Press Release - 06-24-2019
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, June 24, 2019
DMV INFORMS NEW YORKERS OF NEW LAW IMPACTING SLOW-MOVING VEHICLES
New law takes effect June 26
Motorists Urged to Watch for Slow-Moving Vehicles as Farm and Construction Activity Increases During Summer Months
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) today informed drivers and operators of slow-moving vehicles to be prepared for a new law that takes effect June 26. Under the new law, farm, construction and other machinery designed to operate at speeds greater than 25 mph and less than 40 mph will now be required to display a Speed Identification Symbol (SIS) and the “slow-moving vehicle triangle.”
The SIS must indicate the vehicle’s top speed and operators will also be required to carry documentation from the manufacturer indicating the maximum speed the vehicle was designed for.
Today, the DMV and the Department of Agriculture and Markets also urged motorists to watch for slow-moving vehicles during the spring, summer and fall when they are most likely to be on the road. Motorists are reminded it is illegal to pass slow-moving vehicles in a no-passing zone even though they are traveling at slower speeds.
“This time of year, it is very common to see farm, construction and other slow-moving vehicles on the roads and motorists should be ready to respond appropriately,” said DMV Commissioner and Chair of the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee Mark J.F. Schroeder. “These vehicles are incredibly important to New York’s farming community, to the workers who fix our roads, and many other construction crews. Please respect their operators and do not try to recklessly pass them.”
State Agriculture Commissioner Richard A. Ball said, “It’s critical that drivers be on the lookout for slow-moving vehicles, especially as farm activity increases this time of year. Tractors and farm equipment cannot easily maneuver out of the way of traffic or speed up like other vehicles. So, we urge everyone to be aware and look out for the safety of our farmers.”
When motorists encounter a slow-moving vehicle on the roadway they should:
- Slow down immediately
- Increase following distance to create a safety cushion
- Be alert and watch for unexpected turns
- Pass with care only when it is safe and legal to do so
- Be aware that animal-powered vehicles may make unanticipated movements
- Be aware that equipment in tow may sway on the road
- Remember slow-moving vehicle operators may have poor visibility due to loads and equipment in tow
Operators should be aware that the slow-moving vehicle triangle should be placed in the center of the back end of the vehicle, located two to six feet above the road and kept clean and replaced when faded. The SIS should be displayed next to the triangle. Each piece of agricultural equipment, whether self-propelled or used in combination, must separately display the required emblems. It is illegal to put slow-moving vehicle emblems on stationary objects – such as mailboxes or driveway posts.
Under state law, self-propelled agricultural equipment can be used on public roads after dark and when visibility is less than 1,000 feet when it has two white head lamps, one red tail light on the rear as far left as possible and two amber lamps at least 42 inches high and visible from the front and rear.
Vehicles drawn by animals should display on the rear either a slow-moving vehicle triangle or a lighted lantern with a red lens at least four inches in diameter, with the center of the lens to be 42 inches above the ground, the lantern to be near the left edge of the vehicle. The vehicle also should have 72 square inches of a high quality white or whitish-gray reflective tape.
For more information about DMV, visit dmv.ny.gov, or follow the DMV conversation online on Facebook and Twitter.