About the Excelsior Automotive Technician Task Force

Logo for the Auto Tech Task Force with a wrench and outline of New York State

The Excelsior Automotive Technician Task Force was formed to address the severe shortage of auto technicians and provide quality career opportunities for New Yorkers. This will be achieved by implementing the most advanced, manufacturer-specific training possible, ensuring more New Yorkers have the skills and education to qualify for the thousands of unfilled jobs in the industry.

Task force members include:

  • New York State Department of Motor Vehicles:
    Mark Schroeder, Commissioner - Task Force Chair
  • New York State Automobile Dealers Association (NYSADA):
    Bob Vancavage, President - Task Force Vice Chair
  • Greater New York Automobile Dealers Association (GNYADA):
    Mark Schienberg, President - Task Force Vice Chair
  • Niagara Frontier Automobile Dealers Association (NFADA):
    Paul Stasiak, President
  • Rochester Automobile Dealers Association (RADA):
    Brad McAreavy, President
  • Syracuse Auto Dealers Association (SADA):
    Barb Rothschild, President
  • Eastern New York Coalition of Automotive Retailers (ENYCAR):
    Chris Neuber, President
  • Rochester Chamber of Commerce:
    Mark Cohen and Adrian Hale
  • Alfred State College
    Jeffrey Stevens, Dean, School of Applied Technologies
  • Bronx Community College
    George Patchoros, Assistant Professor/Deputy Chairperson, Department of Engineering, Physics and Technology
  • Columbia-Greene Community College
    Dr. Carlee Drummer, President
    Dr. George Timmons, Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs
  • Erie Community College
    Dr. Douglas Scheidt, Provost, and Executive Vice President
  • Hudson Valley Community College
    President Roger Ramsammy, President
  • Monroe Community College
    Todd Oldham, Vice President Economic Development, Workforce & Career Technical Education
  • Rockland Community College
    William Terry, Automotive Dept. Coordinator
  • Suffolk County Community College
    Dave Macholz, Assistant Dean for Transportation
  • SUNY Morrisville
    Ray Grabowski, Chair, Automotive Technology