Parking tickets

DMV does not handle parking violations or regulate parking. If you receive a parking ticket or have questions about local parking rules, contact your city, town or village. Do not contact DMV. You must respond to the tickets in the locality where they were issued.

See a list of Parking Scofflaw Jurisdictions

Tickets received in another state

What happens if I get a traffic ticket in another state?


Your NY State Driver License will be suspended if you fail to answer a ticket for a moving violation in any state except Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon or Wisconsin. Your license will remain suspended until you answer the ticket. Likewise, drivers from any state, except those from the six states listed above, will have their driver licenses suspended in their own state for failure to answer a moving violation in New York State.

Tickets received outside New York City

Traffic tickets not issued in New York City

Traffic tickets that are issued outside of New York City are processed in the criminal or traffic court of the city, county, town or village where the alleged offense took place. To answer these types of traffic tickets, contact the court directly.

Traffic Courts in New York State

Traffic tickets issued in New York City are handled by the DMV’s Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB). Tickets issued for parking violations are not handled by DMV.

Pay driver civil penalty

A driver civil penalty is a fine you must pay to DMV for certain offenses before your license or driving privilege can be restored after a suspension or revocation. This fine is in addition to any other fines, penalties or surcharges that you must pay for a traffic conviction.  The purpose of the driver civil penalty is to prevent the repeated behavior of problem drivers and to improve traffic safety.  The quickest and easiest way is to pay a driver civil penalty online.

Suspensions and revocations

Conviction of a serious traffic violation or multiple traffic violations can result in the suspension or revocation of your driver license or privilege to drive in New York State.  It is illegal to drive here when your driver license or driving privilege 

Leandra's Law & ignition interlock devices

What is "Leandra's Law"?

Leandra's Law was signed into law on November 18, 2009 in honor of Leandra Rosado. Leandra was an 11-year old killed while she rode in a vehicle with the intoxicated mother of one of her friends. In response to this tragedy, the NY State Legislature made several changes to the Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL). The law strengthened the penalties against motorists who drink and drive, and requires that

Requirements and forms for pre-licensing course providers

What is the Pre-licensing Course? 

The Pre-licensing Course, also known as “the 5-hour course,” is a DMV-designed classroom course that provides new drivers with information to help them drive safely.  New drivers must complete this course (or a New York State approved Driver Education Course) before they can schedule their driving test for their driver license.  For many students, the course is the only formal opportunity to learn the basic rules of the road, safe driving principles, defensive driving skills, and other factors which affect driving.

Pages

Subscribe to New York State Department of Motor Vehicles RSS