
o Original Instructor’s Certificate ($10.00)

o One-Year Renewal ($10.00)

o Two-Year Renewal ($20.00)

o Additional Certificate ($0)

o Classroom Endorsement ($0)

o Change of Vehicle Class Endorsement ($0)

1. Have you had one year or more of experience as an in-car driving school instructor? .................................................................................................    o o
   If yes, list name of driving school and the number of hours of instruction you have provided
   ______________________________________________________________________________________________ Number of hours:_______

2. Have you been compensated for giving driving instruction within the last 12  months? ...............................................................................................    o o

3. Do you have a Driver Education Instructor Certificate (form MV-283)? If yes, attach a copy of the certificate, and write 
    Certificate (MV-283) number here:________________________ ................................................................................................................................    o o

4. Within the last three years, have you been convicted of any moving violations (other than parking violations)?.........................................................    o o

5. Have you ever:

   a. had your license to drive (or your driving privilege) refused, cancelled, suspended or revoked in New York or any other state? ...........................    o o

   b. had a driving school and/or instructor’s certificate denied, suspended or revoked?...................................................................................................    o o

   c. been a Point & Insurance Reduction Program instructor? If yes, list the name of the delivery agency, and when you taught, below. .....................    o o

   d.been known by any name other than the one shown on this application? If yes, what name? __________________________________________   o o

   e.been convicted of a felony, or any crime involving violence, dishonesty, deceit, indecency, degeneracy or moral turpitude?..................................    o o

   f. been convicted of perjury, or of making any false statements relating to any part of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law?.......................    o o
    
6. Are you presently involved with any charges or court proceedings relating to a DMV matter (including driving school, 
    Private Service Bureau, PIRP, and/or Vehicle Safety)?..................................................................................................................................................    o o
NOTE: The suspension or revocation or a pending matter in violation of Vehicle and Traffic Law may be due cause for denial of this application.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

APPLICATION FOR DRIVING SCHOOL

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE

(Please fill out application completely and print clearly - 
this will reduce processing delays.)

www.dmv.ny.gov

CHECK WHAT YOU NEED
All Fees Are Nonrefundable

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Instructor Class ______________

Certificate No. ________________________________

Denial No. _____________

o Classroom
Endorsement

Last Name

Mailing Address (Street & No.)

City

Note:  Section 5 of the NYS Tax Law requires the Department of Motor Vehicles to provide Social Security numbers to the NYS Department of Taxation and 
           Finance upon request.

Have you: 
 u received a high school diploma or GED (General Educational Development)?
       (If “Yes,” attach copy if you are an original applicant.) Foreign documents 
       must be translated by a Civil Service approved organization . . . . . . . . . . . . . . o  o
  

 u completed a DMV approved course in traffic safety for driving school
       instructors (30-hour basic)? (If “Yes,” attach copy of certificate.) . . . . . . . . . . . . o  o

 u completed a DMV approved advanced course in teaching techniques & 
       methodology? (If “Yes,” attach copy of proof of completion.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . o  o

Place of Birth 

License Class Expiration Date Years of Driving Experience

Sex o M   

o F

First

State Zip Code

Driver License ID No.

M.I. Social Security Number Date of Birth (Mo./Day/Yr.)

/           /

Date 
Issued:         /         /

Expiration 
Date:          /         /

Date
Denied:          /         /

EDUCATION - Attach a copy of all credentials, disregard if previously submitted

What type(s) of vehicles will you use for instruction? o Auto o Bus         oMotorcycle          o Tractor-Trailer          o Truck         

You must answer ALL the following questions.  Questions answered “Yes” must be explained below or on additional page(s).

NAME AND ADDRESS OF LICENSED DRIVING SCHOOL SUBMITTING THIS APPLICATION:

NAME OF PERSON APPLYING FOR A DRIVING SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE:

CHECK ONE
YES  NO

PAGE 1 OF 2

/         /____________

/         /____________

/         /____________

SchoolYes     No      Date Issued     

MV-523 (6/15)

EXPLANATIONS:If you answered “Yes” to any questions above, give the details below or attach additional page(s). Identify the number of the question being answered.

The applicant agrees that:
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY o Approved            

o Disapproved By: _____________________________________________________________     Date__________________



Applicant Name: _____________________________________________________

PLEASE ALLOW 6-8 WEEKS FOR PROCESSING

WHAT IS NEEDED: Find the section below that applies to the action you want to take. It lists the documents you must provide with your completed application.

4 All applicable fees should be made payable to the “Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.” Please note that “starter checks” cannot be accepted.

4 AN ORIGINAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE

            u  A $10 check or money order payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

            u  Two photographs no more than 30 days old

            u  A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General Educational Development (GED)

4 A RENEWAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE

            u  For a one-year renewal, send a $10 check or money order payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

            u  For a two-year renewal, send a $20 check or money order payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

            u  Two photographs no more than 30 days old

            u  Proof of completion of the 30-Hour Basic Course for the preparation of professional driving school instruction 

            (THE 30-HOUR BASIC COURSE MUST BE COMPLETED WITHIN A YEAR FROM THE DATE THE ORIGINAL 

                  INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE IS/WAS ISSUED)

4 CLASSROOM ENDORSED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE

            u  Send a copy of the required 30-Hour Basic Course completion certificate

            u  Send proof of completing an approved advanced program in Teaching Techniques and Methodology 

            (ONE YEAR OF BEHIND-THE-WHEEL INSTRUCTION WILL ALSO BE NECESSARY FOR CLASSROOM ENDORSEMENT)

MV-523 (6/15)

Mail completed applications to:   NYS Department of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Driver Training Programs, 6 ESP, Room 221,  Albany  NY  12228.

ATTACH
PHOTO(S)

Photograph(s) must have been
taken within past 30 days and
should be 1 7/8’’ wide x 2’’ long,
and must be a true likeness
showing only the shoulders, neck
and uncovered head.

The applicant agrees that:

1. If I end my employment with the driving school, I will surrender my instructor’s certificate to the school. (the school is required to surrender 
    the certificate  to the DMV).

 2. The instructor’s certificate will only be used to give driving and/or classroom instruction in the course of my employment or association with the driving 
    school identified on this application.

 3. If I wish to be employed by an additional driving school, I understand that the school must submit an application for an additional instructor’s certificate.

 4. If my driver license is suspended or revoked, either temporarily or indefinitely, I understand that my instructor certificate will immediately become void, 
    and I must surrender my certificate to the driving school or DMV.

 5. If I lose my certificate, I will report the loss to the local police in order to obtain a police report and have my employer submit a request for a duplicate to DMV.

 6. I will carry the instructor’s certificate at all times while giving driving instructions or when I am accompanying a student to a DMV road test.

I affirm that I have read this entire application; that I know its contents and that all answers, statements and all other matters contained in it are true. I

understand that any false statement will result in the revocation of any driving school instructor’s certificate that has been issued to me. NOTE: It is
a criminal offense to knowingly make a false statement or conceal a material fact in this application. To do so will result in the revocation of your instructor
certificate. False statements are punishable under Section 210.45 of the Penal Code.

Applicant’s Signature ç______________________________________________________  Date _____________________________

This application must be signed by an authorized official of the driving school. 

Name of Driving School Official (printed) _______________________________________________________ Title________________________________

Signature of Driving

School Official ç_______________________________________________________________________________            Date ______________________
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Name of Firm Address of Firm

Address of Firm

Address of Firm

Kind of Work Dates Employed
;From                                          To

Reason for Leaving

Reason for Leaving

Reason for Leaving

Dates Employed
;From                                          To

Dates Employed

From                                          To

Name of Firm

Kind of Work

Name of Firm

Kind of Work

List employment experience for last 5 years, most recent first.  

EMPLOYMENT HISTORY
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