
If you are not yet 16 years old, your parent or guardian

must complete the CONSENT SECTION on page 2 of the

MV-44.

Exact fee will be determined when you apply for the ID card.

Average fees are $9 - $10 for a 4-year card, and $13-$14 for

an 8-year card. Applicants who are EITHER 62 or older OR

SSI recipients are issued a 10-year card for $6.50.

Applicants who are BOTH 62 or older AND SSI recipients

are issued a 10-year card for no fee.

You must present an original US marriage or US divorce

record or court issued name change decree, or 6 points of ID

in your new name. There is a $12.50 document processing fee

for licenses and permits, $5 for non-driver ID cards (no fee for

an ID card if you are 62 or older AND collect SSI benefits). 

Fee is $17.50 for a replacement license or permit. The fee is

$8.00 for a non-driver ID card valid for either 4 or 8 years.

For a 10-year non-driver ID card, the fee is $6.50 (there is no

fee if you are age 62 or older AND collect SSI benefits).

If your license or permit is stolen or destroyed as a result of a

crime, bring the MV-78B form completed by the police

agency or a letter from the police agency (fee may be waived

for licenses and permits, but not for non-driver ID cards).

Both written test and road test may be waived if you hold an

out-of-state license that is valid or that expired within the

last 12 months. The out-of-state license must have been in

effect for six months to qualify for a test waiver. The out-of-

state license must be turned in to obtain a New York license. 

Written test may be waived if you passed the last test within

2 years. If your permit expired more than 2 years ago, you

must apply for a new permit. See above.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

HOW TO APPLY FOR A NEW YORK:

Learner Permit Driver License Non-Driver ID Card

(See page 2 for Instructions)
NOTE: When you apply for an Enhanced Driver License (EDL), additional documentation is required to prove U.S. citizenship and NYS

residency.  Form MV-44.1EDL provides information and instructions.
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

A MCTD fee, based on county of residence, may also apply 
(see page 2)

New drivers receive a permit that can be valid for more
than one year. Fee includes a $10.00 application fee, a
$12.50 document processing fee and a license fee—total
will not be more than $120.00. 
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You must obtain a learner permit and pass a skills test

unless you are changing from a Class D to E. There is a

$40.00 skills test fee if you want a Class A, B, C or Non-

CDL C (see page 2). An additional license amendment fee

is charged if you upgrade to a higher class.

If your license/ID card expired more than 2 years ago, you

must apply for a new learner permit/ID card.

If renewing a CDL, see form MV-44.5.

If you are 17 years old, bring in your Driver Education

Certificate of Completion (MV-285). There is a $5.00

transaction fee.
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Where to Get Forms - The following forms are available in any Motor Vehicles office and at www.dmv.ny.gov: MV-44 (Application for Driver License or
Non-Driver ID Card), the ID-44 (Proofs of Identity), and the MV-44.5 (Federal Requirements for Commercial Driver License Applicants). 

Vision Test Requirement - New York State law requires that you pass a vision test when you first apply for a driver license and when you need to renew a
license. You can take a vision test in any Motor Vehicles office or you can have your vision tested by one of the following providers: a licensed physician,
physician assistant, registered nurse, nurse practitioner, ophthalmologist, optometrist, optician, pharmacists who are enrolled in DMV’s Vision Registry, staff
supervised by any of these providers, and the staff of organizations that are authorized by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles to give the vision
test. If you use one of those providers, the provider will either send your vision test results to DMV electronically or give you a completed vision test report
form (MV-619) to submit to DMV.

Minimum Age for Application - You must be at least age 16 to apply for a driver license. If you are age 16 or 17, parental consent is required. Parental
consent is not required if you are age 17 and have a Driver Education Certificate of Completion (form MV-285). You can apply for a non-driver identification
card if you are under age 16 and have parental consent.

Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) Fees - When you first apply for a driver license or when you need to renew a license, the MCTD
fee applies when you reside in one of the following counties: Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland,
Westchester, Nassau, or Suffolk.

Payment of Fees - You can pay with a check or money order made payable to "Commissioner of Motor Vehicles". All Motor Vehicles offices accept cash and

major credit cards.

Requirement to Show Social Security Card - You must show your Social Security Card: when you first apply for a NYS permit, driver license or ID card;
when you renew your ID card; when your permit, license or ID card has been expired more than two years; when DMV has no record of your social security
number. If you are not eligible to have a Social Security Card, you must submit a letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA) that was issued within
30 days of your application to DMV; the letter must state that you are not eligible to have a card. You must also submit the Department of Homeland Security
documentation that was used by the SSA to determine that you are not eligible. 

How to Apply for the Veteran Status Designation-If you are a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces who was honorably discharged, you may qualify to have
“VETERAN” printed on the front of your current and future photo documents at no charge (if coupled with other document changes, regular transaction fees
may apply).
         l  You must send or provide proof of an honorable discharge.  You may apply by mail or at a DMV office by showing your proof(s).  Originals or 
                photocopies are acceptable at an office, but only send photocopies by mail.  Acceptable proofs are:
                 l a U.S. Department of Defense Form DD-214 that indicates an honorable discharge, or
                 l a form DD-215 that indicates an honorable discharge, or
                 l if discharged before January 1,1950, an Honorable Discharge form WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD AGO 53-55, NAVPERS 553, 
                NAVMC 78PD or NAVCG 553, or an “Enlisted Separation Paper”.
         l  You can apply for the veteran status designation when you renew your driver license by mail using your renewal notice (MV-2) and a photocopy of 
                your proof of honorable discharge.
                 l You can renew a NYS driver license or NDID within 12 months or less of the expiration date.  If you’d prefer to apply for the designation prior to the
                 time period and cannot visit your local DMV, you can still apply by mail for a replacement document, updated with the veteran status designation.          
Please include a written request to add the designation, use the Application for Driver License and Non-Driver ID (MV-44), send a photocopy of your current
photo document and your proof of honorable discharge.

Mail everything to: DMV License Production Bureau Room 331,  6 Empire State Plaza Albany, NY 12228

         l  You can apply at a DMV office for a renewal or a replacement document with the veteran status designation.  Use the Application for Driver License
                or Non-Driver ID (MV-44).
         l  You cannot apply by phone or online.

The veteran status will be printed on all of your future NYS DMV photo documents.        
Lifetime Adventure Credentials - If you have a Boater Safety Certificate and/or one or more lifetime licenses issued by the Department of Environmental
Conservation (DEC), you can apply to have the corresponding icon(s) printed on your photo document.  These Lifetime licenses include: Sportsman (referred
to as “Lifetime” after 2/1/14), Small/Big Game (referred to as “Hunting” after 2/1/14), Bow Hunting, Trapping, Muzzle Loading, Fishing.  When completing
form  MV-44, write the type of lifetime credential(s) you have in the “Other Change” box.  Bring the completed form and your original lifetime license(s)
and/or Boater Safety Certificate  to a DMV office. All regular transaction fees apply.  If your application is approved, a new document with the icon(s) printed
on the front will be mailed to you.

How to Register to Vote or Change Your Address with the Board of Elections- You can register to vote or change your address with the Board of Elections
when you complete the Voter Registration Application that is part of the driver license or non-driver ID card application (form MV-44) and the renewal notice
(form MV-2). The DMV will send your information to the Board of Elections.

How to Enroll in the NYS Department Of Health’s Donate Life    Registry - If you are age 18 or older, you can enroll in the DONATE LIFE REGISTRY

through the NYS Department of Health (DOH) or through DMV.

You can enroll through DOH by telephone at (866) 693-6667 or at www.health.ny.gov. If you want the donor designation on your DMV photo document, you
must visit a DMV office and ask for a new document with the donor designation. Similarly, if you have a DMV photo document with the donor designation on
it and you want the designation removed, you must visit a DMV office and ask for a new document without the donor designation. If you ask for a new
document with or without the donor designation as part of another license, permit or non-driver ID transaction, there is no additional fee to have the
designation added or removed. If you ask for a new document with or without the donor designation as a separate transaction, the fee is $17.50. 

You can enroll through DMV with form MV-44; read the Organ and Tissue Donation section then sign and date the Donor Consent Signature line. You can
also enroll when you renew your license or ID card; to enroll, sign the Donor Consent line on your renewal form (MV-2). Your signature on the Donor
Consent line establishes legal consent to donate. Remember to tell your family that you have legally consented to be a donor. When you enroll through DMV,
“ORGAN DONOR” will be printed on the front of your DMV photo document.

Note: To remove your name from the DOH DONATE LIFE REGISTRY you must contact DOH at (866) 693-6667 or online at www.health.ny.gov. Your name is
not removed from the Registry as part of the process to remove the donor designation from your DMV photo document.

Non-CDL Class C License - If you apply for an original non-CDLC license you will be issued a Class D license. However, if you apply for a Farm (F or G)
or Tow Truck endorsement (W) you will be issued a non-CDLC license until DMV system changes are completed.
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