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A MESSAGE FROM THE COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES

It is my hope that the Department’s efforts in implementing the Uniform Vehicle
Certificate of Title Act (the Title Law) have been, and will continue to be, beneficial to the
lending industry as well as the other publics we serve.

This booklet is intended to provide a brief explanation of the Title Law and its impact on,
and involvement with, lending institutions.

If you need more information, please contact any Department of Motor Vehicles District
office or the Title Bureau in Albany.
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WHAT LENDERS SHOULD KNOW

ABOUT THE

NEW YORK STATE TITLE PROGRAM




VEHICLES WHICH MUST BE TITLED

The following 1973 or later model vehicles must be titled:

All manufactured homes that are model year 1995 or newer and that are at least 8 feet wide and
40 feet long when transported, or at least 320 square feet when erected on a site.

All vehicles owned by residents of New York State.

All vehicles owned by out-of-state residents, corporations, etc., which are required by law to be
registered in New York State.

All vehicles owned by New York State or any political subdivision of the state.

Vehicles which do not have a model year designation but which were manufactured on or after
January 1, 1973.

VEHICLES WHICH DO NOT HAVE TO BE TITLED

The following categories of vehicles do NOT require titles:

All 1972 and earlier model year vehicles.

Vehicles manufactured or assembled prior to January 1, 1973 which do not have a designated
model year.

Vehicles owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale, or vehicles used by a manufacturer
only for testing.

Vehicles which are not required by law to be registered in this state, and which are owned by
residents of other states.

Vehicles owned by the United States government which are not registered in this state.

Vehicles acquired by local authorities under the abandoned vehicle provisions of the Vehicle and
Traffic Law, where such vehicles are being sold and not put into use by the local authority.

Vehicles engaged in the interstate transportation of persons or property for which a currently valid
Certificate of Title has been issued by another state.

Vehicles registered as special purpose commercial vehicles: road rollers, tractor cranes, truck
cranes, power shovels, road building machines, snowplows, road sweepers, spreaders, well drillers,
well servicing rigs, feed processing machines, mobile car crushers, earth movers and fire vehicles.

Any implement of husbandry.

Vehicles for which no registration will be issued, such as minibikes, go-carts, bicycles, animal
drawn conveyances, etc.

Pole trailers.
Trailers under 1,000 pounds net weight.

Vehicles other than trailers which are not classified as motor vehicles in the Vehicle and Traffic
Law, such as snowmobiles.

All 1994 and older manufactured homes.



BOATS WHICH MUST BE TITLED

e All 1987 and newer model year boats that are 14 feet in length or longer.

e Boats manufactured on or after August 1, 1986 if a model year was not designated, and that are 14
feet in length or longer.

BOATS WHICH DO NOT HAVE TO BE TITLED

All 1986 and earlier model year boats.

e Boats having a valid marine document issued by the United States or a foreign government.

e Boats registered in another state, providing such boats have not been in the State of
New York for longer than 90 days at a time.

e Boats owned by residents of foreign countries.

e Boats owned by the United States, a state, or political subdivision.
e A lifeboat (cannot be dual purpose).

e Boats used exclusively for racing.

e Boats under 14 feet in length.

e Boats not equipped with a motor.

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

As required by the Title Law, the Department of Motor Vehicles issues a Certificate of Title (Form
MV-999) for 1995 or newer manufactured homes that are at least 8 feet wide or 40 feet long when
transported or 320 square feet when erected on a site, 1973 or newer model vehicles, and 1987 or newer
model boats that are 14 feet in length or longer; when an Application for Registration and Title (MV-82);
Application for a Boat Registration and/or Title (MV-82B) or Application for Title (MV-82TON) is filed
with the necessary documents and fees. The title certificate is computer-generated in the name of the
owner of the manufactured home, vehicle or boat and is mailed directly to the owner from the Title Bureau
in Albany. The title is proof of ownership for 1973 and newer model vehicles, 1987 and newer model boats
and 1995 or newer model manufactured homes.

Information on the title includes the name and address of the owner, the title number, the odometer
reading, if applicable, at the time the vehicle was last transferred, the date issued, a detailed description of
the manufactured home, vehicle or boat, and the lienholder’s name and address, if any. As many as four
lienholders can be printed on the front of the certificate.

PERFECTING YOUR SECURITY INTEREST

When a lender properly records a lien on a vehicle, boat or manufactured home, the lender’s (lienholder’s)
name and address are printed on the title. When the title is printed, a Notice of Recorded Lien (Form MV-901)
is mailed to the lending institution. According to law, the $5 lien recording fee must be paid by the
lienholder and cannot be charged to the borrower or the dealer.



LIEN FILING CODE

In order to obtain a lien filing code, fax your request to (518) 486-6581, attention “Title Administration”.
Your request must be submitted on business letterhead and indicate the address where the Notice of
Recorded Lien (MV-901) should be mailed. The request must also include the name and direct line
telephone number of a contact person.

If you already have a lien filing code and you need to amend any of the information (ie. address, phone
number), send a fax with the updated information on business letterhead to (518) 486-6581, attention “Title
Administration”. Please include your lien filing code and a direct line telephone number in case it is necessary
for us to contact you. It is important to keep your records for lien filing codes up to date.

CHARGE ACCOUNTS

A lending institution can apply for an Escrow Charge Account for filing liens that are sent directly to the
Title Bureau. This eliminates the need to send separate $5 checks for each Notice of Lien (MV-900).

To apply for a charge account, call our Accounts Management Section at (518) 474-0692.

When your account is established, you will file liens using a Notice of Lien for a Charge Account
Customer (MV-900.1).

FOUR METHODS OF RECORDING A LIEN:
1. NOTIFY THE DEALER SELLING THE VEHICLE

When a New York State registered dealer sells a 1995 or newer manufactured home, a 1973 or
newer vehicle or 1987 or newer model boat, the dealer will record your lien if properly notified.

Prepare a memo-type check for $5 more than the borrowed amount; identify both the borrower

and dealer on the check. Type or stamp the following statement on the back of the check: “The filing
fee required by Section 2125 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law is included in this check, and is being
paid by the secured parties.” Your name, address and lien filing code should be on the check or be
attached to it. Be sure the dealer has your correct lien filing code.

The dealer will enter your name, address and lien filing code in the lienholder portion of the
Application for Registration and Title (MV-82) (MV-82TON) (MV-82B) which will be brought to
the Motor Vehicles office with other necessary documents and required fees.

2. NOTIFY THE TITLE BUREAU DIRECTLY WHENEVER THE VEHICLE, BOAT OR
MANUFACTURED HOME IS NOT SOLD BY A REGISTERED NEW YORK
STATE DEALER

To record your security interest for a vehicle, boat or manufactured home which was sold by a private
individual (a casual sale), or by an out-of-state dealer, complete a Notice of Lien (MV-900 or
MV-900.1). These forms are shown on pages 7 and 8. Enter your name, address, lien filing code, the
owner’s name and address; the manufactured home, vehicle or boat description; the date of security
agreement, and both required signatures. Do not forward the proof of ownership for a vehicle or
boat because the new owner will need it to register the vehicle or boat. Send your completed
MV-900 and the $5 lien recording fee or MV-900.1 to the Title Bureau as soon as possible

after the loan is made, and within 10 days after the date of registration, so the lien can be recorded
before a title is issued.

Please do not use this method if the lien is recorded through a New York dealer. Also, please note that
the Department of Motor Vehicles does not record liens listed on MCOs or on the
back of out-of-state titles.
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3. NOTIFY THE TITLE BUREAU DIRECTLY WHEN A VEHICLE, BOAT OR
MANUFACTURED HOME IS USED AS COLLATERAL WHEN BORROWING MONEY

If the vehicle, boat or manufactured home is already registered and titled in New York State, and
the owner wants to borrow money using the manufactured home, vehicle or boat as collateral, the
Notice of Lien (MV-900) or a completed MV-900.1, the $5 lien recording fee, PLUS the current
title, should be sent to the Title Bureau. If the owner has lost the title, an MV-902 (Application for
Duplicate Title) with proofs of identification and $20 fee can be sent from the owner with your
Notice of Lien and the $5 lien fee.

Once a lien is recorded, it remains on record until a notice of satisfaction and the title are given to the
Title Bureau. If a lien satisfaction and title are sent to the Title Bureau prior to ownership transfer,
there is a $20 processing charge. If a person wants to refinance a vehicle, boat or manufactured home
for which no satisfaction has been given, it is not necessary to again record your lien. Just keep the
original Notice of Recorded Lien (MV-901) until the second contract is satisfied.

4. NOTIFY DMV THROUGH THE ELECTRONIC LIEN TRANSFER PROGRAM

New York State's Electronic Lien Transfer Program provides an electronic method for the Department
of Motor Vehicles and lienholders to exchange lien data. The lienholders electronically notify the
DMV of a lien for a vehicle. On a nightly basis, DMV processes transactions and records the liens on
our files. The next business morning, an electronic message is returned to the lienholder indicating that
the lien has been processed. If the lien information is received prior to the vehicle being registered in
NY, DMV will scan our files nightly for a matching record in order to record the lien.

The ELT Program eliminates the risk of lien oversight or inaccuracy since the lienholder is not relying
on a dealer to file the lien. Electronic delivery of lien information results in a shorter turnaround time
for lien recording, and electronic notification of recorded lien allows lending institutions to store an
electronic lien record instead of a paper record.

Each lien holder participating in the program must establish a Title Escrow Account with NYS DMV.
This account will be debited a $5 lien-filing fee each time a lien is recorded on our records; that is,
each time a matching VIN, YR, Make and owner's three of name is found. The escrow account is
not charged until the lien has been matched with a vehicle record. Each month, a statement detailing
account activity that occurred during the previous month is mailed to the lienholder from NYS
DMV's Office of Revenue Accounting.

In order to participate in the ELT program, a lender must first contact one of the vendors listed below.
Once they have decided on a vendor, they must submit to DMV the following paperwork:

® Form ELT-4, Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).
® Form ELT-2, Application for Electronic Lien Transfer Program.
® Form ELT-3, Title Escrow Account Application.

The applications and our ELT Business User Manual (ELT-1) can be obtained by visiting our website
at www.nysdmv.com.

Vendors working with NYS:

FDI Consulting, Inc VINtek, Inc.

A triVIN Company 1735 Market Street
9750 Goethe Road Suite 900

Sacramento, CA 95827 Philadelphia, PA 19103
916-921-4390 ext. 118 215-563-3320

1-800-594-1470
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For further information please contact:
Rose Ann Harris
NYS DMV
Room 331
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, New York 12228

TO INSURE PROPER RECORDING OF LIEN

To reduce the number of rejected Notices of Lien, please include all the mandatory data. The following list
specifies what information is essential on the MV-900 or MV-900.1:

1) year, make and vehicle identification number (or hull ID number for a boat)

2) lienholder’s complete name and address

3) borrower’s complete name and address

4) original lienholder’s signature

5) original borrower’s signature

6) the charge account number on both the notice and the receipt sections of the MV-900.1.

7) the lender’s complete name and address (as shown on the charge account) on both the notice
and receipt sections of the MV-900.1.

8) date of security agreement

NOTE: Remember to enclose a $5.00 check or money order from the lienholder, made out to the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, for each MV-900.

All information (other than signature) must be typed. Use caution when entering Vehicle, Hull or
Manufactured Home ID number. Liens will not be recorded if information is illegible, incorrect or
incomplete. Your proper completion and timely submission (within 10 days of the date of vehicle sale) of the
MV-900/MV-900.1 will help ensure that your security interest is properly recorded before the title is issued.

For a 1995 or newer manufactured home, the lender must complete form MV-900 or MV-900.1. To
assure proper recording of the lien, the application for title and the Notice of Lien must be
submitted together.

TITLE/LIEN STATUS CHECK

You can use the on-line service on the DMV web site (www.nysdmv.com) to check title and lien status. To
check the status on-line, you must have the vehicle identification number (VIN), the model year of the
vehicle and the make of the vehicle. The status check will show:

the title issue date,

the number of liens,

the names of any lienholders,

the names of any lienholders “Pending” to be recorded on the title.

The status check does not provide other information about the vehicle or the vehicle owner.



RELEASING YOUR LIEN

A Notice of Recorded Lien (MV-901), containing the name of the lienholder, is printed at the same time a
title certificate is printed. The MV-901 is mailed to the lienholder, who keeps it until the security interest
is terminated. Before the Notice is released, one of the three boxes must be checked, and the bottom
line dated and signed by one of your authorized personnel. “PAID” stamps are not acceptable. Photocopies
of the MV-901 are acceptable; however, the date and signature of the authorized person must be an
ORIGINAL OR A FACSIMILE.

BOX 1 - SATISFACTION

If the borrower fully pays the loan, the law requires the lender to release the Notice of Recorded Lien
IMMEDIATELY. The first box should be checked and the notice forwarded to the owner, who should hold
it with the title until ownership of the vehicle, boat or manufactured home is transferred.

BOX 2 - REPOSSESSION

The second box is used when a vehicle, boat or manufactured home is repossessed and sold to another
party. The Notice of Recorded Lien is given to the purchaser, along with a completed Affirmation of
Repossession and Bill of Sale (See: Titles for Repossessed Vehicles and Boats).

BOX 3 - ASSIGNMENT

The third box is checked when the security interest in the vehicle, boat or manufactured home is sold or
in any way reassigned, and the new lienholder wants to change the lienholder name printed on the Notice
of Recorded Lien and Certificate of Title. The Notice of Recorded Lien is signed and dated by the
lienholder printed on the recorded lien, and the name and address of the new lienholder are entered in the
appropriate space. This notice, together with the Certificate of Title from the owner and a $5 lien fee, is
sent to the Title Bureau in Albany.

USE OF LETTER TO REPLACE MV-901

When Form MV-901 (Notice of Recorded Lien) is not available for any reason, the lending institution
should provide a statement, on its letterhead, containing the following:

1. name and address of the borrower.

2. a complete description of the vehicle, boat or manufactured home, including year, make and
identification number.

3. information to the effect that the loan was paid in full, including the date of loan satisfaction.
4. an original signature (ink or stamp) of an officer of the lending institution, and the officer’s job title.

5. if the lienholder is an individual, the statement must be notarized.

TRANSFER OF TITLE CONTAINING LIEN

The Vehicle and Traffic Law does not prohibit the owner from selling the vehicle, boat or manufactured
home, even if there is an unsatisfied lien against it. If a vehicle titled in New York State with a lienholder
recorded is sold or transferred without the lien release, the lending institution will receive a new Notice of
Recorded Lien listing the new owner. However, in this situation the seller (borrower) is not relieved of the
responsibility to repay the loan. The lienholder has recourse against the individual who signed the original
contract or, if that person has sold the vehicle, boat or manufactured home, the lienholder can repossess
the vehicle, boat or manufactured home from the owner.



LIEN PRIORITY

The Department of Motor Vehicles acts only administratively with respect to security interest, recording
and filing liens and releases, and noting liens on Title Certificates. The Department does not determine
priority of interests between lienholders or the disposition of proceeds upon sale of a vehicle,
manufactured home or boat after foreclosure or repossession. Such matters are subject to determination in
civil judicial proceedings.

Therefore, because it is not the responsibility of the Department to determine priority of interests, liens are
not listed in priority sequence on the Title Certificate. The numbers on the title and Notice of Recorded
Lien are reference numbers for Title Bureau use.

REPLACEMENT MV-901s

A replacement MV-901 (Notice of Recorded Lien) can be obtained by submitting a written request and a
$10 fee to the Title Bureau in Albany.

TITLES FOR REPOSSESSED VEHICLES, BOATS AND MANUFACTURED HOMES
Manufactured Homes, Vehicles and Boats Titled in New York

When repossessing a vehicle, manufactured home or boat titled in New York, you are required by law to:

1. immediately following such repossession, personally appear at the police agency in the locality where
the repossession occurred, and notify the police agency of the repossession.

2. within 24 hours, notify the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of such repossession by completing
Form MV-327 in duplicate, and delivering both copies, either in person or by first class-special
delivery mail, with the registration plates and sticker, if applicable, to the Department of Motor
Vehicles District Office serving the county in which the vehicle, manufactured home or boat owner
resides.

3. Within 24 hours, notify the owner of the vehicle, manufactured home or boat of such repossession,
either personally or by registered or certified mail, sent to such owner at the last-known address.

When you sell the vehicle, give the purchaser a completed Form MV-950, “Affirmation of Repossession
and Bill of Sale”, Form MV-901 “Notice of Recorded Lien”, and the previous owner’s title, if available.
Computer-generated facsimiles of the Form MV-950 are acceptable but must follow the DMV format
exactly. The completed affirmation must be an original; photocopies will not be accepted.

If you are selling the vehicle in a state other than New York and that state will not accept your repossession
papers, you can apply for a repossession title in your name by sending the following directly to the Title Bureau:
1. a completed MV-82TON (Application for Title) in your name.
. the previous owner’s title, if available.
. a completed Form MV-950 showing you as purchaser.

2
3
4. the MV-901 indicating that your lien has been satisfied.
5. a $50 title fee; $125 for a manufactured home title.

6

. a lien release for any other lien listed.
NOTE: If there are any other open prior liens on the vehicle, and a lien release is not
obtained, you MUST advise the purchaser of the outstanding lien(s) on the vehicle.
These liens will be carried forward on the purchaser’s title when it is issued.

-7 -



Vehicles, Boats and Manufactured Homes Titled in a State Other Than New York

If you repossess a vehicle, manufactured home or boat that was titled in a state other than New York, you
should obtain a title from that state in your name or in the new owner’s name.

However, if the former owner’s title lists you as the sole lienholder, you can sell the vehicle by using an
Affirmation of Repossession, a Bill of Sale and the former owner’s title. The Affirmation should include
the following:

A. information concerning the contract, including the name and address of the borrower and the lender,
the date of the contract, the year, make and identification number of the vehicle, manufactured home
or boat, the last registration plate number and the state in which it was last registered.

B. a statement that the borrower was in default.
C. the date of repossession, and the name and address of the person from whom it was repossessed.

D. a statement that the repossessor complied with all applicable laws in the state in which the vehicle
was repossessed.

E. when applicable, a statement indicating the right of an auctioneer to sell or transfer the vehicle or
boat.

F. a statement that proper notice was given to all parties who were entitled to such notice.
OBTAINING ABSTRACTS

To obtain an abstract of a vehicle’s, boat’s or manufactured home’s title and/or lien record, fill out the
Request For Driver and/or Vehicle Record Information (MV-15), available from the Data Sales Unit or
from any Motor Vehicles office, including most county offices. The Certified Document Center (formerly
The Public Services Bureau) will provide a certified abstract of the owner’s title and lien record upon
receipt of the MV-15 and a search fee, required by law, of $10 for each record. In the future you will be
able to obtain abstracts immediately at your local Motor Vehicles office. Please contact them for details.
Application for a certified abstract can be addressed to:

Div. of Data Preparation

NYS— Department of Motor Vehicles
6 Empire State Plaza

Albany NY 12228-0430

THE TITLE SERVICES SECTION
In an effort to promptly and properly resolve exceptions resulting from implementation of the Title Law,

the Title Services Section of the Title Bureau is staffed with employees with special expertise to cope with
these problems.



Correspondence regarding the recording of liens, duplicate titles, correction of titles or title records,
etc., should be addressed to:

Div. of Document Production — Title Bureau
NYS — Department of Motor Vehicles

6 Empire State Plaza

Albany NY 12228-0330

Mail completed forms MV-900 or MV-900.1 with the lien filing fee and title (if applicable) to:
NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 2604
Albany NY 12220-0604

When appropriate, telephone calls can also be made to the Title Services Section. The phone number is
(518) 486-4714.

A $10 fee is required by law for a search of our files.



FORM MV-900 (REDUCED)
NOTICE OF LIEN

The Notice of Lien (Form MV-900) is completed by a bank, credit union, finance company or other lender
to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles that an individual or company has borrowed money to purchase
a specific vehicle, manufactured home or boat, or if a vehicle, manufactured home or boat is being used as
collateral. This form must be used when the lending institution wants to perfect its security interest in the
vehicle, manufactured home or boat which has been purchased from someone other than a registered New
York State dealer (a casual sale or an out-of-state dealer). The MV-900 is mailed directly to the Title Bureau
in Albany, together with the $5 lien filing fee, which cannot be charged to the borrower.

Individuals can access this form from our web site at www.dmv.ny.gov or obtain it from any Motor
Vehicles office. Lending institutions can print their own supply using the exact size (8 1/2 x 11”) and
format required by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or may access the form from our web site.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles
NOTICE OF LIEN

www.dmv.ny.gov

MV-900 (1/11)

All information (other than signature) must be typed. Use caution when entering Vehicle, Hull or Manufactured Home ID number.
Liens will not be recorded if information is illegible, incorrect or incomplete.

VEHICLE/BOAT/MANUFACTURED HOME INFORMATION

Identification Number

Year Make Body Type/Hull Registration/Plate No. of Borrower, if any
This is a: O vehicle O Boat O Trailer [ Manufactured home

OWNER INFORMATION

Owner’s Last Name First M.

Owner’s Last Name M.I.

Street Address (including Apt. No.)

City Zip Code

[ Check here if this is a new address.
NOTE: Lien will be recorded only if the nam: ) is EXACTLY the same as the owner(s) recorded, or to be recorded, on
the Certificate of Title. If a Certifg itle t

OWNER’S STATEMENT: 1

previously issued in my name fo!
I'understand that a new Certificate

enholder will send this notice to the DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. If a title was
trailer or manufactured home, I gave it to the lienholder to be sent to DMV with this notice.

OWNER(S): SIGN HERE » » Date
(Must be an original signature. If a POA is used, (Must be an original signature. If a POA is used,
a copy of the POA must be attached.) a copy of the POA must be attached.)

If signing for a corporation, print your name and title:

LIEN INFORMATION

Lien Filing Code (assigned by DMV: enter only if a code has been assigned to you or your company)

(Name) (Title)

Lienholder’s Name

Lienholder’s Name (continued)

Street Address

City State Zip Code

This notice authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to disclose (or otherwise make available) information about the lienholder obtained by
the department in connection with this record.

‘ Date of Security Agreement
(Lienholder’s Sigr Must be an original sigi or a facsimile stamp)

Has a NY Certificate of Title been issued to this borrower? [ YES LCINO  IF YES, ATTACH TITLE.

LIENHOLDER: Mail this form, the $5 fee paid by the lienholder payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and the owner  title (if issued) to:
TITLE BUREAU, NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES, PO BOX 2604, ALBANY NY 12220-0604

You can verify online if a lien was recorded or if a title certificate was issued.
Go to the Lien/Title Certificate Status page at the DMV web site: www.dmv.ny.gov/titlestat/default.html
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FORM MV-900.1 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF LIEN
CHARGE ACCOUNT CUSTOMER

The Notice of Lien - Charge Account Customer can be completed instead of Form MV-900 by a lending
institution with a Department of Motor Vehicles charge account.

MV-900.1 (1/11) New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF LIEN - CHARGE ACCOUNT CUSTOMER

www.dmv.ny.gov

All information (other than signature) must be typed. Use caution when entering Vehicle, Hull or Manufactured Home ID number.
Liens will not be recorded if information is illegible, incorrect or incomplete.

VEHICLE/BOAT/MANUFACTURED HOME INFORMATION Your DMV C Account Number:

Identification

This is a:
Number i O oat O Trailer [ Manufactured home
Year Make Body Type/ Regilration/Plate No.
Hull rrower, if any

OWNER INFORMATION

Owner’s Last Name

First M.I.

Owner’s Last Name First M.I.

Street Address (including Apt. No.)

NOTE: Lien will be rec
the Certificate of Title. If a Cgrtifig

OWNER’S STATEMENT: S8@®crstand that the lienholder will send this notice to the DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. If a title was
previously issued in my name for this vehicle, boat, trailer or manufactured home, I gave it to the lienholder to be sent to DMV with this notice.
T understand that a new Certificate of Title, showing the lienholder’s name, will be mailed to me.

itle has not been issued to this borrower, print the name as it appears on the driver license.

OWNER(S): SIGN HERE #

Date
(Must be an original signature. If a POA is used, (Must be an original signature. If a POA is used,
a copy of the POA must be attached.) a copy of the POA must be attached.)
If signing for a corporation, print your name and title:
(Name) (Title)
LIEN INFORMATION Lien Filing vCode (assigned by DMV:
enter only if a code has been assigned to you or your company)
Lienholder's Name
Lienholder’s Name (continued)
Street Address
City State Zip Code

This notice authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to disclose (or otherwise make available) information about the lienholder obtained by
the department in connection with this record.

. Date of Security Agreement,
(Lienholder’s Signature—Must be an original signature or a facsimile stamp)

Has a NY Certificate of Title been issued to this borrower? 1 YES [ NO IF YES, ATTACH TITLE.
LIENHOLDER: Mail this form and the owner s title (if issued) to:
TITLE BUREAU, NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES PO BOX 2604, ALBANY, NY 12220-0604

You can verify online if a lien was recorded or if a title certificate was issued.
Go to the Lien/Title Certificate Status page at the DMV web site: www.dmv.ny.gov/titlestat/default.html

MV-900.1 (1/11)

DO NOT DETACH THIS RECEIPT

YOUR DMV CHARGE ACCOUNT NUMBER:

PLEASE TYPE LIEN FILING CODE, AND NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE ACCOUNT TO BE CHARGED:

Lien Filing Code: Vehicle Identification
Number (VIN):

Account Name

Street Address (including Apt. No.)

City or Town State Zip Code
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FORM MV-901 (REDUCED)
NOTICE OF RECORDED LIEN

The MV-901 is a computer-printed form which is mailed to the lienholder when a title containing a lien is
mailed to the owner of the vehicle, boat or manufactured home.

When ownership of a vehicle, boat or manufactured home is transferred and the (old) lien has not been
satisfied by the former owner, a new MV-901 will be generated and will contain information pertaining to
the former owner.

A new MV-901 is also generated when a new or additional lienholder is recorded on a vehicle, boat or
manufactured home.

New York State Departmeant of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF RECORDED LIEN

1.0. Number Year Make

Wt Lgth, Fuel CylProp. BodyHull, Color

Owner: If you have moved and have not yet notified this
Department of your new address, cross out the
address shown and print your new address in its
place.

OWNER -

ONAL LIENHOLDERS

The following information appligs orifir-feithe
lienholder shown in the box aboves |\ '

[ ] Our security interest in the ahicle d

described in thie notice has atis
_| We have assumed X
"~ or boat. We are

| We have assigne
this vehicle or boat

Uen Filing Code

Name

No. and Street

City “State. Ip

Authorized Signature Date

If you are the owner named on this notice, you can keep this notice with the Certificate of Title and when you sell the vehicle or
boat, give the transferred Title AND this nofice to the new owner. To obtain a lien-free Title before then, return your current Title,
this lien notice and a $20.00 fee to the DMV, Title Bureau, 6 Empire State Plaza, Albany NY 12228-0330. (Check or money order
should be made payable to the Commissionar of Mator Vehicles.)

If you cannot locate the Title for the vehicle or boat, you must apply for a duplicate. You may apply for a duplicate by completing
Form MV-902 (available at a DMV office or on cur website at www.nysdmv..com <http:/fwww.nysdmv.com/>) and mailing it with a
$20.00 check or money order AND this lien notice to the DMV, Title Bureau at the above address

MV-901 (11/05)
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FORM MV-15 (REDUCED) (See DMV Website for all pages of form)
REQUEST FOR DRIVER AND/OR VEHICLE RECORD INFORMATION

This form is used to obtain information about any outstanding liens on a vehicle, as well as current owner
information.

STEP 2 To process this request, we need to identify you, the requester.

Attach a copy of your driver license, non-driver identification card issued by a state motor vehicle authority, or 6 points
of identification (see form ID-44 for acceptable proof of identity).

Print your name and return address below, and fill in the payment method.

PAYMENT METHOD ® Do NOT SEND CASH ®
[ DMV account number (for account holders only)

Ocheck O Money Order O Exempt
PAYABLE TO COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Daytime Phone No. (optional):

Check below the type of records you are requesting.

PART A

L DRIVING REGORD . ... $10
[J VEHICLE REGISTRATION RECORD . .. .. ..ot $10
O VEHICLE TITLERECORD ... . $10

D COMPLETE 19A ROSTER. PROVIDE BUS CO. FEDERAL EMPL. ID. # ‘ $10 for each driver.

(SKIP PART B)

D DRIVER LICENSE APPLICATION Photocopy

............ . LB B X | |
O convicTion Photocopy (Write ticket no. or cgse no. . $11 each
D DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVO] tocopy (Write order # in Part B below) .. ........... $11 each
[J DRINKING DRIVER PROGRA ul ATE Photocopy (Write ticket # in Part B below) . . .......... $11
O TickeT/sumMmons Photocopy (Write ti ", date of violation and offense, if known, in Part B below). ............ $11 each
D VEHICLE REGISTRATION/TITLE APPLICATION PhotoCOPY. . . . . oottt et e e e e e e e e $11 each
[ VEHICLE REGISTRATION SUSPENSION ORDER PhOtOCOPY . . - v e v et e e e e e e $11 each
D VEHICLE & TRAFFIC LAW BOOKS (How many? ) $6.00 each
PART B
Provide as much information as you know about the records you are requesting. Please print clearly.
Last Name First M.I. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year) | Sex

/ / Owm OF
Mailing Address (Include Street & No.) Apt. # City State Zip Code
Previous New York State Address (if known) Apt. # City State Zip Code

9-digit Driver License ID Number or
Number from Non-Driver ID Card

Plate

Class of Vehicle (from registration)
Number

l

Year of Vehicle Make of Vehicle

Vehicle Identification Number
(from vehicle registration)

Ticket, Case or Order Number
(if known)

Date of
Violation

Offense

MV-15 (12/10) Page 3 of 4
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FORM MV-15 (REDUCED) (See DMV Website for all pages of form)

REQUEST FOR DRIVER AND/OR VEHICLE RECORD INFORMATION

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles
REQUEST FOR DRIVING AND/OR VEHICLE RECORD INFORMATION

313Kl The Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) regulates access to Motor Vehicles records. You must tell us why
you want the records you are requesting. Place your initials next to each permissible use you select.

Use in any civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitral proceeding in any court or agency, including the service of process,
investigation in anticipation of litigation, and the execution or enforcement of judgments and orders or pursuant to a
court order.

Use by an insurer or insurance support organization or self-insured entity in claims investigations, anti-fraud activities,
rating or underwriting activities.

Use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded vehicles.

Use by an employer, its agent or insurer to obtain information relating to the holder of a commercial driver's license
required under Chapter 313 of Title 49 of the U.S.C.

Use in preventing fraud by, pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or security interest against an
individual in order to verify or correct the accuracy of personal information submitted by the individual to a legitimate
business or its agents, employees, or contractors.

Use required under NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law, Article 19A - Spegj quirements for Bus Drivers.
Use required under NY'S Vehicle and Traffic Law, Article 19B - Spec irements for Commercial Motor Carriers.

Use by any government agency in carrying out its pon'

Use by any private person or entity acting ) ede! , or local agency in carrying out its functions.

Use in matters of chi
Use in matters o product alterations, recalls or advisories.

Use in performanc ing of motor vehicles, motor vehicle parts and dealers.

Use in motor vehicle market research activities, including survey research.

Use in removal of non-owner records from the original owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers.

Use in the operation of private toll transportation facilities.

Use by any requester who has obtained the written consent of the motorist.

Use specifically authorized under NYS law, IF such use is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or public safety.
Cite the specific NYS law here:

Use in research activities and in producing statistical reports, as long as the personal information is not
published, disclosed or used to contact individuals.

License records without the motorist’s address. These records include either the client identification number or the
driver’s name and date of birth, if such information has been provided by the requester.

| certify that I shall use the information provided by DMV only for the use described in Step 3 of this form, and that |
will comply fully with the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (18 USC Sec. 2721, et seq). I also agree to defend,
hold harmless and indemnify DMV from all actions brought against DMV, or damages alleged against DMV, for my
negligent, improper or unauthorized use or dissemination of the information provided by the DMV.

REMEMBER TO ATTACH A COPY OF YOUR ID. (See Step 2 of Instructions.)

Signature ? Date:

Print Name

To knowingly make a false statement or conceal a material fact in this written statement is a criminal offense, punishable under
Penal Law Section 210.45. In addition, anyone who makes false representation to obtain any personal information from an
individual s Motor Vehicles record is subject to federal criminal fines under the Drivers Privacy Protection Act (DPPA).

MV-15 (12/10) Page 4 of 4
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This document is issued to all owners of 1973 and newer model vehicles, owners of 1987 and newer model
boats, and owners of 1995 and newer model manufactured homes. It is computer-printed on security paper

(REDUCED)

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

with a background featuring a large state seal and printed in blue and rose.

On the front, the number above the “Date Issued” is a random number - six numerals and one letter - which
is used by the department as a document security check. The number in the lower left corner on the back
of the form is the sequential document control number. The number just above the lienholder spaces on

the left side of the form on the front is a print sequence number.

The owner of the vehicle or boat must pay a $50 title fee. The owner of a manufactured home must pay a
$125 title fee. There is a $20 fee for a duplicate title. There is no charge for a corrected title (exception: there

is a $20 fee to release a lien).

MOTORIST,MIKE
MOTORIST,MARY

202 SOUTH SWAN ST
ALBANY NY 12121

NEW YORK STATE
THIS IS8 A DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE AND
SUBJECT TO THE RIGHTS OF A PERSO

ORIGINAL CERTIFI 'I'E
No. Mod
E

1995 CH

‘ Fuel CyIJPmp
GAS

RD/WH' 003456

. Name and Address of Owner(s)
. MOTORIST,MIKE

i MOTORIST,MAR

t 202 SOUTH SW.

..v‘wnﬂ;f’\:/n v .
\""‘fl_’ DEPARTMENT OF I'u'IOTOFI VEHICLES

IMPORTANT: THIS VEHICLE WAS
RETURNED TO THE MANUFACTURER
OR DEALER BECAUSE IT DID NOT
CONFORM TO ITS WARRANTY.

ANSFER ONLY
UILT SALVAGE/NJ

%. boat or manufactured home. Keep

000047

WO or in your vehicle or boat. To dispose |
the transler section on the back and  §&

BHICLE IS NOT EQUIPPED
MPER- RESISTANT ODOMETER

older
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FORM MV-999 - BACK
(REDUCED)

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

ANYWOHWE mummm-nm Fmsmmu'nsnmm
'SECTION | - Transfer by Owner

m_mm

Note: This vaniole canft be rogistared-or Uied in iha name.of T NBW OWNEr UNEss Misage 48 disciosed.
Federal and Sinte Low reguire that

. mmhmdmm-ﬁmmmmmnﬁﬁ
Fallure 1o do 80, or providing a falss statemont, may result in fings andior imprisonment.

lmmuhmuwhﬂw thes ndometer eading (chack anat

Ei— rafiacts e ADTUAL MILEAGE 23 swan on the odomater of the vehicie described o the front
qumwuwnm

L‘\: ot the actal milvage, WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY,

= more-than 75% of the rofail king the “ha
m:mwmmmmmumwmw it

Note: TIHE VBNGIE CanT D8 mmemnmmwm OW DWNET WiBss Mileage is

Pederal and State Law require thal you state the mileage of the vehicle descritred on this mmmm
Fullurs to do 50, oF providing a falve statement, may result in fines andfor Imprisonment.

bwwmhhwdqwmhmmmm}

1. raflects fhe ACTUAL MILEAGE of the vehicl described on the front. FOR:

D) 2. EXCEEDS MECHANICAL LIVITS {odretar siarted oves o 770} — mm ——
ﬂsmmmmm } DISCRI ] = Dlser Dighs, prckidiog tanwa———

1o we tansler the vehicls, boat home

Al the Eme of transfer, umummwmmuw'
R of iy cerificats, if any.

IMMMWBNMMMWHMMMUMM
Note: mﬂmﬂmmmmmmmwulmmummmmu“
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FORM MV-950 (REDUCED)
AFFIRMATION OF REPOSSESSION AND BILL OF SALE

MV-950 (1/11)

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles PAGE 1 OF 2
AFFIRMATION OF REPOSSESSION AND BILL OF SALE

www.dmv.ny.gov

|INSTRUCTIONS > Lenders must complete boxes o 9 e 0 e If Lender is selling vehicle, Purchaser information is required in boxes eﬂ|

o

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION (includes motor vehicle or motorcycle, manufactured home* or boat* )

YEAR MAKE MODEL STATE LAST REG STATE LAST TITLED PLATE NUMBER

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBIIE_Fi ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘

LENDER BORROWER
Business Last Name,
Name First, M.I.
Number and Apt. No. |Number and Apt. No.
Street Address Street Address
City State |ZIP Code City State | ZIP Code
A I | A I |

The vehicle described above was repossessed in from the borrower who was in default

of a security contract dated . On was

authorized to sell the above vehicle (if applicable).

Section 425(1) of the Vehicle and Traffic La i

be provided to the parties listed below_githin
(*NOTE: TI

(Auctioneer)

motor vehicle or motorcycle is repossessed, proper notification must

uired when a manufactured home or boat is repossessed.)

PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIV LLOWING PARTIES (list names and addresses): Date Notified
Police Agency Name Address
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles (enter Name Address
of Motor Vehicles office notified)
Borrower/Current Owner Name Address
(other than lienholder)
Other Name Address

Under the penalties of perjury, I affirm that I have complied with Section 425(1) of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law (see page 2) and/or any
applicable laws in the state where the vehicle was repossessed, pertaining to the repossession of the vehicle described above. I further affirm that, if there are
any other open perfected liens on the vehicle, and a lien release is not obtained, | have advised the purchaser of the outstanding liens
on the vehicle.

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The odometer on the vehicle described above has (check the appropriate box): 15 digits [ 6 digits [ 7 digits, not including tenths.
Federal and state laws require that the mileage of the vehicle described above be specified upon transfer of ownership. Failure to do so, or
not telling the truth about mileage, may result in fines and/or imprisonment.

1, state that the odometer now reads miles
Lender — Print Name in Full (do not include tenths of a mile)

(Lender’s Signature)

and (one of the following statements must be checked):

1.0 1 certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this odometer reading reflects the “ACTUAL MILEAGE” as seen on the odometer of
the vehicle described above.

2.0 1 certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the above-disclosed odometer reading “EXCEEDS MECHANICAL LIMITS”. (The mileage
is in excess of what the odometer is capable of recording.)

3.0 1 certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the above-disclosed odometer reading is “NOT THE ACTUAL MILEAGE. WARNING:

ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.”
DAMAGE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

IMPORTANT: Making a false statement, or failure to accuratel¥1disclose the salvage status of a vehicle, may subject
you to substantial civil fines, in addition to any penalties authorized by the Penal Law.

Check one box~ I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this vehicle Ol has been [ has not been wrecked, destroyed or damaged to such
an extent that the total estimate, or actual cost, of parts and labor to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to the condition it was in before an accident, and
for legal operation on the road or highways, is more than 75% of the retail value of the vehicle at the time of loss. (Checking the “has been” box means
the vehicle must have an anti-theft examination before being registered, and that the title issued will have the statement “Rebuilt Salvage: NY” on it.)

’ ’

Lender Signature Purchaser Signature
PURCHASER:
Print Last Name, Price Date of Sale
First, M.I. Paid
Number and | Apt. No. | City State |ZIP Code
Street Address
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FORM MV-950 (REDUCED)

NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE
BACK (REDUCED)

MV-950 (1/11)

§  425. Repossession of motor vehicle or motorcycle; garageman’s lien; notice to police. 1. Any person, firm or
corporation, or agent, employee or representative thereof, repossessing or retaking a motor vehicle or motorcycle pursuant to
the provisions of article nine of the uniform commercial code, or other authority of law, or any contract or agreement, shall,

immediately following such repossession or retaking, personally appear at a ion house or other office of the police

department, or agency or officer performing like functions, in the lgcality such repossession or retaking occurred,

give notice to such department, agency or officer of suc SN\ OF T ¢ and thereafter and within twenty-four

hours personally deliver or mail by special deli ail to the nearest motor vehicle district office, (a) notice of

such repossession or retaking in such fo the r may require and (b) the number plates of such motor vehicle
or motorcycle. Notice of sugifre es T king, including the name and address of the person, firm or corporation
repossessing or retaking the sa also be given within twenty-four hours thereof to the owner of such motor vehicle or

motorcycle, either personally or by registered or certified mail directed to such owner at his last-known address. Unless the
motor vehicle or motorcycle can be repossessed or retaken without breach of the peace, it shall be repossessed or retaken by

legal process, but nothing herein contained shall be construed to authorize a violation of the criminal law.

- 18 -
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FORM MV-327 (REDUCED)
NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION OF A
MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE

www.dmv.ny.gov

INSTRUCTIONS: Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 425 requires the repossessor of a motor vehicle or motorcycle to do
the following:

1. immediately following the repossession, personally appear at the police agency in the locality where the
repossession occurred, and notify the police agency of the repossession;

2. within 24 hours, deliver either personally or by special delivery first class mail to any Motor Vehicle Issuing Office
(not to the Title Bureau):
a. this completed notice of repossession; and

b. the license plates from the vehicle being repossessed (unless removed by registrant before the repossession).
(NOTE: A fee of $1.00 per set of plates may be required by some county offices.)

3. within 24 hours, notify the vehicle owner of the repossession (either personally, or by registered or certified mail
sent to the owner at the owner’s last-known address).

4. prepare this form, and present it and the license plates, if any, to any Motor Vehicle Issuing Office. The Motor Vehicle
Issuing Office will return the Owner Copy and Repossessor Copy to the Repossessor. Once the repossessor receives
the Repossessor and Owner copies of the MV-327, he must forward the owner copy immediately to the owner.

To Commissioner of Motor Vehicles:
This is to notify you that the vehicle described below has been repossess nd that:

O the license plates from this vehicle are enclosed.
O the registrant removed the plates from the vehicle BEFOR@ the ve repossessed.
NOTE: Failure to deliver the license plates to a Mote
Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 425, whifi
however, failure to deliver the lice
result in a fine of up to $1,00

[ U ice within 24 hours is a violation of
Bhab a fine of up to $150. If you are a dealer,
otor Vehicle Issuing Office within 24 hours may
$on or revocation of your dealer’s license.

Year and Make of Vehicle Mo e Last Plate Number Month and Year of Expiration

Registered

/

Vehicle Identification Number Body Type Color Date of Repossession
I I | | / /

Name and Address of Registrant Name & Address of Lienholder Authorizing Repossession

Name and Address of Owner Name and Address of Repossessor

Name and Address of Police Agency Notified Signature of Representative From Lienholder or Repossessor

Locality Where Repossession Occurred Date Police Agency Notified

/ /

FOR DMV OFFICE USE ONLY

Othe Department of Motor Vehicles was notified that the vehicle described above was repossessed.
O The license plates described above were not submitted with this form.
O The license plates described above were received:

O by mail O in person on

at the Motor Vehicles Office.

By

MV-327 (1/11) DMV COPY
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Questions about the Title Law, and requests for additional copies of this booklet, should be addressed to:

TITLE BUREAU

NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
6 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA

ALBANY NY 12228-0330



NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor

MV-909 (1/11)





