Registration-based enforcement of inspections
What is Registration Based Enforcement (RBE)?
Registration-Based Enforcement is a program that uses the vehicle registration renewal process to ensure that motorists comply with the requirements of the New York State emissions inspection program, the federal Clean Air Act, and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulation. A registrant cannot renew a vehicle registration unless the DMV has a computer record that the vehicle passed the required emissions inspection within the last 12 months, or the registrant can provide proof of the inspection. The safety and emissions inspections are also required whenever the ownership of the vehicle changes.
Which vehicles are required to have an inspection?
Under New York State law and DMV regulations, all motor vehicles more than two model years old, but less than 25 years old, are required to have emissions inspections each year.
Must I pay a fine or penalty before I can renew my registration?
No. There are no penalties that are a part of the Registration-Based Enforcement program. The program can provide a reminder of an expired emissions inspection. The reminder can help a motorist avoid the penalties from a traffic ticket issued for failure to have a valid inspection sticker.
I tried to renew my vehicle registration online or by mail, and the renewal application was rejected for no inspection. Can I renew my registration at a local DMV office?
You can renew the registration only if your vehicle has had an emissions inspection within the last 12 months. If there is not an inspection report on file, you cannot renew your registration. You can renew your registration after your vehicle has passed the required emissions inspection.
I had my car inspected, but my registration renewal notice indicates that I have not had the inspection. What can I do?
If the report of your inspection is not on the DMV computer records, write the inspection sticker number on your registration renewal form. Enclose with your renewal form a copy of one of the following documents. These documents are available from the station that completed the inspection
- ‘Vehicle Inspection Receipt’
- ‘Inspection Facility Daily Report’ that lists your vehicle
- ‘Inspection Detail Report’ that lists your vehicle
What does DMV do to notify motorists of the RBE program?
Motorists who do not have an emissions inspection on file are notified in their registration renewal notices. The notices are normally mailed several weeks before the current registration expires.