About the Salvage Vehicle Examination Program
As of June 20, 2018, we are processing applications that were received in our office on June 7, 2018.
We typically issue titles within 5 days of a salvage examination. However, based on policy and procedure, some titles may take up to 10 days. You can use the link below to check the title issuance status for your vehicle:
Important: Salvage Vehicle Application
The DMV has a new Salvage Examination/Title Application (pdf) (MV-83SAL). This form replaces the MV-899 and MV-82 to apply for a Salvage Vehicle exam. The MV-83SAL
- clearly shows what fees apply to you
- can be completed online and printed like other DMV forms
- includes a handy checklist to help you avoid missing documents
You may now include an email address for notification of your salvage exam. This will allow for appointments to be scheduled sooner.
DMV no longer accepts the MV-899/MV-82TON applications.
Important Notice: On or about July 2, 2018 the Elmsford Auto Theft Field Office (salvage exam facility) will be closing and moving to a new location; the last date for appointments at this facility will tentatively be June 29, 2018. The new office will be located at 2500 Waterbury Ave. Bronx, NY 10462. There will be no exam appointments offered at the new office until on or about July 9, 2018.
If you are applying for an examination in June/July you may wish to select the Highland facility (181 North Rd. Highland, NY 12522) to get an appointment scheduled sooner. In the future our Highland Office will most conveniently serve Ulster, Putnam, Dutchess, Orange & Rockland Counties. Our new Bronx Office will most conveniently serve Bronx & Westchester Counties.
What is a salvage vehicle?
By law, a 'salvage vehicle' is a vehicle that
- was transferred to or acquired by an insurance company with a Salvage Certificate (MV-907A) because it has significant damage (because of a collision, theft, vandalism, or from water)
- has repair costs that are more than 75% of the pre-damage retail value of the vehicle
- was issued a salvage title from another state and brought to New York
- was declared a 'wreck' on the back of its New York State title by the owner at the time of sale or transfer
If a salvage vehicle is rebuilt for use on roadways, the DMV must examine it before issuing a new title certificate or registration. The required examination is part of the NY State Auto Theft Prevention Program. The program includes
- vehicles that were issued a NY State Salvage Certificate (MV-907A)
- rebuilt salvage vehicles from most other states.
A NY State Title Certificate issued after the date of May 18, 1999 for a rebuilt salvage vehicle displays the brand, 'REBUILT SALVAGE'. Some title certificates issued before May 19, 1999 also show this brand.
The salvage vehicle examination is not
- a safety inspection
- an emissions inspection
- an insurance examination
Why is this examination required?
New York State law requires the DMV to determine if a rebuilt salvage vehicle is stolen or includes stolen parts. The purpose is to
- protect consumers
- find stolen items
- prevent the theft of vehicles and vehicle parts
What type of vehicle needs a Salvage Examination?
A salvage vehicle that is recovered after a theft or rebuilt after the damage must be examined by the DMV before the DMV can issue a new title.
If the proof of ownership for a salvage vehicle is a NY State Salvage Certificate (MV-907A), the DMV will not issue a title certificate without a salvage vehicle examination.
The DMV will not examine or issue a title certificate for a rebuilt vehicle that has an out-of-state title certificate or a Salvage Certificate (MV-907A) that is labeled
- 'parts only'
These types of vehicles are deemed not roadworthy.
The DMV will not examine or issue a new title certificate or vehicle registration for a rebuilt salvage vehicle that does not have a title certificate or Salvage Certificate (MV-907A) that proves ownership.
Note: If the DMV finds that a recently registered vehicle has a salvage history, the DMV will notify the customer that the vehicle must go through the salvage vehicle process. The DMV will not issue a New York State title or allow you to renew your vehicle registration until the vehicle is examined and the title is issued.
Once the vehicle completes the salvage examination process and a title is issued, the owner can register the vehicle.