a copy of your transcript.)

I have successfully completed a DMV-approved course in driver training and traffic safety for 19-A Certified Examiners.  

(Attach a copy of your course certificate.)

In addition to the above experience, you MUST have completed one of the following courses. Check the box that applies to you.

o

o

EXCEPTION

You may be able to provide special affidavits if you do not have a minimum of 18 months experience in the last 3 years while employed by a
19-A carrier in the operation of the type of vehicle in which you will be testing. Attach documentation outlining your experience and training
and any other special circumstance which might qualify you to become a certified examiner. The Bus Driver Unit will review your
information and determine whether it is acceptable.

OR

Employer Name and Address
Dates Employed Class of 

License HeldFrom:

1.

2.

PAGE 2 OF 2

DS-876 (11/13)

Employer Name and Address
Dates Employed Class of 

License HeldFrom: To:

1.

2.

To:

AFFIRMATION

CARRIER ENDORSEMENT


	endorsement: 
	restrctions: 
	date expires: 
	applican'ts last name: 
	first name: 
	license class: 
	reset: 
	MI: 
	e-mail address: 
	Upgrade: Off
	employer name: 
	employer address: 
	employer address2: 
	From: 
	To: 
	Class Driver: 
	From2: 
	To2: 
	Class Driver2: 
	From4: 
	To4: 
	Class Driver4: 
	employer address4: 
	From5: 
	To5: 
	Class Driver5: 
	employer address5: 
	employer name2: 
	employer name4: 
	employer name5: 
	current employer name: 
	Date signature: 
	current employer's signature dated: 
	state orther than ny: 
	Yes cert: Off
	school name4: 
	education a box: Off
	street address: 
	state: 
	city: 
	zip: 
	county: 
	Area Code: 
	Tele 2: 
	Client ID: 
	ab: Off
	federal id 2: 
	Article 19A: 
	ba: Off
	dayof birth: 
	year of birth: 
	month of birth: 


