About diesel emissions inspections
Vehicles subject to the diesel emissions inspection
There are different requirements for diesel vehicles registered
- within the Diesel Emissions Metropolitan Area (DEMA) - New York City, Nassau County, Suffolk County, Rockland County, and Westchester County
- outside DEMA
Diesel vehicles registered within DEMA
All non-exempt diesel-powered vehicles with a maximum gross weight (MGW), as indicated on the vehicle registration certificate, over 8,500 pounds, must get an annual diesel emissions inspection.
The diesel emissions inspection must occur at the same time as the annual safety inspection.
The model year does not exempt a vehicle from the inspection. Read section 79.2(h) of the NYS DMV Inspection Regulations (PDF) (CR-79) to get information about vehicles that are exempt.
Diesel vehicles registered outside DEMA
All diesel-powered vehicles with a maximum gross weight (MGW) over 8,500 pounds do not require an annual diesel emissions inspection, but may be subject to a random roadside diesel emissions inspection.
All non-exempt diesel-powered motor vehicles with a model year greater than the current year minus 25 and less than or equal to the current year minus two, registered anywhere in New York State, with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than 8,501 pounds, must get an annual OBDII emissions inspection, and are not subject to the diesel emissions inspection. For Example, in 2023 the model year vehicles subject to OBDII inspections are 1999 through 2021.
Diesel-powered motor vehicles with a model year less than the current year minus 25 or greater than the current year minus two, registered anywhere in New York State, with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than 8,501 pounds, are not subject to the OBDII emissions inspection, the low-enhanced emissions inspection, or the diesel emissions inspection. For Example, in 2023 the model year vehicles not subject to OBDII inspections are 1998 or less and 2022 or 2023.
Roadside diesel emissions inspection
Any diesel-powered vehicle registered anywhere in New York State, with a maximum gross weight (MGW), as indicated on the vehicle registration certificate, greater than 8,500 pounds, can be required to pass a random roadside diesel emissions inspection.
The NY State Police and the NY State Department of Transportation conduct these inspections. If the vehicle fails the inspection, the driver can receive a summons and a fine of $700 for a first offense and $1,300 for a second or subsequent offense. The driver can reduce the fine if the vehicle is repaired and passes a re-inspection at a DMV-licensed facility within 30 days of the violation.
The annual cost for a diesel emissions inspection is $25. This fee is added to the safety inspection fee.
Where and when will the annual diesel emissions inspections be done?
At DMV-licensed inspection stations. The inspections are done at the same time as the annual safety inspection. The inspection station must have the special equipment and be licensed by DMV to conduct diesel emissions inspections.
You can use the Find a DMV-regulated business service to find a inspection stations licensed to perform diesel emissions inspections near you.
Vehicle passing both the safety inspection and the diesel emissions inspection
The inspection station issues a Safety/Diesel Emissions Inspection Certificate. If the vehicle receives a heavy vehicle safety inspection, a Heavy Vehicle Safety Inspection Certificate is issued in addition to the Safety/Diesel Emissions Inspection Certificate.
Will I get a certificate if my vehicle passes only the safety inspection or the diesel emissions inspection?
No. An inspection sticker is not issued until both inspections are passed.
If you return the vehicle to the same inspection station within 30 days, it requires a re-inspection of the failed portion of the inspection only. You can be charged the re-inspection fee for the failed portion only.
If you take the vehicle to another inspection station or wait more than 30 days after the failed inspection, the vehicle must get both inspections again. You can be charged both inspection fees again.