NEW YORK
STATE OF
OPPORTUNITY.

Department of DEALER/TRANSPORTER REQUIREMENTS

Motor Vehicles

Information on Dealer/Transporter requirements can be found at dmv.ny.gov under “open a dealership” (dmv.ny.gov/dealers/open-dealership), in
Part 78 of the DMV Commissioner’s Regulations (dmv.ny.gov/forms/cr78.pdf), and in section 415 of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law.

YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL REQUIREMENTS. SEND YOUR DOCUMENTATION FOR REQUIREMENTS 1 THROUGH 10 TO THE ADDRESS
SHOWN BELOW. REQUIREMENTS 11 THROUGH 15 MUST BE MET DURING THE INSPECTION OF YOUR SITE. IF YOU DO NOT COMPLETE ALL
REQUIREMENTS, THE DMV WILL REJECT YOUR APPLICATION.

O 1. Complete and manually sign the Original Facility Application. We do not accept stamped or typed signatures.

0 2. Provide proof of business name:

(a) Owners of a Corporation or a Limited Liability Corporation (LLC):
Submit a copy of your filing receipt from the New York Department of State’s Division of Corporations. Also, write the percentage
of stock ownership for each officer on your Original Facility Application. For more information, call the Department of State at
(518) 473-2492 or visit dos.ny.gov.

(b) Owners in a Partnership or Individual Owners with an assumed business name:
You must complete and notarize a “Business Certificate of Assumed Name,” also known as a DBA, and then file this certificate
with the County Clerk of the county where your business operates. Submit a copy of the filing receipt from the County Clerk with
your application.

Submit a copy of the driver licenses or other government-issued identification for all owners and officers or members of the business.

OO

4. Provide your business’s New York State Tax Identification number on your Original Facility Application or submit a copy of your Sales Tax
Certificate of Authority Form (DTF-17A). For more information, contact the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance at
(518) 485-2889 or visit tax.ny.gov.

[J 5. All dealers that sell passenger cars and light trucks must submit a sealed and signed Surety Bond (copies accepted) with power of
attorney papers made out to your exact business name and address. Effective 4/08/2017, All Motor Vehicle Dealers™ are required to
have in place (and filed with NYS DMV) a surety bond in the appropriate amount as follows:

$20,000 - Retail or Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer (other than New) that sold 50 or fewer vehicles during the previous calendar year
$100,000 - Retail or Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer (other than New) that sold more than 50 vehicles during the previous calendar year
$50,000 - Retail Motor Vehicle Dealer, New (franchised passenger cars, SUVs, light trucks, etc.)

* Dealers selling only trailers, motorcycles, vehicles over 10,000 pounds, ATVs, boats, or snowmobiles are exempt.
O 6. Transporters must submit a statement that explains why they need transporter plates.

7. Retail dealers that sell new motor vehicles must submit a franchise agreement or letter of intent from the manufacturer.
(Note: Franchisors must not use form VS-1. NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law section 415(7)(f) prohibits the issuance of a dealer
registration to franchisors as defined in Vehicle and Traffic Law section 462(8): “Franchisor” means any manufacturer, distributor,
distributor branch or factory branch, importer or other person, partnership, corporation, association, or entity, whether resident or
non-resident, which enters into or is presently a party to a franchise with a franchised motor vehicle dealer.)

8. If your business has employees, submit a copy of your proof of Workers’ Compensation insurance.

OO

9. You must pay the fees indicated on your application for your application to be processed. The fees must be paid using checks or money
orders payable to Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Starter checks are not accepted.

O 10. Submita copy of the deed, mortgage or receipted tax bill if your business owns the property at the location of your business. If you
rent at that location, provide the lease or rental agreement and copy of the deed, mortgage or tax bill from the property owner. If you
sublease at that location, provide a copy of the lease and the sublease. If you have a pending lease, attach a notarized statement from
the property owner that states you will have permission to use the location to sell motor vehicles upon issuance of a license, and that
describes exactly which portions of the building your business will occupy.

Once you have completed the requirements in numbers 1 through 10, send your documentation to:
Vehicle Safety Services
Application Unit
6 Empire State Plaza, Room 220
Albany, NY 12228-0001

NOTE: The items described in numbers 11-15 must be available to the Automotive Facilities Inspector at the time of inspection.

[J 11. Dealer book of registry (this requirement is met when you enroll in VERIFI); bills of sale that comply with Commissioner’s Regulations
78.13; proofs of ownership (titles) for vehicles in stock; warranty forms, odometer statements; a method to lock security items, such as
a cabinet or safe that locks.

O 12. The place of business must have heat, electricity, a phone (cell phones are acceptable) and a desk. Applicants must have a separate and
exclusive mailing address, verified by the United States Postal Service, and exclusive use of their mail receptacle.

[ 13. All retail dealers must have space for the display of at least three vehicles at all times. Transporters and wholesale dealers are exempt
from this requirement.

O 14 Permanently mounted signs as per Commissioner’s Regulations 78.26.

[ 15. 1f there are other businesses at the same location, you need a permanent physical barrier (non-movable wall, fence, landscaping) to
separate the display areas, signs, and offices of the different businesses.
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DEALER SUPPLY LIST

Your application will not be approved unless the items listed below are available for the Automotive Facilities
Inspector, who will visit your facility. If your facility is approved as a dealership, you must sign a VERIFI Facility
Participation Agreement.

Ensure that the following items are available for the Automotive Facilities Inspector:

1. Book of Registry (this requirement is met when you enroll in VERIFI)
2. Bills of Sale

3. Odometer Statements (does not apply to ATV or boat dealers)

4. Warranty Forms (does not apply to ATV or boat dealers)

You can purchase those items through the following vendors*:

+  Automotive Dealer Supplies (518) 465-9900 www.automotivedealersupplies.com/

+  Fairmount Press (212) 255-2300

+ Jan Horan Co. 800-325-3006 www.janhoran.com/

+ OMP Printing (315) 853-5569 www.ompprintingandgraphics.com/
+  SNYADS Services 800-916-9723 www.nysada.com/Programs/SNYADSServices.aspx
+  NFADA Wholesale Distributors (716) 631-8510 www.discountusedcarsupplies.com

+  Aratari Auto Finishers (585) 467-5858 www.aratariautofinishers.com

«  Larry Ligarzewski Co. (716) 668-0390

+  Genesys Systems 888-548-4000 www.newyorkdealerstartupkit.com

+  Coastal Dealer Supply (315) 431-0080 email: shop@coastal/dealersupply.com

* DMV does not endorse these companies or otherwise represent that DMV has any association with, or oversight
of, these companies.

Lemon Law contracts and Used Vehicle Buyer’s Guides are also available from the vendors shown above.
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