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Your driver license/permit or privilege to drive in New York State (NYS) is suspended or revoked
because you were convicted of a violation of Section 1192 of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law.

If your driver license is issued by another state you do not have to turn it in, even though your

privilege to drive in NYS is suspended or revoked. You must not resume driving in NYS until you

complete your period of suspension or revocation. You may then contact a motor vehicle office to request

restoration; once your privilege has been restored you may resume driving in NYS. See “About the Impaired

Driver Program” at dmv.ny.gov/tickets/about-impaired-driver-program.

DMV will notify you by mail if you are eligible to participate in the Impaired Driver Program

(IDP). If you are eligible for the IDP then you may also be eligible for a conditional license/permit or privilege

to drive during the suspension or revocation period.  If you are eligible, DMV will send you additional

information with the eligibility notice. 

If you are eligible for the IDP, or for the IDP and a conditional license/permit or privilege to

drive, bring your application to a motor vehicle office after you receive your notice of eligibility.

Please do not go to a motor vehicle office to apply before you receive the eligibility notice.  If you have not received

the notice by the 18th day after your sentencing, contact a motor vehicle office by phone to verify your eligibility and

receive further instructions. Applications for the IDP are accepted until 3:30 p.m. on any business day.

You must turn in your NYS photo license/permit to a motor vehicle office before you will be

issued a conditional license, if you did not already turn in your license/permit to the court (or if you turned in a

temporary license). If the court gave you Part I of form MV-1192, “Continuation of Driving Privileges”, you must

turn that form in to the motor vehicle office when you apply for a conditional license. There is a $75 administrative

fee that you must pay to DMV when enrolling in the IDP, and a $12.50 photo document fee, in addition to any other

applicable licensing fees.  There is a separate fee for the IDP course, which must be paid at the first class.

NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law requires a person who is convicted of an alcohol/drug-related

traffic violation, or who refuses a chemical test, to pay a Driver Responsibility Assessment

(DRA) to DMV.  The DRA is $250 per year for three years.  If you must pay this assessment, DMV will send a

statement to you.  For more information, visit: dmv.ny.gov/tickets/pay-driver-responsibility-assessment.

If your license/permit or driving privilege is suspended, in addition to serving the suspension

period you must pay a suspension termination fee before your full license/permit or privilege

can be restored. This fee is $50 if the effective date of the suspension is on or after July 6, 2009.  This fee can

be paid by cash, credit card, certified check, money order or personal check (clients who are restricted to paying

with “certified funds” may not pay by personal check).  A credit card payment cannot be made by mail; payment

of the suspension termination fee by credit card (Master Card, Visa, American Express, or Discover) can be made

only at a motor vehicle office or online at the DMV website: dmv.ny.gov/pay-suspension-termination-fee.
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For assistance in this matter, go to the Motor Vehicles office that is most convenient for you.

Phone numbers for Motor Vehicles offices can be found in the blue pages of your phone book, 

or online at: dmv.ny.gov/contact-us/contact-us

If calling from outside New York State: (518) 473-5595

Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

TTY/TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf)

Within New York State: 1-800-368-1186

From outside New York State: (518) 473-9002

Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/contact-us/contact-us
https://dmv.ny.gov/pay-suspension-termination-fee
https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/pay-driver-responsibility-assessment
https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/about-impaired-driver-program

	INFORMATION FOR MOTORISTS WHO HAVE RECEIVED AN ORDER OF SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION (FORM MV-1192) FOR AN ALCOHOL-RELATED CONVICTION



