FAQ's for older drivers
I keep a residence in New York State but live in another state for part of the year. Can I keep my NY State driver license and also get a driver license from the other state?
Contact the Motor Vehicle Department in the other state. If that state issues a driver license that is valid only within that state (a "one state only" driver license), you can apply for that type of driver license and also keep your NY State driver license.
If the other state does not issue a "one state only" driver license, then you must decide in which state you will have a driver license. You cannot have a driver license from more than one state, unless one of the driver licenses is a "one state only" driver license.
Note: New York State does not issue a "one state only" driver license.
If you apply for a "full" driver license in another state, you will be required to surrender your NY State driver license to that state. You can apply for a NY State non-driver photo ID card after your driver license from the other state is issued. For more information, see how to apply for a non-driver ID Card.
My NY State driver license will expire during a period when I will live outside New York State. What can I do?
You can renew early, before you leave New York State. The law allows you to renew to a maximum of 12 months before your driver license expires. Early renewal does not change the expiration date of your renewed driver license or cost any more money.
How can I renew my NY State driver license?
You can renew your NY State driver license online, by mail, or at a state or county motor vehicle office. For all renewals you must have your vision tested at a DMV office or you can submit a vision test form. Have the vision test form Vision Test Report (PDF) (MV-619 or form MV-619R) completed by a qualified vision care professional. If your vision care professional is enrolled in the DMV Online Vision Registry, the professional will notify you that your test results will be entered electronically, and you will not need form MV-619. If the form MV-619 has a print date of 9/03 or earlier, the form is valid for 6 months after the date of the vision test. If the form has a print date of 3/04 or later, the vision care professional marks a box on the form to indicate if the form is valid for 6 months or for 12 months after the date of the vision test.
For more information, see how to renew your NY State driver license.
Why do I have to renew my driver license for eight years?
NY State law requires your driver license to be renewed for eight years.
You can use Request for Refund (PDF) (MV-215) to apply for a refund. You can apply for a refund if, during the first four years the driver license is in effect, you:
- Exchange your NY State driver license for a driver license in another state, or
- Surrender your driver license to the NY State DMV
The refund will be for the amount you paid for the final four years of the driver license.
Can I request that my driver license be sent to an address outside New York State?
You can include a request to mail the document to a different address if you renew your driver license at a motor vehicle office or by mail.
You cannot request mailing to a different address, and you cannot change your address, when you renew a driver license online.
Which address will be printed on my NY State driver license?
If you have a Standard license or ID, your mailing address is displayed on the document. If you have a REAL ID or Enhanced ID, your residential address is displayed (cannot be a P.O. Box).
How do I change my address on DMV records and documents?
See how to change your address on DMV records and documents.
Where can I get information about a NY State non-driver photo ID card?
See how to apply for a non-driver photo ID card.