Register a moped
What is considered a limited use motorcycle (aka ‘moped’)?
New York law defines limited use motorcycles, which are commonly called "mopeds" or "motor scooters", as "limited use vehicles with two or three wheels."
Are there any special requirements to operate a limited use motorcycle (moped) in New York?
The requirements to operate a moped are like those for motorcycles. You must have a driver license and register your moped to drive it on streets and highways. There are exceptions to these requirements listed in the table below. You can never operate a moped down a sidewalk.
The DMV classifies a moped as a Class A, Class B or Class C limited use motorcycle according to its top speed. Only a certified model of limited use motorcycle can get a registration in New York State (only the manufacturer can certify a moped).
What do I need to bring to the DMV?
Before visiting a DMV office to register your moped, please complete the Document Guide to make sure you bring the correct documents with you.
Summary of what you need
a completed Registration / Title Application (PDF) (MV-82)
proof of identity and age 1
proof of insurance, if required 2
cash, check, money order or credit/debit card for fees and sales tax (or proof of sales tax payment or exemption)
For quicker service, make a reservation online before visiting offices in New York City, Westchester, Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, Onondaga, Monroe or Albany Counties.
For all other counties, see our office locations and hours.
The class is determined by the range of the vehicle's top speed.
|Required?||Class A, over 30-40 mph||Class B, over 20-30 mph||Class C, 20 mph or less|
|Driver license / permit||M/MJ 3||any license class 4||any license class 5|
|Headlight on when operating||required||required||required|
|Helmet & eye protection||required||required||recommended|
|May operate on||any traffic lane||right-hand lane or |
shoulder only 6
|right-hand lane or |
shoulder only 7
|Title||not required||not required||not required|
- 1. You must be at least 16 years old to register a vehicle in New York (except a boat or ATV).
A NY State Driver License, Learner Permit, or Non-Driver ID card that is current or not expired for more than 2 years can serve as proof of both identity and age. If you don’t have one of these documents, you must provide other kinds of proof.
Refer to the Limited-use motorcycle requirements chart on this page to determine if you need insurance. Your insurance company will issue proof of insurance by giving you two original barcoded NY State Insurance Identification Cards (see sample), You must register your vehicle at the DMV within 180 days of the effective date on your insurance ID card. Bring one copy of your Insurance Identification Cards with you. The DMV office will keep it. Keep the other card with the vehicle as your proof of insurance. Learn more about NY State Insurance Requirements.
- 3. Learner permit restrictions apply to all permit classes. Junior operator restrictions apply to class DJ and MJ permits and driver licenses. See information about the Graduated License Law.
- 4. Learner permit restrictions apply to all permit classes. Junior operator restrictions apply to class DJ and MJ permits and driver licenses. See information about the Graduated License Law.
- 5. Learner permit restrictions apply to all permit classes. Junior operator restrictions apply to class DJ and MJ permits and driver licenses. See information about the Graduated License Law.
- 6. Except when making a left turn.
- 7. Except when making a left turn.
- 8. A Class C moped used as a rental vehicle must be insured.