Salvage branding of New York State registered vehicles
Important: Salvage Vehicle Application
The DMV has a new Salvage Examination/Title Application (pdf) (MV-83SAL). This form replaces the MV-899 and MV-82 to apply for a Salvage Vehicle exam. The MV-83SAL
- clearly shows what fees apply to you
- can be completed online and printed like other DMV forms
- includes a handy checklist to help you avoid missing documents
You may now include an email address for notification of your salvage exam. This will allow for appointments to be scheduled sooner.
DMV no longer accepts the MV-899/MV-82TON applications.
What is Salvage Branding?
DMV regulations require the DMV to mark or 'brand' a title certificate if
- a vehicle is 8 model years old or newer and
- the owner indicated that the vehicle was destroyed or received damage of 75% or more of the retail value of the vehicle at the time the damage occurred
The owner must mark the box next to the statement on the back of the title certificate to certify the damage.
- if you fail to disclose damage, you can pay a fine of up to $2,000, and any additional penalties according to the NYS Penal Law
- if the title certificate indicates that the vehicle was not destroyed or damaged, the DMV office processes the transaction normally
- if the title certificate indicates that the vehicle was destroyed or damaged, the DMV office cannot complete the transaction
To apply for a new title certificate only, the new owner must
- bring the title certificate and proof of sales tax payment or purchase price to a DMV office
- pay the sales tax and get a sales tax receipt (FS-6T)
- send all of the following items to the DMV Title Service Bureau
- the title certificate, and Odometer and Damage Disclosure Statement (MV-103), if the title certificate does not include the disclosure statement
- the sales tax receipt (FS-6T)
- a completed Salvage Examination/Title Application (MV-83SAL)
- a personal check payable to "Commissioner of Motor Vehicles" in the amount of $205
Title Services Bureau
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
The DMV must examine the vehicle. If the DMV issues a title certificate for a vehicle 8 model years or newer, the title certificate will display 'REBUILT SALVAGE: NY.' Generally, titles for vehicles older than 8 model years are not ‘branded.’
Important information about New York State Salvage Certificates (MV-907A)
When the Salvage Certificate (MV-907A) is the proof of ownership for a vehicle, the applicant must complete the salvage vehicle examination process in order to get a title. The title certificate will display 'REBUILT SALVAGE: NY' if the vehicle is 8 model years or newer.
Important information for New York State Registered Automobile Dealers
DMV regulations require automobile dealers to receive a salvage disclosure statement from a vehicle owner when the vehicle is assigned to the dealer. The statement must be on the title certificate. The DMV will not register a vehicle or issue a title certificate for a vehicle if there is no salvage disclosure statement.
Automobile dealers must inform any vehicle buyer if
- the vehicle was damaged before the first sale of the vehicle
- the title certificate has a brand that displays 'REBUILT SALVAGE:NY'
- the previous retail owner supplied a salvage disclosure statement as described above
The dealer must confirm on the bill of sale that the buyer was notified that the vehicle was damaged. To protect yourself, ask the buyer to write their initials next to your statement on the bill of sale.