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INSTRUCTIONS TO CERTIFIED EXAMINER FOR CONDUCTING 
ARTICLE 19-A BIENNIAL ORAL/WRITTEN EXAMINATIONS 

dmv.ny.gov
 

INTRODUCTION 

This package contains the examination questions (form DS-875Q), which all drivers must answer as required by Section 6.12 of 

the Commissioner’s Regulations, and a score sheet (form DS-875Y) and answer key (form DS-875) to grade the exam. 

The exam will test a driver’s knowledge of the rules of the road, defensive driving practices, and the laws that regulate 

driving a bus in this state. The questions are based on information in the New York State Driver’s Manual (form MV-21), 

the New York State Commercial Driver’s Manual (form CDL-10), and Part 6 of the Commissioner’s Regulations. The 

carrier will give these materials to the driver prior to the exam. 

As required by Section 6.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations, only a person who has been certified by the Department 

of Motor Vehicles may give the exam. 

EXAM INSTRUCTIONS 

Allow enough time for the driver to complete the exam. 

Form DS-875Q (Article 19-A Biennial Oral/Written Examination) provides the questions for the exam. Select a total of 

20 questions as follows: 

o 15 questions from Section A, and 

o 5 questions from Section B 

Tell the driver that the exam is offered as a written test or an oral test.  Ask the driver to select one of those options. 

After the driver makes a decision, tell the driver which questions to answer and that every question must be answered. 

Tell the driver to print his or her name and the date on each page of the exam (form DS-875Q). 

When the driver has completed the exam, record the results on the score sheet (form DS-875Y). TO PASS THE TEST, 

THE DRIVER MUST CORRECTLY ANSWER: 

o AT LEAST 12 out of 15 questions in Section A and 

o AT LEAST 4 out of 5 questions in Section B. 

File the pages that were used for the exam, the score sheet, and the results in the driver’s file. 

INSTRUCTIONS ABOUT EXAM FAILURES, DISQUALIFICATION, RETESTING, AND NOTIFICATION
 

If the driver fails the exam, the Bus Driver Unit must be notified within 10 days as required by Section 6.12 of the 


Commissioner’s Regulations.  A driver who fails the exam is disqualified and cannot drive a bus to transport passengers. 


The driver may take a re-examination. If the driver fails the re-examination, the Bus Driver Unit must be notified 


within 10 days as required by Section 6.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations.  

NOTE: 	A driver remains disqualified until he or she is retested in accordance with Section 6.15 of the Commissioner’s 

Regulations and successfully passes the exam. 
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