California emissions standards

What vehicles are subject to the “California” emissions standards?

Unless it is exempt, your vehicle must comply with the California emissions standard if it has less than 7,500 miles on the odometer and is

  • a model year of 1996 or newer passenger vehicle or light-duty truck that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 6,000 lbs. or less
  • a model year 2000 or newer light-duty truck that has a GVWR of 8,500 lbs. or less
  • a model year 2004 or newer medium duty vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 14,000 lbs. or less
  • a model year 2005 or newer heavy-duty otto-cycle or diesel vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) over 14,000 lbs

 

How can I find out if my vehicle meets the California emissions standard? 

To determine if a vehicle meets the California emissions standard, look for these words or similar language on the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) and the emissions label under the hood:

  • "California-Only Vehicle:  This vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA and California regulations applicable to (the vehicle model year) model-year new motor vehicles introduced into commerce only for sale in California."
  • "50-State Vehicle: This vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA and California regulations applicable to (the vehicle model year) model-year new motor vehicles."
  • "Federal Vehicle certified for Sale in California: This vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA regulations applicable to (the vehicle model year) model-year new motor vehicles, and is certified for sale in California."


My vehicle complies with the California emissions standard but this is not indicated on the MCO, or I don't have the MCO. What can I do?

If your vehicle complies with the California emissions standard, but the MCO does not indicate compliance or you do not have an Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO), you or the automobile dealer can certify compliance on a 'Certificate of Emissions Compliance or Exemption' form (MV-74).

If your vehicle is exempt from the California emissions standard, you or the automobile dealer can complete form MV-74 to certify the exemption if

  • the vehicle has an odometer reading of more than 7,500 miles, or
  • you purchased the vehicle in another state to replace your previous vehicle that was damaged, stolen or had a mechanical failure while you were outside NYS
  • the vehicle was transferred to you through an inheritance or court decree
  • the vehicle was registered to you in another state when you were a resident of that state, but you are now a resident of NYS
  • you are a NYS resident who serves in the US Armed Forces and you are stationed in another state
  • the vehicle is an authorized emergency vehicle defined in Article 1 of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law

Note: Even if your vehicle meets the California emissions standard, it is subject to NYS safety and emissions inspection requirements.

 

Where can I find more information?

The NYS Department of Environmental Conservation website (www.dec.ny.gov)  has the regulations for the California emissions standards and other motor vehicle emissions standards (See Regulations, Part 218).